Ratings based on 928 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san pablo, ca

Nice hotel near concert

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pleased with my stay at Rodeway Inn and fantastic customer service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Room is small, dark. stuff is rude. And outside is noisy. Parking is safe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Not as good as it used to be

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Location, plenty of parking, refrigerator well away from bed so noise doesn't disturb sleep
Cons: Rooms should have coffee makers, safes, bedside clocks, and hand-held showers. A free daily paper would be good too.
Location: Closest hotel to North Berkeley BART, about halfway between Marina and UCB
I have stayed at this hotel several times while visiting Berkeley. It is near where I want to be (not UCB as it happens) and it was inexpensive. Hoiwever the prices have gone up and the quality has deteriorated over time, especially relative to others. Most inns of this type have a coffee maker and a safe in each room: the Rodeway has neither. They also seem to have been cutting corners on amenities and maintenance. Every time I fired up my laptop I had to log in to the Internet again: it is just as easy to set it up with a password the laptop can store so that this isn't necessary. Front desk staff are polite and friendly, but don't actually follow through. Next time I will stay somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from la CA

Nice stay

Posted Nov 6, 2017
The manager David was extremely nice and very hospitable a clean hotel and very close to Berkeley University which was Our intention I will definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Reasonably priced hotel in Berkeley

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Cons: Shampoo the carpets!
We stayed here before in 2015. This time we also liked the room. An older hotel that is nicely updated. It was clean, and the bed was comfortable, EXCEPT that the carpets were kind of soiled, and especially so near the entrance door. I used flip-flops so as to not need to step on that carpet. It needs to be replaced, or shampooed more often. For the same price range I would stay at the Super 8, which is nearby on the same street, with about the same sized room and age of hotel, but the carpets are cleaner! Also, the breakfast here was super meager. It is also simple at the Super 8, but has a few more options and a tad more space to sit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Good stay but with sink was super clogged. Kinda gross. But everything else was comfortable and clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Convenient

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Quiet and convenient
Cons: Space for breakfast
Location: Five minute walk to BART station (20 minutes and $4.10 to Embarcadero in SF)
Close to BART station so easy to get into San Francisco, many food opportunities on University Ave
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu HI

Good layover hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2017
This hotel is good if you need someplace to layover while visiting the University of California. Location is good and lots of things to see and places to eat.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Dirty Hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: Cleanliness, the beds, the bathroom, the carpet, the walls, everything.
Location: Location was OK.
I'm not sure if the people who have rated this hotel highly are in a sound frame of mind... firstly it was very dirty and had food / drink splashed all over the walls along with dust and grime that could not have been cleaned for a very long time. There were also some unsavory guests that seem to live at the hotel that were very rude. Breakfast was a total joke as well. Would not recommend this place to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Very good location which close north Berkeley station and helpful friendly staff. Basic breakfast include, microwave and refrigerator in room.