Ratings based on 1,339 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Friendly and attentive staff.

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere of the hotel and restaurant along with the clean rooms and attentive friendly staff
Cons: some kind of valet service. maybe offer it at booking for an additional fee and utilize the parking garage across the street.
Location: didn't get a chance to leave the hotel during my brief stay.
was just there a short time for quick business trip, however will definitely use this hotel when in the area for future business and pleasure hotel needs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
It was a business trip, the hotel was efficient and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cupertino, CA

Excellent location, comfortable room

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Location, all the staff were great: bellman, front desk, restaurant/bar. We enjoyed the bar atmosphere too.
Cons: Key card system wasn't great. Key needed for elevator and room door. I had to swipe 5 or 6 times before it would work.
Location: Lots of restaurants in the downtown area - all within walking distance. Campus is also an easy walk.
We were in Berkeley for 1 night to attend my daughter's gym competition at the Haas Pavilion early Sunday morning. We wanted someplace close/within walking distance to the venue and this location was perfect. Our room was a king room, so we needed a rollaway since there were 3 of us. Rollaway was brought quickly. Room was comfortable. Lots of storage/drawer space. One downside was no mini fridge in the room. We were on the 3rd floor in a street facing room. You could hear street noise, but things quieted down at night, so sleeping was not an issue. We had drinks in the bar Saturday night and breakfast in the restaurant Sunday morning. Both were good experiences. Staff were friendly and responsive and food/drinks were tasty! We dropped our bags at the curb to check in (helped by the bellman) and parked in the structure across the street. Overall, good experience and I would stay here again. One downside, the hotel does not have its own parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Coast

Great location!

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Really nice, if wild, decor. Bar and restaurant first rate.
Cons: No hotel-sponsored parking. There is a self-park garage across the street with good rates, but no in-and-out privileges.
Close to campus, the buzz of downtown Berkeley, Farmers market, and there is a BART station right across the corner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, CA

Close to campus

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Hotel staff was friendly, it looks like it was recently remodeled. It is a very old building so I was not expecting the rooms to be very big and they are not. A few things tho. The bathroom sink was a pedistile type but the bowl on top was not wide at all then you have a glass shelf right above the sink bowl then a mirror. If your like me and like to wash your face before bed, your going to have a problem. First you can't get your face over the sink or anywhere close to it without hitting your head or in my case my forehead on the edge of the glass shelf so you end up with water everywhere, I was so soaked. Then there is the question of in room dining. There is a menu of food items you can order from and times when they are available. We were running late for an event and rather than look for food on the run we thought we would order in and eat while we got ready. This was at 5pm on a Friday. The in room dining menu said they have lunch and dinner options till 11pm so I called and asked for room service and was transferred to a line that rang and rang, I got a message that I had reached the after hours line and if I wanted to leave a message someone would get back to me. I thought I was connected to the wrong line by mistake but when I called back I was transferred again to the same message. We decided to forget it and grab a bite elsewhere. When we passed the front desk on the way out I asked the clerk about what happen and he said room service closes at 530. What?!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Location. Not part of a big chain.
Requested change from King Bed & roll away to 2 double beds accommodated without fuss.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington state

Great location!! Close to UC Berkeley

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Loved this hotel! More like a boutique hotel with great rooms and amenities. The bed was smaller than we thought! Should have requested a larger bed size. Parking was a bit difficult in a garage across the street. Also avoid the lunch hour as the high school is very close and with an open campus the kids were everywhere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
I was well cared for the moment I entered the lobby. I was a half hour early, check in not till 3:00, I ordered a coffee and sat at table near the bar and when finished went to pay and the bartender said no change. How nice, I was the early one and yet they treated me to a coffee. I loved my room comfortable bed and complementary bath products I could use because they were not over perfumed. I had brunch on Sunday morning in hotel restaurant and really enjoyed it and I can be a bit of a food snob. I never spend that kind of money for a hotel room so it was a big treat for me, money well spent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pleasant hotel, useful location. Polite and helpful staff. Good bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Not enough shelf in bath room to put personal item, living room in the suite is big , but no tables to put things ior no chair to sit on , only a lover seat, room looks empty