Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Very nice hotel in Bryggen

Posted May 25, 2017
Very spacious room, friendly and helpful staff and an over the top breakfast. Dinner is fine and greatly appreciated in this expensive country
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Perfect location! Great breakfasts!!

Posted May 18, 2017
Can't find a better choice for location close to wharf area. And the breakfast buffet is over the top good! Plus adding the free light dinner...makes this a great value for Avery expensive city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Best hotel in our five week trip!

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: See above. Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Right near the old town, fish market, shopping, ferry terminal. Train station one half mile away.
Booked last-minute. Perfect location--walked everywhere. Beautiful, thoughtful design throughout the hotel. Though our room was small and looked into the interior light well, it was so thoughtfully designed that we didn't mind. All very new, colorful and bold. Most comfortable bed ever, including a huge pillow to lean against while reading in bed with the aide of a positionable bright reading light (partner did not have to wear blinders). Fogless, lit mirror in bathroom plus operational window. Full complement of amenities. And to top it all off, the breakfast buffet was beyond words--everything you would expect plus omelets made to order, fresh fruits and vegetables, smoothies, coffee made to order--don't miss it. Snacks and espressos available all day, then dinner at night! Very good lamb stew, salad, fruits, cheeses, dessert, etc. Staff was fabulous and all seemed to have a lot of pride in where they worked. Really cheerful, friendly service. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! What a find!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
Great cozy hotel within walking distance to Bergen waterfront activities!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A M A Z I N G

Posted May 2, 2017
I couldn't have picked a better hotel. It is right in the centre, close to all restaurants, pubs, quirky shops and marine. The staff was really friendly and helpful. I'm quite a foodie person and I have to say the food was exceptional. The presentation, the selection, there was everything you could dream of and even more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: The location, breakfast and friendly staff
Cons: We were located close to the lifts which were a bit noisy
The hotel was located right next to the old, historical part of Bergen and ideally placed for many attractions in the city. The hotel was clean, bright and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast has to be the best I've ever experienced - the choice and quality of food was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely hotel and helpful staff

Posted Apr 12, 2017
We stayed for 4 nights whilst visting our daughter in Bergen. Hotel is right in the centre of Bergen and we did all our excursions easily from here. Breakfast was amazing and something we all looked forward to every day - the choice and quality of food was excellent. We stayed for the complimentary supper 3 nights and it was also good. The staff were helpful and relaxed about my daughter whom we were visiting staying with us at the hotel as and when she wanted to and enjoying breakfast and support with us. Obviously there was s charge for this but it was all made very easy for us. The only slight hiccup was that the hotels child policy is that a child is 12 which is different to Expedia. We travelled with my 16 year old and booked via Expedia as a child. When we checked in, we were told that we would need to pay the difference as the hotel classed a child as 12. As it happened we weren't charged on check out, the receptionist said it was fine. All in all a great stay and we would definitely return here or another Thon & highly recommend the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel that goes the extra mile

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Wonderful hotel! We paid just over £100 per night but for that we got a lovely king bed room, plentiful breakfast, free evening meal and unlimited tea and coffee. Norway is SO expensive, particular with the £ being at such low value when we went so we really appreciated all the free extras that were included in the room rate. Location is also fantastic and staff were lovely and friendly. I'd very much recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario

Excellent food, location and service

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Hotel room was very clean and well appointed. The location was excellent....just behind the Bryggen area. A very pleasant aspect was the breakfast and evening meal, both of very good quality. I would gladly stay at this hotel again when visiting Bergen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Bergen

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Very nice hotel in Bergen. The location is excellent and the breakfast is amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Bookingmanager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your kind review. Hope to welcome you back in the future. Best Regards, Renate Bergstrøm Bookingmanager