Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016
The hotel is very convenient, comfortable and with delightful, helpful staff. A little faded but pleasant. Recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hereford, England

Nice hotel in convenient location

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: The closeness to the Hauptbahnhof and Schwebebahn is most convenient. There are also some nice, reasonably priced restaurants nearby.
Cons: Perhaps a tea/coffee machine in the room. We discovered the community coffee pot in Reception only while checking out.
Location: The location is conveniently central. Our short stay did not allow us to discover much of surrounding attractions. Maybe, next time.
We very much enjoyed our one-night stay. The reception was most polite and helpful. The room was well appointed and comfortable. A nice choice of buffet breakfast. The provision of a free travel pass on public transport is a real boon. Sorry our time was too short to make full use of it. The current major reconstruction work of the Hauptbahnhof area is unfortunate, but does not take anything away from the comfort of the hotel. The night was surprisingly quiet, despite the Schwebebahn across the narrow road. We would certainly like to stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Central , near overhead railway

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: At the price it was fine
Location: Only problem was road-works near by . ,
The hotel did what we wanted on this rather specialised trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel close to the schwebebhan

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Very friendly staff - transit pass - clean and comfortable room - good location
My husband had wanted to see the schwebebahn for 70 years and the Astor hotel could not be closer to the station, We spent a large part of our visit riding the schwebebahn and exploring the Wuppertal valley, including the Sculpture Park and lunch at the Brauhaus. It's a great area for walking - friendly people and lovely views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good central well - prices 3 star hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2013
The hotel deserves a higher rating overall, but the one seriously regrettable aspect that needs addressing is the lack of air conditioning --- a slightly ajar window doesn't solve this problem. The breakfast, although additional, is excellent. The staff are willing to go that extra mile. The hotel's location is very central to the town, its excellent shoppers paradise, but the joke when you are driving to it is that the SATNAV doesn't tell you it is in the middle of a very extensive pedestrians ONLY zone. Parking is however not a problem as the Hotel has a decent relationship with Sparkasse pay parking lot nearby. There is also quite close by some limited NO PAY street parking. All together a good place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A. from Dallas,Texas

Great safe place in middle of busy downtown.

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have experienced on my recent and past European trips. Nice comfortable bed and a convenient mini fridge.
Cons: I wish, the street noise could be reduced but that may not be possible in such a busy, but convenient location.
Location: My day trip to Schloss Burg was wonderful. Bus # 863 leaves from the Vohwinkel Schwebebahn Station and goes right to the bottom of the chairlift.
After many years of living overseas I hardly recognize my hometown any more. Staff was very helpfull with information and the pass for free regional transportation [bus, train, Schwebebahn, etc.] was especially helpfull.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from New York, NY

All-around excellent for the price

Posted Oct 9, 2012
Excellent buffet breakfast with a wide selection frm eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, meats, cheeses, yogurts,etc., etc. Excellent location by the main train/ Schwebebahn station in downtown Elberfeld, but still very quiet. Very good for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hans from Connecticut, USA

Great value for the money!

Posted May 28, 2012
Clean room and friendly, very helpful staff. Big comprehensive breakfast buffet for 5,50 € - better than in most larger hotels. Got a free 2 day card for public transportation for the entire network, including Schwebebahn. Location is in the heart of the shopping area in the inner city. Would go there again any time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia PA

Great location, nice staff

Posted Jun 13, 2011
Certainly one of the best places to stay for business or tourism. They give you a free pass o the terrific suspended public transit system Right down the long ramp from the train station and near all shopping. Also near the art museum, which has some lovely holdings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2008
Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely breakfast. Would stay here again.