Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Was a bit worried when I saw it..but it was great

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: IT WAS EXCELLENT
I had spoken to Tish on the phone weeks before my arrival about parking and she was so lovely.I called to ask for an early check in and the staff were so accommodating. It was a great stay. It is located in a great place in the middle of Berkeley and was comfortable and clean. I would most definitely go back.The best thing above all was the staff....excellent and friendly. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Elizabeth, We love to accommodate! Thank you for your kind words for our whole staff. Your review means so much to us, and it is wonderful to receive recognition for our kind and lovely team here. Tish will be particularly excited to know that she could make a difference. When you are back in town, come see us again at the Knights Inn Berkeley!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice Cozy Hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: I loved the staff, they were welcoming and friendly. I loved the location.
Cons: Just the door for the bathroom was broken and would not close but that was no big deal.
Location: The North Berkeley station is up the street on Sacramento. University Ave has so many restaurants and the hotel was walking distance to all of them.
It was the perfect room with everything we needed. I liked that it only had a shower and the bathroom was big. They had HBO on the weekend premier of GoT so I will forever love this hotel lol
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jaime, We're so happy we were able to provide perfection, especially for such a pleasant guest and during such an important premiere! It's good to hear that our location was convenient and our staff helpful and friendly. Should your cable break down, please keep us and our HBO in mind for future stays.... after all, "Winter is coming" and we don't want you to miss a minute!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from coronado

Convenient for visiting uc berkeley

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Very comfortable room. Includes parking. Easy to get to UC Berkeley by bus or driving.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Shell, Thank you for choosing us on your recent visit to UC Berkeley. We are glad to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and at a great value. We look forward to seeing you again! Go Bears!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Close to BART station and Downtown Berkeley

Posted May 31, 2017
Cons: Parking is a little tight, but I have a small car so whatever.
Stayed here on the recommendation of my brother-in-law. Not bad at all. Was able to check-in 30 minutes before (made excellent time up to the bay area-- so I arrived earlier than expected.) This isn't the Hilton, but it's great for what it is and the price. My boyfriend and I were able to walk and explore Berkeley, and after a pleasant nap in our nice, clean room we we're able to walk to a BART station and venture into the city. 4 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Brendy, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and positive review with us regarding your recent stay at the Knights Inn Berkeley. We are glad that our team was able to accommodate your early arrival so that you could experience as much of the Bay Area as possible. Our convenient location to the attractions in Berkeley, as well as the easiness of commuting into San Francisco on the BART, brings guests back to our property again and again regardless of the purpose of their travel. We hope you took the opportunity to walk around the beautiful Berkeley Marina and enjoy some of our fantastic restaurants. Please join us again the next time you are in Berkeley.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mot bad

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
The room conditions are good, and very clean. Unfortunately that we booked during graduation ceremony so room rate is double than usual price. Breakfast is so limited comparing to their price.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017
We thank you for this helpful review. We're glad you arrived to a clean, comfy room and had an overall pleasant visit. Our room rates can fluctuate at any given time and we do apologize that your trip coincided with graduation time. We will take note of your comments on breakfast to better improve for the future, but hope you were still able to find suitable options. From the sounds of it, it looks like you had a great visit with us and we'd love to see you again. Please come back our way soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceeded my expectations

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Customer service was great. Rooms are very clean and the price is competitive
Location: CSUSB is nearby, perfect for graduations
Highly recommend, great customer service and centrally located
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Omar, Thank you for your recent review of Knights Inn Berkeley. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient. We pride ourselves on our customer service and we appreciate your recommendation and positive comments. It is also great to hear that you found our prices to be competitive and our value to be good. Please consider staying with us again the next time your find yourself in Berkeley, we would love to see you again. Thank you!
5 out of 5
by Heather

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here for a concert down the street. Looks sketchy on the outside but the room was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017
Dear Heather, Thank you for choosing Knights Inn for your stay in Berkeley and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We're glad that our comfortable accommodations made for a good base for your concert. We hope you had a blast, and please come again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Motel

Posted May 7, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I arrived very early so it was too early to check in, but he let me park my car so I could walk to Downtown. It is a 15 minutes walk to Shuttuk Ave. The room was nice and clean. Nice bed. I would come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-star review! We are pleased you enjoyed our convenient location and found the room to be clean and comfortable. We hope that our nice beds provided a great night's sleep and it is great to know that you will consider us for a return stay at Knights Inn Berkeley.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Parking is a catastrophe. Rooms are not well insulated meaning you hear everything. Location and price good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at our hotel. We are disappointed to hear that our services and accommodations did not meet your expectations. However, your feedback is very valuable to us as we target areas for future improvement. Providing our guests with a relaxing and restful place to stay is our utmost priority, and we are saddened to hear that we were unable to do so for you. We also apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay finding adequate parking. It is nice to hear that despite some of these inconveniences, you still found the location and value to good. We hope you will consider staying with us again and witness all of the ways in which we have improved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Good value with easy access to UC Berkeley

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Friendly, clean, convenient.
Location: UC Berkeley and Berkeley.
Updated/refreshed room furnishings and bathroom, in-room coffee, microwave and refrigerator helpful for an extended stay. Free parking a big plus! The grab-and-go breakfast is very basic; we brought our own food to supplement (oatmeal cups, fresh fruit). Our room didn't have a closet, just a heavy-duty rack off the wall near the sink area. There was a folding suitcase stand and bureau drawers, which we didn't use since we only stayed one night. But if you need to hang clothes, this could be a nuisance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sue, We're so glad that you took the time to let us know about your most recent stay. We're really happy to hear that you're enjoying the updated feel of our property. Opinions from our guests mean the world to us. We'd love the opportunity to host you again should travel bring you back to our area. Thanks again for sharing!