Ratings based on 1,383 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Very beautiful hotel in a remote setting.

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Service, staff and views are spectacular. Only 5 minutes away fro Berkley Univercity. Best experience.
Charming old world hotel and spa, newly renovated. Most helpful and knowledgeable staff. Incredible concierge Lisa and most convenient system of using text messages to connect with the hotel staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Richard Wales, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Izabell. I am delighted to know you enjoyed your stay. We will share your comments with Lisa and recognize her for her outstanding service. On behalf of the entire Claremont team, we hope to welcome you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oakland

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Renovated hotel looks beautiful. Unfortunately some staff were not well trained. They struggled with the concept of refrigerating a birthday cake for me. Also, when we went to the spa to use the facilities included in the resort fee, the front desk staff questioned us in detail as to whether we were truly guests of the hotel and how many of us were entitled to enter the pool area. Clearly if we are spending additional resort fees we shouldn't be interrogated as to whether we belong. Implicit bias training may be in order.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Richard Wales, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing us, Cynthia. Candid guest feedback is critical to our improvement as a hotel so we appreciate yours. We will certainly keep your comments in mind as we continue to refine our Club policies. On behalf of the entire Claremont team, we hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

It was a perfect location! Comfortable and unique

Posted Sep 29, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. Staff was super helpful. The restaurants that the hotel offer have amazing views and great food. Spa facilities are beyond most hotels. Would love to comeback for parents weekend but there is no availability! Breaks my heart to have to stay anywhere else
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Richard Wales, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us, Alicia. We are delighted to hear your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic traditional hotel...

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Beautiful old hotel from a different era. Has great location with beautiful view of the city. Staff excellent... rooms beautiful. Food great. Must deal with renovations by pool and tennis courts. Outside needs a lot of work but you don't mind as service and location elevate the experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Richard Wales, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to know you enjoyed your recent stay. On behalf of the entire Claremont team, we hope to welcome you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MS

Grand, old hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Striking appearance outside and inside. Nice restaurants with great cocktails. Smallish rooms expected from a historic property. Room noise from hall and maid service staging was very loud and annoying.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Richard Wales, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Carl. I apologize for the noise issues you experienced and certainly appreciate how that would be annoying. Please know that we will address this with our housekeeping staff. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Beautiful hotel with views of the Bay.
Had a wonderful stay. Beautiful hotel, friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Richard Wales, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing us, Mary. I am delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from berkely ca

Paper thin walls

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Noisy room, paper thin walls, noisy kids kept me up until after midnight
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Richard Wales, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the noise issues you experienced and can certainly understand the frustration that caused. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider giving us another try.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great blend of character and modern amenities.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
I enjoyed the casual sitting areas in areas like the bar to the history shown through the old hotel pictures.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Richard Wales, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing us, Gary. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Little off Center

Posted Sep 7, 2017
For the premium ratings I was not impressed, the room was clean however not many amenities and frankly boring. The biggest issue was the room floor was sloped 4" from the windows the door like the foundation was sinking. Not sure it's safe. room 574 Also the air never cooled the room below 76, stuffy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Richard Wales, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us, Scott. Candid guest feedback is critical to our improvement as a hotel, so we appreciate yours. The safety and security of our guests and colleagues is of utmost importance, and I can assure you that our building is safe and recently inspected and updated. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you will consider giving us another try.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
A good room with a desk and a great view. Reasonable but expensive restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Richard Wales, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!