Ratings based on 1,437 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
The bed is comfortable and the sheets are incredible; having an AC in Berkeley is a phenomenon and lovely, but you can literally hear everything. My upstairs people were talking about someone's landscaping they don't like at home. Every door slam , every dog, even the housekeeper in the utility closet is audible so bring earplugs. That said, it's friendly, quirky, and comfortable. Its the best hotel close to Cal. The drapes are great and it's nice that rooms have a little fridge. The restaurant was being remodeled so not sure about that. Again, the sheets are incredible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Great hotel. Only downfall is wifi doesn't work in all guest rooms
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated hotel with very average services

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Location to the university.
Cons: Updating required in the bathroom. Glasses rather than paper cups. Attention to the noise level. The front desk could have been more helpful.
Location: Location okay for restaurants and subway if you are willing to walk 15 to 30 minutes. Location to the university campus is great.
The room was outdated and services were average for the high price. Internet service was sketchy. We had construction workers banging above our room at 7:00. Paper cups are okay if you are in a low end hotel but not a hotel at this price. The room was not made up by 4:00 the next day and we never did see anyone to make up the room to provide fresh cups and coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great location for Cal Berkeley visits

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Nice hotel, not like your typical chain hotel. Great location if you're visiting Cal Berkeley. Also close to many tourist spots in Berkeley. You'll want to go elsewhere for breakfast, though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last stay at The Graduate

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We loved this place when it was the Hotel Durant. This time our check-in was twenty minutes late. We also woke up at 6:30am to demolition work in the restaurant. The manager hid from me, having staff members tell me he was not yet in despite my seeing him. He then told me he contacted Expedia to refund our third night but Expedia had no knowledge of this when I called to confirm. We will be staying elsewhere next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great Hotel Close to Campus!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Almost everything, it was a quick trip.
Cons: Parking.
We stayed here to see the Jack Johnson concert at Berkeley. It was a quick stay, but the Hotel was awesome and close to everything. We walked everywhere, with lots of good restaurants close by. We will be back!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from india

Posted Aug 24, 2017
The front desk team is very courteous and helpful specially the student category. The bathroom is very small indeed. They should definitely have a full day dining restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location if you are visiting the University.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
It was move-in weekend for Berkeley, you would have thought the hotel would be more prepared. It appeared they were short-staffed. The parking lot was sold out early but the staff did not know how to deal with all the angry people. Henry's bar has also changed hands. They were out of some alcohol and did not have any of the "traditional" Berkeley drinks on the menu. Also short staffed. All very disappointing. This place with the new management would be out of business if it weren't for the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Overnight in Berkeley

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Close into the main part of Berkeley.
Cons: Dining options.
Location: I was visiting relatives.
I just stayed the one night, and was prepared for Berkeley having lower standards for hotels because of the "charm", but was pleasantly surprised to find it every bit as comfortable and clean as any other 3 star and above hotel in modern cities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel with an "at home"feel

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: I loved the decor/homey room feel and the toiletries were very quality.
Cons: If anything, I would have liked a thicker comforter for the bed (though I never asked for one).
Location: Cafe Strada (one block away)-great coffee! Elmwood (district), Telegraph ave -art/shops, Sliver (downtown)- great pizza/beer, Venus- great Breakfast.
The Graduate Berkeley is in a great location - close to campus, downtown, elmwood, etc. The rooms are very clean and the decor give it a very homey feel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You can also rent bikes for free to get around town. There is a really nice coffee shop a block up called Cafe Strada -definitely check them out if you want a nice cup of coffee. Whenever I return to Berkeley, I will definitely stay here again.