Ratings based on 690 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nothing fancy, but great value

Posted Dec 11, 2017
The hotel is a simple place, but for the price you pay you get surprisingly well-kept rooms with a desk, wifi, a TV, microwave, fridge, ironing board, etc. For a 1-night stay it's a great value!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant and affordable

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Great place to stay and lots of places within walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location and low price

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Location and price
This motel's location is ideal for our purposes, and the price is excellent. My wife and I come to Berkeley often to visit our daughter and grandchildren, whose house is too small to accommodate us. The location and price of the Golden Bear are ideal for our purposes. The rooms are very basic, but they have everything we need. We will continue to stay here when we need to spend the night in Berkeley.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Not what I expected

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: clean and pleasant. had the amenities I needed.
I was not expecting a motel from the picture more of a hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Its an OK Place to Stay

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: The vintage feel and the look with the pop-corn lights.
Cons: make the rooms more comfortable and clean better.
Location: Lots of great places to eat and drink. Also just a nice place to walk around during the evening.
The hotel has a vintage charm. They light it up with pop-corn lights. So at night it really sparkles. Its old. You can see that they have tried to update the rooms. But with that being said the furnishings are not great. No heat or at least mine didn't work. The walls are thing and the floors creak a lot so you hear noises all night. The linen is old and it looks it. They could do a better job in cleaning the rooms. But for what I paid and seeing that I was there for only a few days I could live with it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salen or

Modest but convenient

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Let us check out and leave our car parked while we were at Cal football. Really friendly. Thanks you!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
You're welcome! Thank you for staying with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Convenient Berkeley motel

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Classic Berkeley motel in great condition. Very walkable area and close to the North Berkeley BART station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Ghetto

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Not in a very nice neighborhood. Dis not feel safe
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach CA

Not Like The Photos

Posted Oct 16, 2017
We booked this place from the photos shown, but what we got was to put it nicely disappointed...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Oct 16, 2017
I booked this hotel through Expedia. I needed something inexpensive in Berkeley. I paid $373 for 3 nights. The room smelled damp the whole time I was there. The heater didn’t work my first night and it was cold. I called the office and the staff was helpful and came right away but the young man couldn’t fix it and said he would have someone look at it the next day. The next day when I returned back to my room it still didn’t work so I called the office again. This time a very nice young woman came and did some trick with a quarter and lit the pilot and the heater worked fine. The room had a microwave and mini fridge which was convenient. It also had an old built in ironing board but the cover looked liked it hadn’t been changed in a few decades. I ended up ironing my clothes on the table. There’s no air conditioning in the room which wasn’t a big deal for fall but it could get uncomfortable in the summer months. The carpet was a dark brown that made the room feel dirty. I might find $70 a night a more reasonable price. Motel 6 is a better value.