Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Posted May 2, 2017
Staff was extremely helpful, we had to change rooms from House itself to cottage due to medical reasons. That was easy and no problem to do.
5 out of 5
by Alfred

Can't wait to visit again

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful property, wish I had more time to explore it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet but dated

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Orbitz
The staff was incredibly nice and worked to correct the issues. I understand some issues just come up but the issues we had could have been avoided. Specifically, the room wasn't very clean. We found a piece of candy on the floor. I can understand if it was in a weird nook but this was visible as soon as we walked in. Also, the mirror had stains and smudges on it. One of the sheets had a lipstick stain on it and the sheets were yellowish. Also, the wall paper and carpeting were very dates. The hot water wasn't working on the day we were checking out. The staff graciously offered us to use the main building to shower but we decided to wait until maintenance arrived. What we didn't realize was it would take maintenance 2 hours to arrive. We didn't mind waiting 30 minutes for someone to arrive but there should be no reason it takes maintenance 2 hours to arrive. The front desk did give us 50% off the final night. We greatly appreciate that, but we think for the price, the room could be a little cleaner and newer.
4 out of 5
by Theresa

Girls weekend

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
The grounds were lovely and the room was very nice. Loved having access to the grounds. the staff were excellent and learning about the history of the property was great. The only drawback was that the bed mattresses were lumpy. But I would still return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester, NH

It hits most good spots... misses a few

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: The views from the room and the grounds were wonderful. I've uploaded several to Google Maps.
Cons: See the main experience. The owners need to stop cutting corners that don't save them money, but make the stay just a little less than it could be.
Location: Manchester is a good-size village, with a wonderful book shop. We also loved the Perfect Wife restaurant on Route 7.
I've not been to an Inn like this, which was not at least minorly aware of gluten free. As a celiac, it has become increasingly easy to have a good breakfast while in hotels and B&Bs in the US, but this place had no cereals, no bread and no awareness. Not unforgivable, but a little odd for this standard of accommodation. Similarly, the hotel rooms are lovely, with a giant bed in our King room, but the lack of a corkscrew or even any glasses (good quality rigid plastic glasses would be fine) meant that the polish was missing from our otherwise romantic retreat. The room was well equipped, but just missing those fine details. Why, for example, is there no shower gel provided, only horribly dry bars of soap. The price of the room should allow these details, but there appears to be corner cutting that is visible to the guest, which is disappointing. The staff were super friendly and welcoming, though, and they all deserve special mention.
5 out of 5
by Sean

Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was very nice. It was really neat staying in an old mansion. It was very clean, the room was clean and the staff was very nice and polite.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Located in a beautiful setting.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The location and price.
Cons: Housekeeping. Room repairs, door locks need to be updated. Amenities, needs a decent ironing board, coffee maker in room non existent. Screens ripped.
Location: High on a hill, beautiful views. Outlets nearby. Nice village. Hidden is also nearby. Summer home of Robert Lincoln and his family.
Rooms are pet friendly and it shows on the carpets winow sills and screens. Inn needs some updating . Buffet was good but the dishes and cups should be replaced . Dining area needs some cleaning cob webs in corners and near windows. Housekeeping needs to up its game.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and beautiful grounds...

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The charm and comfort of the room and the surroundings
Cons: Breakfst was not as good as it could have been. Needs some work!!
Location: Great activity and shops in Manchester itself. Lots of good restaurants.
Very personable staff . Warm and welcoming. that is all