Ratings based on 1,264 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff, no parking, poor a/c

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Great staff.
Cons: They need to add hotel parking and valet. Please allow guests to set the a/c to the temperature they want--should have been able to get 65 degrees.
Location: Great location.
Friendly, excellent, helpful staff. Unfortunately they do not have hotel parking or valet. Also, they do not allow you to set the thermostat below 67 degrees--and the rooms don't cool down well. The fitness room is tiny--not one treadmill and the only two cardio machines are ellipticals. For the price, I was disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los altos

Very hip, clean, convenient

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Fantastic boutique hotel! Stylish, hip, clean, convenient, affordable, nice restaurants near by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good quality hotel in the center of Berkeley

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Restaurant food options were a bit limited and at the higher end of the price scale
Location: Well positioned near the BART it is central in downtown and has easy access to the University and to many restaurants
A good quality hotel in a well renovated older building. Décor is bright and interesting. Front desk service is efficient. Room was spacious. Good block out curtains. Was reasonably quite despite being on a main road. Wifi was good. So all the important facilities were pretty good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The staff was extremely friendly and the room was perfect place to come back to after a long day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great hotel right in the middle of Berkeley

Posted Jun 4, 2017
I was able to get where I needed to go quickly and easily. Location was perfect. The hotel staff were polite and knowledgeable. The rooms were clean and comfortable and luxurious for the price. The restaurant and bar were full of activity during peak hours. Just a great hotel all around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, Ca

Surprise in Berkeley!

Posted May 29, 2017
We had never stayed in Berkeley and were a little apprehensive, knowing the area. The hotel, however, was beautiful and located conveniently. Although there is no hotel parking we managed to find a location on the street, which saved us a bit. The room itself was small, but clean, comfortable and tastefully done. We we're also pleasantly surprised with the sophisticated dinning room downstairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017
The Shattuck is my favorite Berkeley hotel. It's historical & also close to my daughter who is a student at the University.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Duego, CA

Weekend get away

Posted May 25, 2017
Beautiful hotel . Close to convenience stores and fun food spots as well as the Bart. Only Thing is parking is expensive during the week!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best at Berkeley

Posted May 13, 2017
This is probably the best hotel I have seen around UC Berkeley campus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2017
Air conditioning lowest setting was 67 degrees. A tiny too warm for me.