Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dubrovnik

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Rooms were ok, pretty old though but the hallway floor could be cleaner. Reception and other common areas don't seem important to the manegement obviously. The staff was very kind and helpfull and the location was excellent. You get breakfast at your dooor so that is kind of a room service and I for one like it. For that price it'a a good place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

nothing about this hotel is great

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The one night clerk we had was exceptionally nice and helped us with a lot of great information.
Cons: everything
Location: Train station/bus station goes all over, but a walk to get there. The fish market and bryggen were a distance but a great area.
It is not really close to anything. Our first room smelled so much like smoke that we needed to request another one. We had to walk through a bar to get to our room. The room itself was mediocre. No real furniture or desks or anything. No closet. Breakfast was left on our door about 5 am and was a sack with a sandwich (we gave ours to homeless people) and some orange soda. We ate peanut butter sandwiches which were better. Spend a few more dollars and get a nicer room closer to the train or the fish market but not this one.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst hotel experience I've ever had

Posted Oct 5, 2016
The location is horrible. There is partying going on until 4 AM that is so noisy it's hard to sleep. The staff (2 of 3) were rude and not willing to be of service. The bathroom was so small that you couldn't shower and have someone sit on the toilet at the same time. When showering the entire bathroom floor is soaked....by design. There were no extras that are common. The "light continental breakfast" was a joke: a piece of ham and cheese between 2 slices of bread with imitation juice. The exact same thing every day; left hanging on your doorknob.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Disappointing room, dismal breakfast, staff not very knowledgable of city/recommendations, etc. Should have been a lot less $.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Adequate hotel with great location

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Its location.
Location: Close to a square (Ole Bull's Place) with many eating and drinking choices. 10-15 minutes walk from train station or harbor (historical sights).
Nearest airport bus stop was about 5-10 minutes walk, but note that the bus stops at several other places on the way and even with no traffic (4:05 a.m. departure) the ride took about 40 minutes. Hotel provides a basic breakfast box with one ham & cheese sandwich and a small bottle of orange juice per person, and this box can be collected from the front desk for an early departure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value and location

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Price, location.
Cons: The lift wasn't working when we were there.
Location: Lots of bars and restaurants nearby and walking distance to all things touristy.
This is a no frills hotel - has more of a hostel vibe, our room had a shared bathroom and the rooms are sparse but comfortable. It was much cheaper than other places in Bergen and it was fine as a place to sleep and leave your stuff while exploring the city. If you want an affordable place I would recommend this, it is close to everything and cheaper than other hotels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Good if you are on a tight budget. The location was perfect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Randown hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Two locations across the street from each other with a dangy bar down stairs. Loud, elevator not working and even the rooms that are supposed to be non smoking smell like smoke.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bahrain

The service at the hotel was tribe.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Train of hotel staff to be cooperative. Renovations to be completed before accepting firth bookings.
Location: The hotel is in good location but needs lot of improvement. Expedia should take up the matter with hotel management and respond back.
Hotel staff at the reception were very much uncooperative. Although the room had cabinets etc fitted in for small kitchen but there were nio cups, saucers etc. We had to insist to get a kettle to make tea. Our booking included breakfast but it it was not provide d except a bag hanged on the door handle 9containg a cold Chesse sandwich. In fact we need to be compensated for the absence of breakfast which was included in the booking cost. Hotel in a construction stage for its renovations as such booking should not be made.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

nice hotel in the main city centre.

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: location.
Cons: break fast.
Location: very good and convenient location because lot of things were on walking distance like harbor, tourist information centre, museums and castle. Shops, c
I had a pleasant stay at this hotel. I was on 4th floor and it was very quite there, so like some of other customers, I didn't had any noise problem. Everything was simple and fine (including breakfast). I like the location because lot of things were on walking distance like harbor, tourist information centre, museums and castle. Shops, cafes, restaurants (Mcdonalds/Subway/pizza/donner) and supermarkets were also 10/15 mins walking distance. Over all I will rate this hotel as simple with convenient location and most important with affordable price.