Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from knoxville

Good location.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Cons: A small amount of repairs to grout and walls would help appearance.
good experience and found it a quiet place to stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Different

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The desk personnel was great. The room however not so good. Our main door didn't shut all the way. No fitted sheets on bed. Holes in the walls. Had one pack of shampoo and conditioner and soap. For a two night stay there was 2 towels and 2 wash rags . No ashtray in our smoking room. One pillow on each bed our room had 2 double beds mind you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oroville, CA

Right off the highway near gas and food

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Quick, easy check in with a very friendly and helpful staff. Comfy and quiet rooms. Easy, fast check out.
1 out of 5
by Linda Smallwood

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
it was the worst hotel we have stayed at
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never Again! It's a Roach Motel

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: The toilet and shower were mildew free
Cons: Pest Control - Exterminate the roaches!!! New sheets and blankets Higher quality towels Sheetrock repair
Location: Berea College is a very short distance down the road
Even in a budget hotel, I have an expectation of a room with NO ROACHES! Unfortunately, that was too high a standard for this hotel. The dated linen on the bed, the blanket with a cigarette-burned hole in the non-smoking room, and the transparently thin towels in the bathroom didn't bother me. The room was clean, and the sink, toilet and tub were mildew free. The walls showed significant sign of damage from water, wear and age with holes in the corners and along the floors. I felt this room was "livable" for one night. During the night I found a very large, black cockroach in the bathroom on the wall just below the toilet paper roll. Following that, I had jitters the rest of the night, concerned that more roaches were crawling around the room. As I brushed my teeth in the morning, there was another roach on the sink counter by the towel I was about to use. I found a third roach under the desk on the wall. I reported the roaches to the hotel owner who offered me a refund for my room and immediately called pest control. Unfortunately, the owner reneged on that offer, even after the involvement of Expedia's customer service team.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by KnightsInnGM, Hotel Management
In all fairness Sir, I would first like to thank you for choosing to join us here at the Knights Inn of Berea, and I apologize for your unsatisfied stay, however, with all due respect Sir, the offer of a full refund was contingent on whether or not roaches were indeed found to be in our room, hence why the refund was not issued immediately at check-out, and why pest control was retained for same-day inspection and service. Pest Control found that no cockroaches, fleas, mites, ants, or bedbugs to be present in the room, thus your refund was not issued. If you would like, we could provide a copy of the report and invoice to you and Expedia. Once this matter is resolved, we respectfully wish for either yourself, or Expedia to remove this review, as it needlessly defames our establishment, thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ky

Fantastic owner and staff

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Clean, comfortable, convenient and very friendly. Can't beat the price. BEST staff I have had in numerous stays at different hotels over many years. Hats of to manager and staff. Owner is top notch guy. Would recommend to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very cheap but nasty.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
No room service..dirty bed smelled of pee. Roon under construction. Mis matched decor. Dirty room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Old hotel trying to look better

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: Berea is really cool. Loved the town.
Stayed two nights, one coming and one going. First night: holes in wall, bed light didn't work, coffee maker didn't work, mold around bathtub, bedspread worn and looked dirty, holes in the new carpet and the faucet in the sink didn't work. Coming back on our return trip I should have known better. First room I tried: looked a bit better until water started pouring down in the bathroom from the upstairs unit. It covered the bathroom floor and onto the carpet. The heater was old, dirty and loud. I asked for another room (third in this trip) and was given one that on the surface looked better than the other two I tried, except in the morning there was no hot water. How Knights Inn lets this place even go on the market is beyond me. It ruins its reputation and I'll not stay in another one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall, not bad

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Let me start with the good. The friendliness of the staff was great! We had a great experience, they were very helpful, positive, and accommodating. The price was great, it was quiet, the location was ideal, and overall, it wasn't a bad experience. The bad, There was absolutely NO hot water in our room. We tried to check at multiple points of the day and night and there was none. Showers were extremely cold. There were also some roaches in the bathroom. The furniture was very dated, but not completely uncomfortable.