Ratings based on 699 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sf Bay Area

Good location everything else was terrible

Posted Aug 3, 2017
When we got to our room we noticed that the pillow cases had drool stains and I immediately called the front desk to ask for them to be changed. I got back to the hotel at midnight and they weren't changed so we ended up using shirts to cover them. In front of our room was covered with cigarette ash and butts and the buildings are in dire need of renovation. In the morning I could hear every time someone turned on their water because the pipes in the wall were very loud and the building creaks. Everything posted said checkout was at 12pm; sign at the parking lot, on expedia's website, and the paper I signed during check-in. The guy at the front desk tried to give me a hard time when I checked out at noon and said that it was at 11. I told him what I signed said 12 and he pulled out the paper that now had 12 crossed out and written in 11! I couldn't believe the audacity. I'm not a tourist, you can't play me for extra money...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Old

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Location with many restaurants in the area
Cons: Everything
Location: Good with many restaurants close by
If you like old fashioned this the place for you. Bedrooms badly in need of replacing. Expensive for what it is!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
Hi there, thank you for your review and your feedback about the bedroom. Please know that we are always making improvements and will keep this in mind and make changes. Thanks again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

2 rooms give vastly different experiences

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: The last room had functioning plumbing and a very pleasant experience. Good location - close to my work destination so expect to stay frequently
Cons: They must be so busy that they can get away with terrible service
Location: Walk to Starbucks, Whole Foods, good restaurants, UBER LYFT familiar 10 blks to BART
The first night was in a room where the toilet tank did not refill, so had to fiddle with the plumbing to get it fill and flush. This experience was similar to a stay that I had a few months previous where the plumbing was in serious need of replacement and modernization. Because of the proximity to my work location, I will have no choice but to stay here again. I sent an email to the hotel hoping to retrieve my iPhone charger in the evening of the same day where I had checked out in the morning. Still no reply almost 5 days now, so no hope of retrieving a left item and worse no reply. Servce level not at the level I am accustomed to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize that you had a great a poor stay with us and had some plumbing issues in your bathroom. This is most unusual and most unfortunate.and we do apologize. We are also sorry to hear that you left an item here and our management team will reply to your email as soon as possible. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ojai Ca

Made up for my initial disappointment

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: It s quaint and close to the campus.
Cons: Breakfast. Some rooms are not in good condition. Lots and lots of homeless people all around Berkeley.
Location: UC Berkeley, retaurants, Pette's coffee, bookstores, shops...
When we first arrived the room was not ready. I highly recommend to call in advance and request early check in. The room had a kimg size bed and a "sofa bed." The sofa bed was in bad shape; my son had difficulty falling asleep since the mattress was uneven. The TV and refrigerator were not working either. I asked for extra sheets for the sofa bed, and we never got them. The next day I spoke to the desk manager. They were very apologetic and we immediately got another room. It was a huge improvement, with two double beds and a third single bed. The brekfast was mediocre but if you are hungry may be ok. (The resident cat came around, and I fed her simce she was very skinny. I had to ask the staff to refill her food. I liked the free parking, and not having to worry about finding parking around Berkeley which is impossible. The campus is about a half mile from the hotel which made it all worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your detailed review, we are very sorry that your original room was a disappointment however we are delighted that we were able to offer you a more suitable room which met your expectation. We apologize again for this inconvenience. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in future. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento Ca

Close to good ethnic restaurants.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Friends staff, 24-hour cookies and ccoffee available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
It was our pleasure to be your host on your recent visit. Thank you for your review, and in particular for mentioning our staff, who always try to take the very best possible care of our guests. We are happy that everything was to your liking, and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Best Wishes, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torrance

Nice jotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Nice place. Clean, cozy, location was great. Easy access to BART and SF area and Berkeley university. Only negative is no AC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5-star review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I look forward to sharing your kind words with our team, and hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

Calm, pleasant oasis on Telegraph Avenue

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Really nice courtyard, garden, and lobby. A nice place to come 'home' to. A reasonable walk to campus, or a very short bus ride.
Cons: Our room was rather small, and the lighting was barely passable.
Given the bustle and intensity of most lodging in Berkeley, this is a beautiful retreat-like place to re-charge. The gardens and extensive inner courtyard were great for relaxing reading and paper work. This came in extra handy on our last day. After check-out we had a few hours to wait for our flight home, and the staff warmly allowed us to relax in the serene courtyard. The cookie jar in the lobby was a nice touch too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are delighted that we were able to offer you a comfortable and relaxing place to stay during your recent trip. We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed our gardens and courtyard! Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it very much. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way over hyped

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing to like about the hotel. I bought because it had reasonable ratings, was a three star hotel. And others were much more expensive
Cons: Needs a total remodel of rooms and common spaces and an upgrade of its staff.
Location: Not much near by. Local high school was half a block away. Not much for restaurants. Avoid the Burmese restaurant down the street
This hotel is a beat up collection of houses connected by a common back yard patio near Berkley. It is run down. Room smelled of disinfectant. Staff was pleasant but distracted and poorly dressed. Narrow external stairs to many of the rooms. Stairs were would framed with chipped and missing exterior tiling. Overall would view as an average 2 star. No way does this deserve a 3 star rating. If all you are looking for is price than go ahead and take your chances. The only reason for its continued survival is the limited hotel options in the Berkley area! Go anywhere else even Air BnB and pay for the taxi into Berkley. You will be much happier.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear that our hotel did not appeal to you, and that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable, great value accommodation in this area, and we are sorry that our offering was not suitable for your needs. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we appreciate your business. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to grand daughter who attends CAL.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Quaint, quiet
Cons: Room need a little TLC. Clean rugs, repair broken items, i.e. lamp shades, door viewing port had a wad of paper filling it, apparently it was broken.
Location: Plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance.
Breakfast was good. Agent doubled billed us for the room. We paid in advance through Expedia but the agent put a charge through on my credit card. I called and he said it was his error and would be corrected in about three days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that there was a billing error made on your account, but we trust that this has been rectified at this point. We do occupy an older building, but we work very hard to maintain and clean it to the very highest possible standard, and we hope that you found this to be the case. We would love to welcome you back when you are next visiting your granddaughter. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rose garden

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Room not ready at check-in time. Hotel in severe disrepair. Parking very limited. Would not return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we really appreciate it. We are sorry that your room was not ready at check-in time; although we try to have all rooms ready at this time, occasionally housekeeping issues can cause a delay in some rooms. We do occupy an older building, but we work very hard to maintain and clean it to the very highest possible standard, and we hope that you found this to be the case. Thank you again for your feedback, we appreciate it very much. Best wishes, Hotel Management