Ratings based on 575 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland

It's a cheap hotel, not the Ritz, but he for price

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Rooms are clean and safe. Front desk staff have been most cordial and accomodating Had trouble at other cheap hotels in Berkeley getting a room for my son and encountered inctredibly rude, if not scary, managers at other hotels. Berkeley Inn was a very welcome change. We'll definitely cime back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Our goal is to offer guests staying with us clean and comfortable accommodations and superior service all at a great value. We are pleased that we could achieve this during your stay. Despite previous experiences in the area, we are glad that you gave us the opportunity to offer the stay you were looking for. We look forward to your next visit and to delivering another pleasant, worthwhile stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

I got multiple bug bites on my body and face

Posted Jan 17, 2018
It smelled like tobacco. I did not feel comfortable because of the tobacco smell and because I kept getting bitten at night by bugs
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Susy, Thank you for notifying us of your experience. We are terribly sorry to read that you did not sleep comfortably due to some unusual issues with odor and pests. Our team will conduct a professional assessment of the accommodations to ensure that any issues that may exist are promptly resolved. You deserved better, and we are confident that we can deliver that in our new and modern accommodations. Come and see us again when our updates are complete. We look forward to it!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Very noisy Some how Can feel smoke even in non smoking room
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel during your recent trip to Berkeley. It saddens us to hear we were not able to meet your expectations with your room. Our staff strives to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable, quiet stay, and that includes a fresh scent. We encourage our guests to let us know if there is anything amiss with our accommodations so we can correct it accordingly. We will discuss your feedback with housekeeping to remedy the situation. We hope you will consider staying with us again and thank you for your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Fiego, Ca

Nice weekend in Berkerly😊

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Comfort and close to Coffee and Breakfast cafes. Nice. Rooms were alway clean and made up. Will stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, We're happy to hear that you spent a nice weekend in town with us at the Berkeley Inn. It's a pleasure to know that our comfortable rooms and convenient location made for a very repeatable stay. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Berkeley soon!
5 out of 5
by Michael

Nice

Posted Nov 17, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017
Dear Michael, All of us at Berkeley Inn love knowing that you had a five-star experience at our property. We aim to serve every guest to the best of our abilities and delight in knowing that you left so happy. Please come back to visit soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor quality

Posted Nov 9, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: nothing
Cons: cleanliness and more parking
Location: not bad
Overall quality of the hotel is not good, not enough parking not clean facilities are in poor condition. bath room fixtures were done by low paid inexperienced worker
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It is our goal to deliver an exceptional stay for all of our guests so we are disappointed to learn about your experience. You'll be happy to know that we are in the process of upgrading our rooms so we'd love to invite you back for a more satisfactory stay. Thank you for feedback about parking. Because of our central location, parking is a coveted amenity by everyone and we do our best to give our guests a chance to park at our hotel. Once again, we are sorry to know that you were not pleased while under our roof, and we would love the opportunity to make it up to you in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Super nice and friendly staff

Posted Oct 30, 2017 on Orbitz
Super nice and friendly staff, and down to earth people. Beautiful window looking out into the street with lots of sun light. I accidentally booked two nights, and they were more than willing to help me get a refund for the second night. I will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Samy, What a wonderful review to read! Our staff is humbled by your kind compliments. We're glad we were able to quickly sort out your booking issue to accommodate your needs, and it sounds like you really enjoyed the view from your room! Thank you for choosing us at Berkeley Inn and for taking a moment to share your experience with us. Please come again soon!
3 out of 5
by Salvador A

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms have been renovated. They are small, but clean. Neighbohood is a little sketchy, and parking can be difficult. Owners are nice, and so is the cleaning staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017
Dear Salvador, Thank you for your visit! We are happy to see that you found our recently updated rooms to be a delight! Our whole team is very excited to share them. It is, however, unfortunate to hear that you did not find our neighborhood to be ideal. Many guests enjoy being just a few blocks from University Ave. and the BART station, and we hope that you were able to enjoy some time around the area. Next time you are in town, come and see us for an even better experience!
4 out of 5
by Sunny

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Menlo Park, CA

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: It was nice and clean and recently remodeled.
I stayed just for one night to visit UC Berkeley. The hotel was a short drive to campus. Though the room was smaller than most hotel rooms, it was adequate for for our needs with the basic amenities you would expect.