Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a remodel

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Slightly below average experience. Beds were at least comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Not what I expected

Posted Aug 19, 2016
When I pulled up the hotel it was not what I expected. The pictures on the site only highlight the 'best part' of the hotel. It is in a very run down area. Hotel is old and run down. Smells musty in the room. It is updated a little in the room but it's only. Cover up. The the toilet isn't bolted down correctly and shakes when you sit on it. The shower and the toilet are a gross green/ yellow. The breakfast was pathetic and a worker went and took all the waffles 30 min before it was done. I guess I didn't want seconds. Not to mention I found a Bobby pin in the bed and my boyfriend and I don't wear Bobby pins. So gross. Never staying there again. Careful when you book online.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IN

The pool is good. Everything else was terrible.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
The worse room we had been in. The room was dirty. The carpet was dirty. There was very little selection for breakfast. Not a good clientele of other renters. Glad my car was there the next morning
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from g

Clean, comfy, and perfect for our short stay.

Posted Aug 3, 2016
We stayed for two nights and had a great stay. I was a little worried at first since the outside and halls are a bit aged, but the rooms were a pleasant surprise. Clean and bright, seemed recently redone maybe, and beds were cozy. Rooms and halls smelled nice which has been a problem in some hotels we have stayed at with beach going guests. Breakfast is modest, oatmeal, freezer waffles, cereal, toast and some fruit but overall plenty to eat. At this price it was appropriately stocked. We had plenty to eat to start the day. Location makes getting in and out of Saint Joes super easy. The front desk staff was very helpful and speedy at check in. At $69 a night compared to an average of $170 everywhere else we checked this was a great deal. We have stayed in higher priced hotels with less impressive rooms and far worse customer service. The pool is small, but was warm and very clean.. This place is truly a great option for anyone to stay and not blow a fortune unnecessarily on a cozy bed and a warm shower to end their perfect beach day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant and comfortable

Posted Aug 2, 2016
This super 8 was much more accommodating then the one in Davenport. Employees where friendly and quickly contacted us when we left a pair of hearing aids in the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario

Good value for your money

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Updated and clean room. A little bit of smoky smell that dissipates after awhile
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Location

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: The staff was great. They were friendly, kept the breakfast room clean and stocked. The bed was comfortable. We didn't use the pool but it looked good
Cons: The room had a musty odor. The facility itself is old, so chalking/grout in the bathroom cracking.
Location: Silver Beach in St Joe is close and very nice. Also same for Warren Dunes state park. We recommend Grand Mere Inn for a late supper/watch sunset
I realize it's peak summer vacation time but $130 a night for this hotel seemed too high.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I WOULD NOT LET MY DOG STAY HERE!!!!!

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: NOTHING!!!!!
Cons: EVERYTHING!!!!!
HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!! The room was filthy!! Snot on the hair dryer, the vent to air conditioner was piled with an accumulation of nastiness, behind the night stand and under the table hadn't been cleaned in months. The refrigerator wasn't working, so after unpacking and settling in, our options were to move into another room, or the ONLY staff member said that we could get another refrigerator, but WE had to move the HEAVY fridge into our room. We opted to move the fridge in our room, and had to give up the limited space in the room. The POOL is DISGUSTING!!! DO NOT USE!!! My children went swimming and when they came out, instead of smelling like chlorine, they smelled like MOLD!!!!! As mentioned, there was ONE staff member available...the manager was unavailable for DAYS to address our concerns. We wanted to NOT STAY the night, but had to due to having to find another hotel. The next morning we left ASAP!!! LOOK AT PHOTOS BELOW!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

bad advertising

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: no comment
Cons: honesty in picture advertising
THE HOTEL IN THE PICTURE IS NOT, IS NO, IS NOT THE HOTEL YOU STAY IN. THEY PUT YOU IN A 50 YEAR OLD REMODELED MOTEL......you will be disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
The pictures on the website our of the actual hotel and the rooms. We do have several buildings and a limited number of pictures are available to be posted online. I am sorry that you feel it is dishonest not to show pictures of the exterior of all 4 building but it is not possible at this time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little Hidden Gem

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Room was clean,comfortable,and bed was good. Front desk receptionist was prompt and professional. I explained I had recently had hip surgery and was worrried about the height of the toilet, she said to check out the room and if not satisfactory,she would gladly switch me to a handicap room, this was very thoughful of her. Room was fine, and I enjoyed my stay,would highly suggest staying there to my friends and family. Neighorhood is safe,area has lots of places near by to entertain,just all around good location and reasonable when staying in St.Joseph,Benton Harbor,Stevensville,Lake Michigan area.