Ratings based on 1,527 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seoul, Korea

My worst experience!!!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: attitude
Location: central position
After my family got back from nutshell in Fjord, I was surpised to see our bed room left uncleaned. It was about late 8 o'clock and we were all very exhausted to get angry about it.My two little daughters stood at the hall waiting for the staffs to come and make the beds.They didn't even seem to be sorry about it. The next day when I was checking out they didn't even mention a word sorry for it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location and breakfast -greAt

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Hotel is very run down but still charges high prices
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roma

Grande struttura in posizione centrale

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Posizione, Colazione, Piscina
Cons: Arredamento, Ristrutturazione generale
Location: Si trova nel cuore di Bergen, collegato benissimo all'aeroporto e al molo. A 200 metri è presente l'ufficio turistico della città.
Il soggiorno è stato nel complesso piacevole. La camera era abbastanza spaziosa e pulita e la colazione varia e abbondante. La struttura è molto molto vintage (per non dire vecchia). Sembra di essere negli alberghi americani che si vedono nei film degli anni '80. Come segnalato da altri utenti, un rinnovamento generale potrebbe essere opportuno, date anche le condizioni di alcuni oggetti ormai deteriorati (come tende e centralina dell'aria condizionata. Da segnalare la presenza della piscina interna, accessibile liberamente.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
We had to get the room key activated every time we returned from our tours. Hotel services are can not be accessed through telephone. Reception is almost non-responsive. Location of the hotel is great, nice surroundings outside the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

場所は便利だけどスタッフが欠点のホテル

Posted Aug 6, 2016
3連泊した初日部屋はまだ準備できていなかった、レセプションはシステム上準備できていたと言い訳するだけ。最後の夜は部屋に戻ったらバスルームの清掃なし、タオルもアメニティーも変えてなかった。どうかと思う
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex UK

Are they knocking it down and rebuilding it!

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Its old once great fixtures, fittings and grandeur.
Cons: The general condition
Location: Great location, right in the hart of tourist down town.
Good bits; The hotel is in a great position in the centre of Bergen, the staff were very good, the breakfast was good. Not so good bits; Hotel is old and has been allowed to become sad and rundown, if you are in the rooms to the rear right hand corner you will get to hear the night club across the road until 3 in the morning! The whisper is that the hotel is to be demolished and rebuilt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you for writing your review and letting us know how much you liked the location of the hotel, the staff, and the breakfast. We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel and the noise from the nightclub during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Decatur, GA

quiet walkable neighborhood...convenient to Flybus

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: location of PUBLIC restroom (on SECOND floor and secured by keycode available only at reception ...STUPID!)
Location: Fisherman's Wharf, numerous museums
easy walk to Fisherman's wharf and downtown business and tourist areas
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Hotellstandard; slitet 90-tal 1 stjäna med bra läg

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Centralt läge, bra frukost
Cons: Standard på rummen, hotellet och attityd personal
Location: Centralt läge, shopping, sightseeing, flöjen, fiskmarknaden m.m
Bra frukost, rum högt upp med utsikt mot festplass/ulriken/flöjen rekommenderas. Standard på rummet var slitet 90-tal, max 1 stjärna, trasig toalettsits. Detta var Superior deluxe rum.. Ingen städning på rummet, vi sa till två gånger, men de städade aldrig utan beklagade sig bara och sa att det var fel i systemet.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Julia, Customer Support Specialist, Hotel Management
Hej Björn, Tack för att du tog dig tid att recensera vårat hotell och vad kul att du gillade vårat läge och frukosten! Jag beklagar verkligen att ditt rum inte levde upp till dina höga förväntingar. Jag har självklart fört vidare dina synpunkter till hotelledning och vill gärna passa på att önska dig varmt välkommen åter!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lawrence, KS

Excellent location, friendly staff

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Right in the City Center. Excellent breakfast buffet. Airport bus stops right next to the hotel. Ten minutes walk to the train station. Staff very friendly and helpful. Walk from here to the fish market and the museums. Many restaurants nearby
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent Location in Central Bergen.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Location was perfect, close to shopping areas, restaurants and attractions.
Cons: Housekeeping was very hit and miss, no coffee tea replenishment , some days no clean cups,glasses etc.
Location: Brilliant central location, many restaurants nearby and only a short walk to Bryggen.
The airport shuttle bus stops right outside the hotel, making its location ideal and a stress free journey to get there. The lobby and indeed most of the hotel is now dated and I believe the hotel is due for a major revamp this year. Saying that the staff were very welcoming and check in was swift and easy. On entering the room we discovered we had been upgraded to business class ,which was brilliant, we were taken back by the view from the floor to ceiling Windows . The beds were very comfortable . Breakfast was a vast buffet of typical continental fayre , plentiful and fresh. Which was welcome as the food prices in Norway are very high. Overall great location, walking distance to all major areas. The hotel is dated and in need of a revamp but the price reflected this and when in Bergen you don't spend much time in the hotel.