Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bath, UK

Luxury hotel excellent staff prices to match.

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: The staff mainly; the quiet luxury feel: the comfortable bed.
Location: The hotel is about 8 miles outside the city and we used the tram system (a station is about 5 mins walk) which was efficient and well priced.
The staff on our arrival set the tone for our visit. They were friendly and efficient and willing to tolerate our desire to speak very bad German even though they spoke English perfectly well! Our room, whilst of the lowest category available, was lovely. The bed was very comfortable with luxurious bed linen, the bathroom very well appointed and there were some really nice touches like fruit and refreshments. Because we had arrived later than planned we ate in one of the hotel’s restaurants. If you stay here remember it is a luxury hotel with prices to match. The food was not to our taste but the setting was very pleasant and the staff (following the theme!) attentive and friendly. On subsequent evenings we explored the town surrounding the hotel to find typical local restaurants. There were a couple of minor niggles such as there being no towels for use in the sauna one evening and the pool area not being tidied of discarded towels and forgotten replenishment of coffee pods in the room but these were minor points. Also, note that parking is charged at €22 per day. The issue which detracts slightly from the overall rating was that on one evening of our stay the bar was playing host to a disco. This is the only bar, is quite small and meant that there was nowhere to relax with a glass of wine at the end of the day - the only option offered was to sit in the restaurant which was not what I would have expected of such a top grade hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2017 by Kurt Wagner, Hotel Management
Dear JillE, thank you for your great evaluation on Expedia. It is nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. The remark which you have made for the bar when we have live music to have a seat just to chat and relax is a good advise. Thank you. We would be glad to welcoming you again and remain with Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from malaga ,spain

Wonderful hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2017
A must if you are in the region . Great hotel ,great staff We will be back soon
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Kurt Wagner, Hotel Management
Dear Stephan, thank you for your great feedback. We would be glad to welcoming you to our property again and remain with Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Superb with a capital S. Exceptional hospitality.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Quiet location, superb services, and fine dinning. Don't forget the breakfast.
Cons: Minor point, but may be better directional signage to the various restaurants. Though the staff was most helpful.
Location: Did'nt stay long enough to explore the area. But did walked the near by town in the AM. Seems quaint and cozy. Large park near by.
Our stay was only for one night. Wish we had more time. We walked the beautiful ground in the afternoon, this was just enough relaxation before we continue on with our journey the next day. Had a wonderful dinner at the Trattoria Enoteca. Wanted to try Vendome but was closed for the summer. our adult kids can not compliment enough about the fine appointments in the room...my wife loved the toiletries???
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Kurt Wagner, Hotel Management
Dear 5dela, thank you for your awesome evaluation. It is great to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We would be glad to welcoming you to our property again and hope you will have enough time to visit the surrounding area as well the hotel in the meantime we remain with Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Fancy hotel, less than fancy experience

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Facility.
Cons: Night front desk service.
Location: Very small town of Bensberg but really sweet little restaurants and stores nearby. Hilly but walkable.
Everything was great, minus the night we arrived. Two men working the desk were a little condescending: tried to upsell us on a room we reserved on Expedia, making it sound like an upgrade but then telling us it would be 100 euro a night; wouldn't offer the three star restaurant as a dining option even though we'd seriously considered it for the final night of our honeymoon; didn't describe a single amenity of the hotel or let us know when things were open (pool, spa, services, etc). Our bellman Michael (who was outstandingly caring and thorough) took the bags to the room, and as we walked away we heard them laughing behind us. Everyone else the whole time was WONDERFUL. Everyone else--front desk staff, wait staff, room staff included. The facilities and room service were really nice. But when your time away starts how ours did it doesn't set a great tone, and really was a shame. The room was actually two rooms, a sitting room with a small window and a bedroom with another small window. It would have been nicer if the windows were larger but it's not the design of the schloss.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Kurt Wagner, Hotel Management
Dear F, thank you for your evaluation on Expedia and the time you spend for. We are really sorry for the experiences you had when you checked in. I talked already to this employee. Unfortunately we cannot irreversible the experience. We would be glad, to welcoming you to our property again and remain with Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

it was awesome

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: pool spa were extremely new and clean
Cons: nope
Location: local town offers less expensive eating options
the staff was phenomenal it felt like there were more of them than guests the pool is great
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Kurt Wagner, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymus, thank you for your awesome evaluation. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be glad to welcoming you to our property again and remain in the meantime with Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Beautiful hotel with great rooms

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: the construction , service, rooms
Cons: activities for children
Location: the location is about 20 minuts from cologne not much things to do nearby
One of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed, the rooms were excelent and the service was outstandning
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Kurt Wagner, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! We are lloking Forward to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Kurt Wagner
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

The best place to say in the area, by far

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: The location, the grounds, the food.
Cons: The constraints of an old palace are both the charm and limitation of the rooms, etc. The place is comfy, clean, and the staff friendly and helpful.
Location: Bensburg is a far suburb of Cologne. If you have business in the area (Bergisch-Gladback, Leverkusen, etc.) this is a no brainer.
This is top notch hotel sitting on a hill overlooking Cologne, with some amazing food and wine on site. It fine for business, excellent for couples, and I even saw a family with kids there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Kurt Wagner, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rimas, thank you for your time you spend for your Evaluation on Expedia. It is nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be glad to welcoming you to our property again and remain With Kind regards
5 out of 5
by Christian

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017
Vielen Dank für 5 Sterne!
5 out of 5
by Christian

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017
Lieber Christian, herzlichen Dank für Ihre super Bewertung. Wir würden uns freuen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen. Mit freundlichen Grüßen Kurt Wagner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3 Stars Michelin

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Really good 3 Star Michelin Restaurant . Nice bar. Perfekt room Top stay, perfect
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Kurt Wagner, Hotel Management
What a great Review! Thank you very much for staying with us and for your Feedback! Needless to say, that we are looking forward to welcome you back! Kind regards Kurt Wagner