Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london, england

Old, tired and in need of a refresh

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Hotel is split into 3 buildings,so can only comment on the one across the street. Reception is cramped, lift looks like a service elevator, room was large but looked about 30 years old. Staff were friendly and breakfast was good but I would rate this less than a 3 star hotel and definitely not worth the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The hotel should be gutted and remodeled inside and out, top to bottom.
This hotel offered not even a tissue box in the room, but two irons and two ironing boards. One isn't enough? I'd rather have zero irons and an updated room and facilities. The pictures online are highly exaggerated and very embellished. The floors creak. The toilet paper holder is at shoulder height and made it uncomfortable to even use the toilet sitting down (at least in my room). The tv remote did not work when I first checked in and was resolved 40 minutes after my call to the front desk. I asked for additional pillows and was asked, "why, aren't there already two in the room?" Given the price paid for the room, I expected A LOT more. I plan to ask Expedia for a refund. I had no choice but to stay at this hotel as everything else in town seemed to be sold out. Why they were sold out, I do not know. This hotel is way too expensive for the services/room/facilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The property is OK

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: They have discount on car parking nearby
Cons: One thing disappoint me is that, there are no seperate control for room life and bed light, and when you switch off main lighting, all electric socket
One thing disappoint me is that, there are no seperate control for room life and bed light, and when you switch off main lighting, all electric socket
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice clean affordable hotel not far from centre

Posted Jul 24, 2016
We stayed here only one night and found the room clean and comfortable. Only a 10 minute walk from heart of Bergen. Room was dimly lit but this is normal in Scandinavia. Breakfast buffet excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Ok for families or elderly. The hotel needs a facelift. Very tired looking and reflected in a lack of vibe. The room air con was not adjustable. it couldn't even be turned off. I'd try somewhere different next time. Bed was comfortable and breakfast was decent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Warm , comfy , quiet room , in great location

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Comfy rooms
Location: 5 minute walk from the shops and harbour of Bergen
I wonderful 4 nights here , very quiet great room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel in quiet neighborhood

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Nice hotel. Breakfast is plentiful with smoked salmon galore. Friendly staff and quiet neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice breakfast. Great location. Reasonable price

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Recommend. As a family of 4, they were able to accommodate us in one room. Hard to find in some parts of Europe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent, good location.

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Very nice breakfast
Water was warm, but never quite hot enough. Room was pretty small. Lavish buffet breakfast. Staff a bit indifferent, but this seems to be within Scandinavian standard norms. Close to anything in central Bergen. Enjoyed the odd connections between the 3 separate buildings that make up the hotel. TV sometimes didn't work (not important for me). Power went out once.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Great breakfast that is all they have to offer

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was outstanding.
Cons: Customer service!!!! Informational brochures about Bergen. Luggage storage room
Location: Location was a little further away from the dead center but quite nice surrounding.
Be mindful there are two buildings for Scandic Bergen, one old and pretty depressing and a new one right across the street. Staff is not helpful at all. The desk clerk uttered 10 words to me informing me about the room number and the breakfast hours but never actually greeted me. Room looked like it was redecorated in the eighties. Bathroom was brand new, which created even bigger contrast to the rest of the space. I wanted to store my luggage after I checked out. I was directed to a storage room where I could place by luggage at my own risk. The room was full of old furniture and old drapes with some room allocated for the luggage storage. When you look at the website you only see the rooms from the new hotel so you are under impression you are getting to a modern facility. Do not be fooled.