Ratings based on 296 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall England

Luxurious hotel /perfect location

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Fab hotel / great location for sight seeing the Brygenn area everything in walking distance, great view of harbour. Buffet evening meal a great extra with costs in Norway!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Clean hotel close to attractions

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Good location, quiet, we had a water-view room which was nice.
Cons: The staff - they can be a bit more friendly and hospitable.
Location: Funicular and Bryggen walking distance.
Hotel was near to attractions and the harbour. It was quiet at night and the bed was big and comfy. Plenty of in-room amenities - coffee/tea maker, TV, toiletries, etc. Includes dinner and afternoon tea - dinner was great, a buffet but a tasty one! Staff were ok but not overly friendly - when we ordered a bottle of wine the waiter didn't even open and pour it, just left it sealed on our table and wandered off.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Excellent hotel,quiet,very friendly and helpful

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Everythin
Location: Perfectly situated to everything
Great experience willing to assist when're possible,always a smile and great position, highly recommend
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Fantastic hotel in perfect location

Posted Sep 11, 2016
I stayed for 1 night and was very impressed with this hotel. It's located right in the Bryggen tourist area, at the end of the wooden houses and on the waterfront. It is full of character - check out the little snug area at the bottom of the stairs, and take the stairs right up to the tower. Check-in was easy and the staff very friendly. I had a room (601) on the top floor overlooking the water, which was a reasonable size and contained good-quality versions of everything I would expect. The coffee machine actually produced good coffee, which is often not the case in hotel rooms! Large flatscreen TV had a good range of channels, including a number of English/US options. Good shower, though took a while to get hot (probably due to being on the top). Free wifi throughout the hotel too. I hadn't realised when I booked that the price includes an evening meal as well, so that was a great bonus! It is a 'light dinner' buffet, with soup, salad and a main course option. Very good and tasty, and the dining area is pleasant. You could also get free afternoon coffee and waffles, but I didn't try these. Breakfast was also good with a range of options. Another bonus with this hotel is that the airport coach (Flybussen) stops practically outside, so it was very easy and stress-free to continue my journey. Overall, I would definitely stay here again - couldn't really ask for more.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great, comfortable location

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Relaxed atmosphere, very welcoming!
Possibly the best place to stay in Bergen. Situated directly in Bryggen. Well laid-out, comfortable rooms. Very relaxed atmosphere, always drinks and food available. Be sure to get roof access from the front desk to experience a great view over the harbour and city.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible experience

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Location: location is ok
think the bed is not that clean, we got allergy first night and had to put full cloth on to get to sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bergen experience

Posted Aug 31, 2016
This hotel is overdue for an update! The entire place is dated, it has an odor of stale cigarette and mold starting from the entrance, thru the halls and even in the bed & bathrooms. The staff was very friendly but so overwhelmed by their duties they were not able to give assistance when needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mt

Très bel hôtel

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Tres bel Hotel Très bien situé sur le port Hotel de caractère
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2016
5 out of 5
by Brian from Michigan, USA

Grand Building

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, excellent dinner selections, next door to Bryggen.