Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Excellent hotel love this hotel great location great rooms perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Single night after a cruise

Posted Feb 15, 2017
The hotel was exactly as described and very close to the Bryggen and cable car. Later check out at noon was perfect and handy for airport shuttle Rooms are always too hot for me
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Closeness to downtown
Cons: Bathroom door was missing a clothes hook. Some mold around the end of the tube, but the room is scheduled for repairs as a result of my comments.
Location: Anything in downtown Bergen. It's really close to the fish market.
The hotel was very close to the fish market and downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bengaluru India

Centrally located and comfortable, helpful staff

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Everything by and large. There was even a computer in the lobby for those of us who travel without internet connections which was particularly useful
Cons: Would be nice if we could have had a kettle for making our own tea in the room
Location: Next door to the port for fjord trips, very close to the picturesque food market and walking distance from almost all must-see sights of the city
Slightly difficult to find as there are two entrances, the first door we reached was shut, but it led to a cafe attached to the hotel, not the main large and airy lobby. Also, the lift used for our rooms went out of order. Otherwise, we got a change of room; the room was very comfortable, we could borrow umbrellas to walk out in the rain which was a real help, the staff were particularly welcoming, breakfast was good, the hotel is centrally located and I even found a few (very few) English books to pass the time! Would recommend definitely
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cANADA

good localtion but no atmosphere

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: The room was OK the bed was toooo soft.
Cons: get some friendly employees..at least, ones that will answer questions about their own hotel and not make us feel as if we were Homeless..ITWAS COSTLY
Location: SEE THE bERGEN GUIDE IT IS CLOSE TO THE OLD HARBOUR ETC
they were not at all interested in having guests and we were the only ones at the front desk and even the next day not at all helpful or interested.in having guests. the evening desk gal told us the restaurant was open and we wandered up and down the halls and empty conference rooms and went back to the desk and she sd OH..I guess it is closed and she sd we could go back to the left and down the Hall and there was a restaurant there that is open and one can enter from the Hotel....we tried and went back along all the Halls and no restaurant and so she said "OH I will take you." she was abt 30 and was not pleased and took us and she foung the big door closed and then opened it and walked away. the young desk clerk in the am was so busy at a computer and again no other guests anywhere could hardly answer our questions..so I say never go there at all.as everyone in stores and hotels etc has been so nice and friendly and interested in tourists...the govt of Norway are really doing a good job of having everything very well organized so to heck with First Hotels..and the one in Bergen is no good ...it looked as if it should be shut down for the winter so maybe it should be...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Aust

Great Position

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Position and free internet
Cons: Breakfast
Close to city centre and all attractions and a few minutes walk to airport shuttle stop .Good size room . Breakfast Ok but hot food was only luke warm both times , If taking Hurtigruten cruise taxi booked at hotel 180 NOK but only 130 NOK if picked up from street or taxi rank .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect location, poorly kept

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Condition of hotel
The location of this hotel was perfect. The hotel itself was not well kept. Stains on carpets, walls of hotel room barren with no decor on them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great location and helpful staff

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Forgot I'd booked a room with a Harbour view and it was great
Cons: Construction happening while we were there but didn't really affect us.
Location: Right in the heart of Bergen and a lively night so might not appeal to all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Convenient location

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Comfort of beds, and could use updating.
Nice hotel, but could use some updating. More comfortable beds, carpeting worn. Nice staff and convenient location. Bar was not open at all during 3 day stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Central location

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Location is strategic. Walking distance to fish market, Bryggen & shopping street. However to go to the Train station need at least 15 minutes walking distance. Hotel including breakfast which is quite good but will be get bored after 2 days as selection of food is the same. Appreciate the front desk personnel guy that allocated me the same room for my whole trip as I booked the room from different booking portal and also explains everything in details regarding our queries. Hotel design and furniture is quite rundown and the price per room not cheap. But understandable everything in Norway is expensive