Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from malaga ,spain

Wonderful hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2017
A must if you are in the region . Great hotel ,great staff We will be back soon
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Kurt Wagner, Hotel Management
Dear Stephan, thank you for your great feedback. We would be glad to welcoming you to our property again and remain with Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Superb with a capital S. Exceptional hospitality.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Quiet location, superb services, and fine dinning. Don't forget the breakfast.
Cons: Minor point, but may be better directional signage to the various restaurants. Though the staff was most helpful.
Location: Did'nt stay long enough to explore the area. But did walked the near by town in the AM. Seems quaint and cozy. Large park near by.
Our stay was only for one night. Wish we had more time. We walked the beautiful ground in the afternoon, this was just enough relaxation before we continue on with our journey the next day. Had a wonderful dinner at the Trattoria Enoteca. Wanted to try Vendome but was closed for the summer. our adult kids can not compliment enough about the fine appointments in the room...my wife loved the toiletries???
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Kurt Wagner, Hotel Management
Dear 5dela, thank you for your awesome evaluation. It is great to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We would be glad to welcoming you to our property again and hope you will have enough time to visit the surrounding area as well the hotel in the meantime we remain with Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Fancy hotel, less than fancy experience

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Facility.
Cons: Night front desk service.
Location: Very small town of Bensberg but really sweet little restaurants and stores nearby. Hilly but walkable.
Everything was great, minus the night we arrived. Two men working the desk were a little condescending: tried to upsell us on a room we reserved on Expedia, making it sound like an upgrade but then telling us it would be 100 euro a night; wouldn't offer the three star restaurant as a dining option even though we'd seriously considered it for the final night of our honeymoon; didn't describe a single amenity of the hotel or let us know when things were open (pool, spa, services, etc). Our bellman Michael (who was outstandingly caring and thorough) took the bags to the room, and as we walked away we heard them laughing behind us. Everyone else the whole time was WONDERFUL. Everyone else--front desk staff, wait staff, room staff included. The facilities and room service were really nice. But when your time away starts how ours did it doesn't set a great tone, and really was a shame. The room was actually two rooms, a sitting room with a small window and a bedroom with another small window. It would have been nicer if the windows were larger but it's not the design of the schloss.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Kurt Wagner, Hotel Management
Dear F, thank you for your evaluation on Expedia and the time you spend for. We are really sorry for the experiences you had when you checked in. I talked already to this employee. Unfortunately we cannot irreversible the experience. We would be glad, to welcoming you to our property again and remain with Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

it was awesome

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: pool spa were extremely new and clean
Cons: nope
Location: local town offers less expensive eating options
the staff was phenomenal it felt like there were more of them than guests the pool is great
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Kurt Wagner, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymus, thank you for your awesome evaluation. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be glad to welcoming you to our property again and remain in the meantime with Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

The best place to say in the area, by far

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: The location, the grounds, the food.
Cons: The constraints of an old palace are both the charm and limitation of the rooms, etc. The place is comfy, clean, and the staff friendly and helpful.
Location: Bensburg is a far suburb of Cologne. If you have business in the area (Bergisch-Gladback, Leverkusen, etc.) this is a no brainer.
This is top notch hotel sitting on a hill overlooking Cologne, with some amazing food and wine on site. It fine for business, excellent for couples, and I even saw a family with kids there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Kurt Wagner, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rimas, thank you for your time you spend for your Evaluation on Expedia. It is nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be glad to welcoming you to our property again and remain With Kind regards
5 out of 5
by Christian

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017
Vielen Dank für 5 Sterne!
5 out of 5
by Christian

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017
Lieber Christian, herzlichen Dank für Ihre super Bewertung. Wir würden uns freuen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen. Mit freundlichen Grüßen Kurt Wagner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3 Stars Michelin

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Really good 3 Star Michelin Restaurant . Nice bar. Perfekt room Top stay, perfect
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Kurt Wagner, Hotel Management
What a great Review! Thank you very much for staying with us and for your Feedback! Needless to say, that we are looking forward to welcome you back! Kind regards Kurt Wagner
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great vacation spot and business too.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Clean and grand.
Cons: Not much to improve! German excellence at your feet!
Location: Forest, nice town, near Cologne and Dusseldorf.
Great place to stay at more for vacation, but if you are in town for business will not be disappointed too. Nice layout, clean large rooms and plenty to do around the premises. Excellent stuff and wonderful town near Cologne.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Kurt Wagner, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your great Review! We are very happy to see, that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking Forward to welcome you back very soon! Kind regards Kurt Wagner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Palace Hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Great staff, grand building and room. Excellent food. User-unfriendly shower-tub.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Kurt Wagner, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your great Feedback! I was a pleasure to read that you felt confortable while staying with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards