Lorlee - LARGE AND LOVELY FAMILY COTTAGE ON DEWEY LAKE WITH PRIVATE BEACH!

Photo gallery for Lorlee - LARGE AND LOVELY FAMILY COTTAGE ON DEWEY LAKE WITH PRIVATE BEACH!

Property grounds
Beach
Balcony
Balcony
Flat-screen TV, fireplace

Overview of Lorlee - LARGE AND LOVELY FAMILY COTTAGE ON DEWEY LAKE WITH PRIVATE BEACH!

Entire home

Lorlee - LARGE AND LOVELY FAMILY COTTAGE ON DEWEY LAKE WITH PRIVATE BEACH!

8.4/10 Very Good

Entire home

7 bedrooms4 bathroomsSleeps 20

Popular amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchen
  • Air conditioning
  • Pet friendly
  • Washer
  • Dryer
Map
Dowagiac, MI

Explore the area

  • Popular LocationMagician Lake7 min walk
  • Popular LocationSurfari Joe's Indoor Wilderness Water Park20 min drive
  • Popular LocationKarma Vista Vineyards and Winery23 min drive
  • AirportSouth Bend, IN (SBN-South Bend Intl.)53 min drive

Space details

7 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, sleeps 20
3000 sq ft
Bedroom 1
    1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
    1 queen bed
Bedroom 3
    1 queen bed
Bedroom 4
    4 bunk beds
Bedroom 5
    1 queen bed
Bedroom 6
    1 queen bed
Bedroom 7
    1 queen bed
    4 bunk beds
Bathroom 1
    Bathtub/shower combo
Bathroom 2
    Bathtub/shower combo
Bathroom 3
    Bathtub/shower combo
Bathroom 4
    No shower or bathtub

About this property

Entire place

You'll have the entire home to yourself and will only share it with other guests in your party.

Lorlee - LARGE AND LOVELY FAMILY COTTAGE ON DEWEY LAKE WITH PRIVATE BEACH!

Lakefront vacation home with kitchen and patio
This is a large, lovely, and traditional home on Dewey Lake in the Sister Lakes area of historic Dowagiac, Michigan in the southwest corner of Michigan. This large vacation home actually sleeps 20 with 7 bedrooms, 13 beds, and 3.5 bathrooms! ​(Two of the bedrooms and 2.5 bathrooms are on the first floor with the remaining bedrooms and bathroom on the second floor.) This vacation rental home has a very nice dock on Dewey Lake, private lakefront, completely gated yard, a very nice deck with lots of outdoor furniture and a nice gas grill, and a fire ring for bonfires and s'mores!

It features a very large and highly functional kitchen for cooking delicious meals, a living room with a fireplace and a nice view of Dewey Lake, and a separate family room with a large flat screen television (with cable television) and its own fireplace. The cottage has a nice, large laundry room on the first floor that includes a washer and dryer. The cottage is fully heated via a powerful forced air furnace and natural gas. A new $20,000 multi-zone central air conditioning system was installed in the house in 2019 and it works great at cooling the house in the summer! This vacation rental home is both pet-friendly and child-friendly and is truly a wonderful location for families and groups both large and small!

Dewey Lake itself is one of the group of 6 lakes that make up Sister Lakes. Dewey Lake has a colorful history which includes the Dewey Lake monster. A dock going out into Dewey Lake is provided during the summer months and guests are very welcome to use the dock for their boats or other watercraft (jet skis, kayaks, etc.). Note that no boats or other watercraft are included with the rental. Please also note that Garrett Road runs between the house and lake.

The geographic location of the vacation home in the heart of southwest Michigan makes it a great location for families and/or groups that are looking to visit any part of southwest Michigan, including Lake Michigan, the numerous cute little beach towns along Lake Michigan including New Buffalo, Saint Joseph and South Haven, and the hip and fun university town of Kalamazoo, which is home to both Western Michigan University and Kalamazoo College. There are several famous wineries in the area including Tabor Hill Winery and St. Julian Winery. The vacation home is also not too far from southwest Michigan's ski resorts of Timber Ridge, Bittersweet, and Swiss Valley. Four Winds Casino and Resort is also not far from this vacation home.

We truly believe that this vacation rental cottage provides a great location for groups and families to stay while visiting anywhere in southwest Michigan and we would love to have you stay at the cottage!
Air-conditioned accommodations at this vacation home offer fireplaces and washers/dryers. Rooms open to patios. Kitchens offer refrigerators, stovetops, microwaves, and cookware/dishes/utensils. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and hair dryers.

Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Flat-screen televisions are featured in guestrooms.

Property manager

Agape Vacation Rentals

Languages

English, Spanish

Cleaning and safety practices

Enhanced cleanliness measures

Disinfectant is used to clean the property
High-touch surfaces are cleaned and disinfected
Sheets and towels are washed at 60°C/140°F or hotter
This information is provided by our partners.

Property amenities

Internet

  • Free WiFi

Kitchen

  • Refrigerator
  • Stovetop
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Dishwasher
  • Coffee/tea maker
  • Toaster
  • Cookware/dishes/utensils
  • Blender

Bedrooms

  • 7 bedrooms
  • Bed sheets provided

Bathrooms

  • 4 bathrooms
  • Shower/tub combination
  • Soap
  • Shampoo
  • Towels provided
  • Hair dryer
  • Toilet paper

Living spaces

  • Fireplace
  • Living room

Entertainment

  • Flat-screen TV with cable/satellite service

Outdoor areas

  • Patio
  • Yard
  • Barbecue grill
  • Garden
  • Outdoor furniture
  • Dock

Laundry

  • Washing machine and dryer

Comfort

  • Air conditioning
  • Heating

Pets

  • Pet friendly

Suitability/Accessibility

  • Smoke-free property

Location highlights

  • On the lake
  • On the waterfront

Safety features

  • Carbon monoxide detector
  • Fire extinguisher
  • Smoke detector
  • Deadbolt lock

General

  • Sleeps 20
  • Unit size: 3000 sq ft (279 sq m)

Similar properties

See similar properties

Policies

Check-in

Check-in time starts at 4:00 PM
Minimum check-in age - 21

Check-out

Check-out before 11:00 AM

Special check-in instructions

You will receive an email from the host with check-in and check-out instructions

Pets

Pets allowed
Restrictions apply; for more information contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation
Note from host: Up to 2 dogs are allowed.

Children and extra beds

Children are welcome

Important information

You need to know

This property is managed by a professional host. The provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession
Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy
Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges
Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed
Parties and events are allowed on site
Note from host: Please discuss your party / event with us first.
Safety features at this property include a carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, and a deadbolt lock
This property is managed through our partner, Vrbo. You will receive an email from Vrbo with a link to a Vrbo account, where you can change or cancel your reservation
Be prepared: check the latest COVID-19 travel requirements and measures in place for this destination before you travel.

Property is also known as

Vrbo Property
Lorlee NEW Listing! Large Lovely Family Cottage ON Dewey Lake!
NEW Listing! Lorlee A Large Lovely Family Cottage on Dewey Lake!

About this area

Dowagiac

Located in Dowagiac, this vacation home is on the waterfront. Magician Lake and Stone Lake reflect the area's natural beauty and area attractions include Surfari Joe's Indoor Wilderness Water Park and Silver Beach.

What's nearby

  • Magician Lake - 7 min walk
  • Lake Michigan College - 18 min drive
  • Surfari Joe's Indoor Wilderness Water Park - 20 min drive
  • Karma Vista Vineyards and Winery - 23 min drive
  • Andrews University - 29 min drive

Getting around

  • Dowagiac Station - 16 min drive
  • South Bend Intl. Airport (SBN) - 53 min drive

Restaurants

  • BT's Pub - 19 min walk
  • Lakeview Inn - 3 min drive
  • Pinky's Hot Dogs - 5 min drive
  • Montgomery's - 5 min drive
  • Wright Place Restaurant - 5 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Lorlee - LARGE AND LOVELY FAMILY COTTAGE ON DEWEY LAKE WITH PRIVATE BEACH! pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

What time is check-in at Lorlee - LARGE AND LOVELY FAMILY COTTAGE ON DEWEY LAKE WITH PRIVATE BEACH!?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Lorlee - LARGE AND LOVELY FAMILY COTTAGE ON DEWEY LAKE WITH PRIVATE BEACH!?

Check-out is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Lorlee - LARGE AND LOVELY FAMILY COTTAGE ON DEWEY LAKE WITH PRIVATE BEACH! located?

Situated on the waterfront, this vacation home is 0.3 mi (0.5 km) from Magician Lake and within 12 mi (20 km) of Southwestern Michigan College and Surfari Joe's Indoor Wilderness Water Park. Lake Michigan College and Karma Vista Vineyards and Winery are also within 16 mi (25 km).

Reviews

8.4

Very Good

Rating 10 - Excellent. 16 out of 29 reviews" "
" "10 - Excellent 55%
Rating 8 - Good. 8 out of 29 reviews" "
" "8 - Good 28%
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 29 reviews" "
" "6 - Okay 3%
Rating 4 - Poor. 3 out of 29 reviews" "
" "4 - Poor 10%
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 29 reviews" "
" "2 - Terrible 3%

Reviews

10/10 Excellent

Anne W., Mandeville

Great Family Property
This house had a great location for a wedding we attended at the Dowagiac Conservation Club. The morning light in the kitchen is absolutely sublime. Great place to gather friends and family.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2022

8/10 Good

Sandra L.

Great size of house for large family
This house has 7 bedrooms. We needed them all! :) the kitchen area is large and great for a large group to socialize. There is a second living room that was great for kids to socialize away from the adults. :) It was cold when we were there, but this house is so close to the lake , it would be perfect for summer rental. Large yard with fire pit and frisbee golf.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2022

10/10 Excellent

Terence F.

Great spot to relax!
We took our kids and some family and friends here for a quick 4 day trip just before school started. The property was clean and very spacious, with great places to gather together both indoor and out. We had a great time and have no complaints! Thanks for letting us get away before going back to the grind!
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2022

2/10 Terrible

jackson h., Cincinnati

Big Disappointment
The best thing about this place was the location on the lake. If what you’re looking for is a place right on the lake with a dock, it’s great for that — but the accommodations inside the house were lackluster and disappointing. The house is in very rough shape, far past its prime. Lacks the character and charm of a rustic vintage lake house, it’s just rusty and crusty with stained shag carpets throughout. Just turn around and you’ll find another thing falling apart/ past its prime. We saw in the host’s responses to previous renters' reviews that they were planning on “having significant improvements in place when we re-open in 2022.” And prior to booking we actually inquired to confirm that significant renovations were going to take place prior to our stay. They told us they would be “doing a large interior upgrade costing around $90K in total”. That seemed promising enough that we were willing to overlook previous bad reviews. It appears little to nothing was improved from the previous photos and reviews, other than some appliances but with as rough as the place was the appliances did little to redeem it. Very disappointing and frustrating! Shocking that the owner just stayed there before us and saw no issues worth alerting us to or offering compensation for the rough/substandard state of the place — such as A/C not working in the bedrooms, in one shower the water come out all points of the shower faucet/handles, a huge hole in the other bathroom ceiling, ceiling fans that didn’t work, mold in the back room fridge, the *filthy* grill… list could go on and on. The bedrooms were all uncomfortable — lumpy beds, poor broken A/C and ceiling fans, and stained sheets. Karen was responsive to our request to fix A/C. Less than helpful about cleaning the grill — sent someone a couple of days later but since we had meals planned for the grill, we had to clean it ourselves. It was disgusting.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2022

8/10 Good

Dale D.

Family vacation
Large house. Nice fenced in yard. Good beach. Shade on the beach - very nice.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2022