Ratings based on 1,421 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Overnight in Berkeley

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Close into the main part of Berkeley.
Cons: Dining options.
Location: I was visiting relatives.
I just stayed the one night, and was prepared for Berkeley having lower standards for hotels because of the "charm", but was pleasantly surprised to find it every bit as comfortable and clean as any other 3 star and above hotel in modern cities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel with an "at home"feel

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: I loved the decor/homey room feel and the toiletries were very quality.
Cons: If anything, I would have liked a thicker comforter for the bed (though I never asked for one).
Location: Cafe Strada (one block away)-great coffee! Elmwood (district), Telegraph ave -art/shops, Sliver (downtown)- great pizza/beer, Venus- great Breakfast.
The Graduate Berkeley is in a great location - close to campus, downtown, elmwood, etc. The rooms are very clean and the decor give it a very homey feel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You can also rent bikes for free to get around town. There is a really nice coffee shop a block up called Cafe Strada -definitely check them out if you want a nice cup of coffee. Whenever I return to Berkeley, I will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Perfect location for any business at Cal Berkeley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel redone

Posted Jul 12, 2017
An old classic The Durant Hotel, located Berkeley one block south of the University as been sold and reopened as The Graduate. the theme is around vintage Berkeley. Eclectic with a sense of humor. Black and white photos, only time black dial phones fun. Beds comfortable, staff great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Cool, funky, and comfortable hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: As I noted above, just about everything!
Cons: The faucet in the main lobby's restroom operates by a sensor, but water does not come out easily (unless you place your hands right next to it).
Location: The hotel is located literally next to the main campus of UC Berkeley, but on a more quiet street from Telegraph, the main commercial street.
In every aspect, Graduate Berkeley was a perfect place to stay for exploring the city and campus of Berkeley. The room was clean and equipped with all the necessary amenities, furnished with comfortable beds and a couch, and decorated with quintessentially "Berkeley" art. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel's lounge is also tastefully decorated with a mixture of modern and vintage furniture, and comfortable couches. I also appreciated that the hotel placed a water dispenser (right next to the restroom), where I could get a quick cup of ice-cold water after returning from a walk around campus/city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Great Hotel!

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Perfectly charming, in every way. It's a pleasure to stay here whenever I'm in Berkeley; I won't look anywhere else from now on. Stayed here for a wedding this summer and was impressed. Returned for a concert at the Greek (within a short walking distance) and it was perfect again. The restaurant downstairs is great too...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business trip to U Cal Berkeley

Posted Jul 2, 2017
The hotel was very charming and unique. Bathroom was very small, but I guess that is part of the charm. Restaurant was convenient, but a little disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is very nice.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: We liked everything about the hotel
Cons: The on site parking was very expensive.
The hotel is very unique and hip. The room had great details in the interior design. The sheets and towels were top of the line. The bed was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great if you are visiting UC Berkeley

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, "the graduate" theme, location, the water in the lobby!
Cons: Cramped bathrooms could use renovation.
Location: UC Berkeley is one block, with lots of places to eat right around the hotel. Really great if you are visiting the univ.
One block from campus. A comfortable, clean hotel with pleasant staff. Plenty of places to eat right by the hotel. The only issue we had was that bathroom was very small and cramped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nephew stayed there in May.

Posted Jun 17, 2017
He said it was the coolest place he has ever stayed in. Very unique because it was originally a dorm or frat house.