Ratings based on 756 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small, but CLEAN!!

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Great location, very clean, everything we needed.
Great location, room was small but extremely clean, fridge/microwave were new.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Much nicer than when I stayed in at the hotel several years ago. Excellent location, close to the UC Berkeley Campus, and Downtown Berkeley, and therefore to BART.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Suprised

Posted Sep 10, 2017
the hotel is not that large but the rooms were very modern and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

If you're visiting UC Berkeley

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Looks like this place was updated very recently, room was in excellent conditions, very modern, very comfortable. Hotel is within walking distance of campus and the BART. Lots of restaurants around too. The breakfast was so so but there is a Trader Joe's right across the street and a great coffee shop next to that. Great stay and great value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to go into so much detail to demonstrate how happy you were. You had the experience that we want to provide for each and every one of our guests! Best wishes, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Clean, Affordable Hotel, Good Location

Posted Aug 27, 2017
This hotel is conveniently located, in walking distance to the University and downtown Berkeley. The room was clean, the bed was super-comfortable and the lighting was better than in most hotels I've stayed in. I would definitely stay here again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and that you found your room to be comfortable and clean. Our main priority is to provide this for all of our guests. We are very happy to hear that our hotel, and our location in particular, were appropriate for your needs. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

OK hotel, but strong cleaner/deodorant odors.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Location.
The hotel is OK. But they use cleaners that have a strong odor. I had to throw away my CPAP mask after staying there because it picked up those odors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. I was pleased that your stay met your expectations, although we are sorry that there seemed to be such a strong odor from our cleaning products; this is not a comment that our guests generally make. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Kind regards, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids MI

Nice place at a fair price

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Newly remodeled room with great pillows, linens etc. Clean and comfortable
Cons: Despite very nice remodeling of the room, there are no hooks or shelves in the bathroom. No place to hang clothes or a bag! A surprising oversight.
Location: Easy walking distance to all the typical Berkeley things. Very convenient.
We had a comfortable convenient stay here during Commencement week. Very easy to walk everywhere we needed to go. Fridge and microwave made it easy to enjoy our leftovers from all the great restaurants near by. Will definitely try to stay here again on our next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Posted Jul 15, 2017
We loved the hotel and staff. It was really clean and the staff was excellent. There were great restaurants and eclectic litlle shops. We loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Motel Experience

Posted Jul 5, 2017
After reading reviews we chose the Berkeley Travelodge for our one night stay in the Bay Area. Reviews were totally accurate. Very friendly staff, remodeled rooms and great ambience. Only down side is the room was a bit on the smaller side, but for one night it was fine. Super clean, and will definitely stay again if we are in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bucks county pa

Cleaner than expected noisy

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Although fairly clean did not walk Around with out shoes. Very small room for 2 beds needed to use bed for suitcase or couldn't walk in room. Checked in after hours had difficult getting in touch with hotel clerk. Very responsive when we finally reached him