Ratings based on 1,693 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham England.

Great location best breakfast ever.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
This hotel is in an ideal location near to the town's shopping centre and only short walk to the harbour. You start each day with the best breakfast buffet I have ever had and I have stayed in many first class hotels. Choose a superior room if you can as you have more space than the standard room. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and as a result I will definitely be staying there again on my next visit to Bergen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Anette Johansen, Acting Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Brian, thank you for taking your time to write us a review after your stay. We are happy to hear you had a good stay, and that you liked our breakfast and staff. I hope we can welcome you back next time you are in Bergen. Best regards, Anette Johansen, Acting Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Small room but breakfast makes up for it!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Yes, our economy room was on the small side, but super clean and comfortable. It's Bergen, there's a whole lot more to be doing and seeing than staying in your hotel room. The hotel is in a safe area, very clean, quiet and comfortable. The excellent breakfast was the best we've had anywhere! Omelette chef, select juices, all sorts of delicious food. It was like an expensive champagne brunch in the U.S., without the champagne. Definitely a nice surprise. Apparently came best in its class, and I hear even being improved now for country competition. It'll win hands-down!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Anette Johansen, Acting Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Picky, thank you for your review and rating after your stay with us at Scandic Byparken. We really appreciate it! We are glad to see you had a good stay, and that the breakfast was excellent :) Hope we can welcome you back next time you are in Bergen. Best regards, Anette Johansen, Acting Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia,PA

Super breakfast

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Location is excellent-5 min walk to train station, 2 minutes to restaurants and 5 min to fish market and harbor. Rooms are very very small. However, staff is very nice and helpful and breakfast makes up for any discomfort of the room size. It is definitely the best in the country- as advertised. Huge selection, fresh, will satisfy any taste. They even packed us breakfast to go when we had an early trip and couldn't be there for breakfast. We also tried their dinner buffet for about 25$ per person ( which is cheap in Norway) and it was good as well, though selection is leas than for breakfast. Overall, would highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Anette Johansen, Acting Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jane, thank you for taking your time to give us a proper review after your stay.We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us, and that the food and staff was good. Hope we can welcome you back, next time you are in Bergen. Best regards, Anette Johansen, Acting Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location: City center which is what I wanted.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: Good walking in city center. Fish market, harbor. Easy access to Tourist Infirmation junction point.
Good. Helpful and courteous staff. Breakfast excellent. Snack options in lobby could be better, too much candy. Basic travel hotel, worked well for that. Maybe a bit overpriced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Anette Johansen, Acting Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, and thank you for your review and feedback after your stay. We are glad to see you had a good stay with us, and that you liked the breakfast and location. Hope we can welcome you back next time. Best regards, Anette Johansen, Acting Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

A good hotel in good location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location and breakfast.
Cons: Room is small (particular the bathroom).
Location: Centrally located. Easy walk to central station, airport bus stop, and major tourist sites. Next to the beautiful lake and art galleries.
This is a good hotel in very good location: 500 meter from central station and 100 meters from airport bus pickup/drop point. The room is small, but quite clean and comfortable. The breakfast is the best of all 10+ hotels we stayed in the 6 weeks hotel in Scandinavian countries.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by Anette Johansen, Acting Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Graham, thank you for taking your time to write us a review after your stay. We really appreciate it! And we are very glad to see you had a good stay. Looking forward to welcome you back, next time you are in Bergen. Best regards, Anette Johansen, Acting Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very comfortable and convenient hotel.

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable, convenient, helpful staff. Breakfast was amazing.
Short stay but very good. Very convenient to the harbour front.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Anette Johansen, Acting Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Margaret, thank you for taking your time to write us a review after your stay at Scandic Byparken. We are happy to see you had a good stay, and that the breakfast was amazing. We really appriciate it. Hope we can welcome you back next time you are in Bergen. Best regards, Anette Johansen, Acting Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2017
It was a greet location almost everthing close to this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Anette Johansen, Acting Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to see you had a good stay with us. Hope to see you back some other time. Best regards, Anette Johansen, Acting Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Great hotel in city centre

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Brilliant hotel close to all attractions, e,g market, Floyen and brygen. Would recommend and will use this hotel in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Anette Johansen, Acting Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hello David, thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you had a good stay with us. Hope to see you back next time you are in Bergen. Best regards, Anette Johansen, Acting Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Central Bergen Hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Good access to transport (Light Rail, Station) and the sights (Bryggen).
Cons: Value for money - this was an expensive rate for the size of room we got, even by Norwegian standards.
Location: Central in Bergen with Unesco heritage area, fjord sightseeing, trains to Oslo and Flåm, restaurants.
Even though we'd booked an economy room, we were disappointed with the size - there wasn't room to get around 3 sides of the bed. Bathroom could do with some attention - esp. shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Lene Mjeldheim / General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Steve. Thank you for the feedback and rating after your stay. We have many different room types from small economy rooms to spacious Superior rooms and Suites, I always recommend the Superior room category because these rooms have much space around the bed and also includes either a sofa or armchairs. Hope to see you again Best regards Lene Mjeldheim General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location Wonderful buffet breakfast

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Staff were friendly and helpful at any time of the day
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Lene Mjeldheim, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for this great review, I really appreciate it!