Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Singapore

1 night stat at Beppu

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Food, Aqua garden onsen, big reception, gifts selling areas
Cons: Only problem was staff manning the buffet entrance !! There was alot of people waiting to get in and after like 30-40min u manage to get in, you see p
Location: Beppu city worth exploring, they have 2-3 sand bath area. African safari park is 25-30mins away but worth the visit, you can drive your car thru it
This hotel have 3 wings, to get from 1st wing to 3rd wing takes about 7-8 min walk but good thing is all is shelter. 5th floor of the building connects all buildings together !! The buffet dinner included in the rate was excellent, there was this crab theme so about 60-70% of the meals incorporate crab in it. Room have 2 beds while the rest sleep on futon. But equally comfortable !! Breakfast was back at dinner place with a great variety. Only problem was staff manning the buffet entrance !! There was alot of people waiting to get in and after like 30-40min u manage to get in, you see plenty of empty tables !! So why took so long to sit your guests !! Also the manager manning the buffet entrance was rude and self center. Try asking how many more tables before our turn, was told not yet and go back sit down. This is despite waiting for 30min already. Staffs serving and collecting plates in the buffet have better attitude than the manager that greets you at the door !! I hope they can educate him better !!! Also, when they call your number to be seated, its only call in japanese so international guests, unless you know japanese , you will look like a fool thinking whether its your turn or not !! Please fix the buffet manager at the entrance or he will keep upsetting more international guests. We do not expect to be treated like vip but atleast the same attitude with the rest.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Updated rooms were excellent

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
The onsen complex (with swimsuits) was a highlight!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5 stars resort, enjoy with family and group

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Nice resort, good buffet lunch and dinner, enjoy hot springs on the top roof, very relax,must tell my friends and come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Our family have a wonderful experience the hotel. The staff are nice and helpful!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good family hot spring hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
First hotel I have been to with a kid friendly family hot spring, which was basically in a form of an outdoor swimming pool filled with warm spring water where family and kids could wear swim suits and bath together. This pool was on the top floor and had a good view of Beppu town and the ocean.
3 out of 5
by Elaine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Richard from St Louis, USA

Great, relaxing resort with spectacular food.

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Suginoi is a resort that I would gladly recommend to my friends visiting Kyushu Japan. The baths and pool were relaxing. I wish there was a deeper swimming pool with cooler water, but the pools were great for families and relaxing looking out on Beppu. The onsens (public baths) were huge and had a variety of tubs to try. There were a few free saunas too. I would say the most exciting part of the stay was the Buffet. It was amazing variety and quality, probably the best buffet I've had at a hotel while in Japan.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2012 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Fun hotel for the family

Posted Oct 17, 2011
Our kids loved this hotel. This is a massive complex full of arcades, a bowling alley and shops. The restaurants did not look too thrilling though. There is a rooftop onsen and the aqua garden with heated pools in which the visitors wear swimming costumes. In the evening a fanastic light and water show is shown on the poolside. On the downside, you are generally expected to wear yukata and open toe slippers which are too small and uncomfortable for European feet. The hotel is not centrally located but everything is sprawled out in Beppu in any case. The corridors and rooms could do with a little refurbishment, but the rooms were clean. There is a regular shuttle bus from the hotel to the station (there is a carpark on the mountain side of the station on the right side of the exit - the bus stops in the carpark itself, not at the busstop). This is a better option than taking a taxi, especially if you have lots of luggage (in Beppu we had the unfortunate experience of being conveyed by one of the rudest taxi drivers Japan has to offer). You really need to speak Japanese to get round but one of the porters is French, speaks also good English and is very helpful.