Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

quiet and conveniently close to rail station

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: breakfast
Cons: coffee at breakfast -it was awful
Location: Location great just by the train station. I was working in Dusseldorf so didn't see any of the attractions
all very easy. The breakfast was fantastic but the coffee was not at all good. I had one dinner there which was nice adn quite Geman in flavour which was good as a tourist. Staff were all lovely and helpful and the room was quite adequate and clean, but having a tub shower might be a problem for very large of infirm people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: location, even with the building works
Cons: room decor needs updating
Staff very good, good breakfast. good location for local transport and main line trains
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Intercity hotel wuppertal

Posted Aug 12, 2015
We arrived at about 7pm having driven all day, only to find the hotel in the middle of a large building site. The town centre is being redeveloped around the hotel (due to finish 2017). We found the hotel, but could not get at it without going through the building site! This took about 3 tries until we got it right! The hotel seems very run down and in need of a good refurbishment. The lobby is OK, but the lifts and the rooms badly need modernising. The room had a musty smell. Bathroom very old fashioned. We had dinner in the hotel, which was surprisingly good, although the dining room was soul-less, and breakfast in the morning was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

near big construction site until 2017 - AC lousy

Posted May 11, 2015
Cons: AC
Location: good location, near city center, walking distance to shopping and restauranrts
The nearby rail station is under construction until 2017 - traffic was terrible many one way roads and dead ends - take your GPS!!!! AC did not seem top work at all I talked to the hotel staff without result, stopped pushing the issue as i was there in spring, would have been much too hot in the summer time. Good breakfast, they have a fitness room and a sauna, not a bad standard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inversneckie, Scotland

Good hotel with (temporary) problems

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Good food (when it was prepared!)). General ambience. Free City ticket (Bus, train, Schwebebahn)
Cons: Better access info on the website.
Location: Excellent for access to the Schwebebahn and the interesting older parts of Wuppertal.
This was a good hotel in the modern style. One of the best single rooms I have ever had. It was unfortunate that the day I arrived a) there was no rail service to Wuppertal and I had to find my way to the hotel from a bus stop, b) the area west of the hotel is being massively re-developed, whole streets have gone and the map is useless, c) on Sunday night, when I arrived, the kitchen was out of action.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Great hotel, clean rooms, staff were very polite, unbelievably good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Cons: Service in the restaraount
Location: Very convenient to the train station, and the monorail
Had to fight not to be put in a SMOKING room on a SMOKING floor. Really, had to fight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room was excellent! plus being a smoking room fab!

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: everything
Location: lots of shops and close to transport.
I would visit this hotel again.The room was clean ,bright,and we were able to smoke in this room which was a big plus for us. The hotel is near the shops and transport which was a big plus. Overall a very good choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Good hotel, presently a challenge to get too...

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Cons: small, but good rooms with aged TVs, Internet has been greatly improved and is easy and high speed.
For Wuppertal monumental reconstruction of the entire main rail station and surrounding area makes it a challenge to get to the InterCity Hotel at least for another 3 years, unless you arrive by train, then it is a relative breeze walking from track 1 via a cat walk to the Hotel. Other tracks you need to carry your baggage down and back up to track 1! Arriving by car is a challenge as navigation may steer you wrong, a huge area having been blocked off and detours abound. The hotel has issued a multi language one page leaflet how to navigate this mess, call them and have them fax/scan/email it to you. Hotel is fairly well soundproof and work stops at around 19:00hrs. Many facilities and a more than excellent breakfast round out your stay. Using the garage entrance to walk to the inner City, bus and suspension railway/mass transit system is a breeze.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Nice central hotel very close to Wuppertal central

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: very central and always very courteous when I stay there.
Cons: The Pillows need to be A LOT MORE firmer, bulkier etc
Location: The hotel is very central to Wuppertal. Everything you need is within walking distance, the shops, food courts are literally just over the road.
I have stayed at this hotel now several times. There are ongoing building works outside the front but it does not distract from the overall experience of the hotel. The rooms are clean, the staff are very polite and the restaurant is nice also. The only downside I have is that the pillows are extremely thin, what I mean by that is that there is nothing to them. I likle to sleep with my head propped up not looking at the ceiling lying flat. I did ask for more pillows which the staff were very accommodating. It took 5 pillows bunched together. I have mentioned this on a few occasions and my boss stopped staying there because of this. That said overall, ( apart from the pillows ) it is a very pleasant hotel to stay at