Ratings based on 1,032 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Good place right in Berkeley, moderately priced

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Stay here once a year. All that I’m looking for when it’s not a business trip. Good breakfast, plenty of parking, quiet, good bed. Only complaint: no ESPN.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by Matt, Hotel Management
Arne, Thank you for your time and your thoughts about your recent stay, we are currently in the process of updating our television programming. We hope to have this done soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Valley Center, ca

Nice hotel close to everything.

Posted Jan 21, 2018
You are about two miles straight down the street from the University of Berkeley. Just two blocks from the bridge that goes to Treasure Island and San Francisco. Lots of places to eat nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

2nd time stay

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Clean room, good breakfast, free parking, nice area, i will come back in this place again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Matt, Hotel Management
Cipriano, Thank you, we look forward to having you back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

No hot water in the shower and got double charged

Posted Jan 13, 2018
I have to wait for long time, because the gustes before me can't decide which room they want. Can't take shower in the morning, because no hot water. Lastly, they charged me twice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Matt, Hotel Management
Dear Wendy, Yes the boiler issue was unfortunate, but thankfully all of the parts were installed and have a perfectly working boiler again. If there was a mistake in the billing please call me and I would be happy to take a look at it for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Interesting & Affordable Place nr. Berkeley Marina

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Both the lobby and rooms are spacious. They have a nice pool if you stay there in late summer. Also nice that you don't have to go out for breakfast.
Cons: There was no running hot water, which a number of people staying there were upset about.
Location: No view of the Berkeley marina but LaQuinta is walking distance from Spenger's Fish Grotto and a number of interesting looking places 'downtown'.
The La Quinta staff were quite accommodating and while the hotel's not near the UC Berkeley campus, they helped me get to public transit, which is convenient & accessible Mon. - Sat. They serve a full breakfast and the lobby's very spacious and comfortable. The other motels along University Avenue seemed a bit cramped in comparison. Recommend that people who stay there on a weekend save room for brunch and go to Spenger's Fish Grotto on Sunday. All in all quite a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ukiah CA

Nice stay

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Clean hotel and room. Comfortable bed. Safe convenient parking. Hot buffet breakfast with poor quality hot food. Too bad the food isn't as good as the rest of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Posted Dec 18, 2017
My room was perfect -- comfy bed and extremely quiet, even though I overlooked University Avenue.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Nice room, not so great area - front staff cold

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Good size room and it was clean and quiet.
Cons: See above
Location: Sketchy neighborhood. No restaurants and a small convenience store about 4 blocks away. Easy access to freeways
Check in took too long. I had paid in advance but staff at check in said Expedia had a lot of boxes to check and told me to be patient as it could take awhile. Was not aware when I booked hotel that they would put a $50 credit hold on my credit card for "incedentials ". Early morning when I went to lobby heavy smell & smoke of marijuana was coming from front desk. Sketchy area for parking and homeless people in front of hotel and in parking lot. I stayed in December but only November TV guide available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Dejuan S., Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience at La Quinta Berkeley. Your satisfaction and continued trust in La Quinta Inn are our top priorities. I look forward to showing you that we’re working hard to make sure each visit meets your expectations and our high standards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fishing Trip

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Location, period.
Cons: Cleanliness, exterminate cockroaches.
Location: Fishing, restaurants.
Location was key to our decision to stay. We have stayed in La Quinta Hotels in the past & were pleased. We referred four other family friends to stay the same night. Upon arrival - all was fine with check in, both front desk attendants were very friendly & welcoming - probably the best part of our stay. Checked in, and after a 2 hour ride, needed restroom - NO toilet paper; was put in handicap room which was fine except, we had traffic noise early, late and early a.m. so no sleep. We were up at 4:00 a.m. to check out by 4:45 a.m. & did not have appropriate key to re enter back entrance, we were not given the right key, so we had to either wait or knock, or in one case knock on the window we were staying to to get my wife attention; so loading was a problem. Rooms looked clean, however, I could not sleep because I we were itching all night, then the worst part of our stay was in a.m., while we were getting dressed, we saw two cockroaches in our room, by the bed and refrigerator. Obviously we had to take precautions in containing our luggage in vehicle and when we got home. We sprayed and hopefully we will not have a problem but we should not have had to do this. Additionally, rest assured, If we had seen the cockroaches before we went to bed, we would have not stayed. I do hope you call the exterminator, in any case, based on this review, you are now on notice to all other customers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking your time to let us know about your recent stay. We strive to make every stay pleasurable. We will definitely investigate this room, if you did tell the attendant when you checked out it would already have been called in, if not we will do so immediately. Thank you again and have a wonderful rest of your day.
4 out of 5
by ihsan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels