Ratings based on 583 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
The bed was not good. 2 twins put together and it separates.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Characterful hotel in great location.

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant stay in a very historic building at the end of Bryggen Unesco World Heritage Site. If you're on the top floor the glass elevator goes up though the roof, Willy Wonka style. Breakfast was OK, wifi was pretty patchy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Excellent location. Great selection at breakfast. The room was so quaint. Loved staying in a place rich with history.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Orbitz
Good staff. Close to everything. Will stay there again
2 out of 5
by Steve from Baltimore

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
The main thing this place has going for it is the location- right in historic Bryggen in a charming old building. And the breakfast is good and varied as you expect in Norway. Now the bad: This was easily the smallest hotel room I've ever been in. I still have a lump on my head from the slanted ceiling in the room and bathroom. And the queen bed was 2 twins pushed together. The Windows were more like skylights in the ceiling- no view out. We booked a standard room. At 2x the price of full apartments for rent in surrounding areas, I wouldn't stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seal Beach CA

Historic hotel across from port

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Location, friendliness of staff
Location: Right in the middle of the historic district, so walking wherever we wanted to go was a breeze.
I wanted to stay here, realizing that it may be noisy because of proximity to fish market, etc. Surprisingly, it was pretty quiet.
5 out of 5
by Claudia from Washington State

This was a very enjoyable stay.

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
We loved our brief stay here. We wished we’d had another night or two. When we had to return due to a train cancelation, they were most accommodating and allowed us to return until we could formulate new travel plans. They have a restaurant and there are many others nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fits into the hanseatik scene perfectly

Posted Aug 1, 2016
This hotel puts you back into bygone days with comfort and Gemuetlichkeit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indiana

Not worth the cost

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Room is old and run down. Tilted about 10° slop. The shower is handheld and since there was a big gap between the tub and the wall, we ended up in a puddle. It seems a regular thing since there was a drain located in the middle of the bathroom for such case. Don't even think of using the hotel if you are driving. No real access for cars, and you need to drive backwards in a tight ally into a stream of people behind you to get out of the mess. Breakfast was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Absolutely exceeded our expectations!

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Location, History, Charm, Cleanliness, Staff, Complimentary Breakfast, Size of Junior Suite
Location: Visitor Center, Daily Fish Market, Dining, Fløibanen Funicular, Mount Floyen, Ulriken, Historic Bryggen, Shopping, Harbor, Boat Tours
My partner and I recently stayed at the Det Hanseatiske Hotel for a three night stay in Bergen and it absolutely exceeded our expectations. First, you cannot beat the location of this hotel. It is located right in the heart of Bergen with access to everything you could possibly want or need. We were able to take an affordable taxi from the airport to the hotel with ease and walked to everything that we wanted to do during our trip. In addition to this, the actual hotel has a great deal of character while remaining comfortable and clean. We stayed in a Junior Suite, which was much larger than we had expected, and it was both tidy and charming. Another bonus of this hotel is the complimentary breakfast bar in the mornings which we made sure to take advantage of. The hotel offers a delicious spread for its visitors which was a great way to start our adventures in the morning. Finally, the staff, in particular a woman working at the front desk, were extremely helpful to us. They gave us advice about where to eat, helped us make reservations, etc. In addition to this, because we arrived early, they were able to store our luggage away while we walked around the city until our room was ready. We appreciates this accommodation and the room was actually ready earlier than expected. We would highly recommend staying at Det Hanseatiske Hotel and would love to visit Bergen again and stay in this same hotel. Definitely book your stay now!