Ratings based on 724 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Del Mar, CA

good value, convenient location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: good value for the price and convenient locations
Cons: work on deferred maintenance issues
Location: close drive to UC Berkeley and surrounds
needs some deferred maintenance and breakfasts were ok but not great
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The gardens were very nice.
Cons: The buildings need to be maintained.
Location: I didn't stay long enough to explore the area.
I spent one night at the hotel on my recent visit to Berkeley. I was scheduled to stay 4 days, but left after the first night. While the lobby was decent, the room left something to be desired. The sheets were clean, but the carpet had stains, the bathroom door had paint flaking off, and the baseboard in the bathroom looked like something had been chewing on it. It doesn't appear that the room had been maintained for years. The breakfast was typical of free hotel breakfasts. The front desk staff was polite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience during your recent stay with us. Our maintenance and housekeeping teams have been alerted to your comments and they will ensure that the issues highlighted will be addressed. We hope that you will give us another chance to impress you during your next visit to this area. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Not Recommended

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The public areas were a little better kept up. They had newspapers available. Breakfast acceptable.
Cons: Judging by my room, the rooms in the building I was in need a complete overhaul by professional tradespeople.
This hotel might be quaint in a third world country. In Berkeley, not acceptable. My room was cramped and hot. The ceiling fan did not help much because, even with windows open, there was no cross ventilation. I had to leave the windows open all night, and my room overlooked a noisy street. One window had no screen. My room was poorly appointed: poor paint job, ugly carpet, worn bathtub. Some wiring was not up to code!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that the age of our building was so off-putting to you; many of our guests like the charm that our property has, particularly when compared with newer, more modern hotels, which can all look very similar to one another. We don't have air conditioning, and we are sorry that you did not like the pattern on our carpets. It is a real shame that our hotel was not better suited to your expectations. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Had stayed before and it was ok so thought I'd give it a try again with not much higher expectations. Was happy to have my past experience erased: instead of a tired old inn it was one with more energy and more interest in taking care of the customer. Would definitely go back without hesitation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
It pleases us so much to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay at our property! We strive to provide guests with the most comfortable accommodations and are always thrilled when we exceed expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we are now your hotel of choice in this area, and we will strive to remain deserving of that status. We look forward to hosting you next time! Best wishes, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

A Convenient location close to UC Berkeley

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: It is close to UC Berkeley, and you can walk to campus from the hotel.
Cons: Parking!! There are only about 10 parking spots behind the hotel. I had a parking spot, not sure of where one would park if they do not find a spot
Location: Downtown Berkeley is a quick 15 minute walk, and also you can get to multiple BART stations.
The Rose Garden Inn: Check-In: Is only at 3 PM. So if by chance you show up early, you may have to wait. Its not that they don't want you to check in early, they just have to wait until the rooms are cleaned and available. Rooms: The Rooms are comfortable and clean. The curtains and carpets look old, but they are clean. My room even had a working gas fireplace and when it got real cold late at night, I just was able to turn it on with the flick of a switch. Soaps, and other amenities inside the room were plenty. Site: Note that rooms are spread out in smaller different buildings on the property. The buildings themselves are mostly two level, and you may find yourself having to carry your luggage up. The areas between the buildings are very well maintained. The building themselves are very old, and add to the uniqueness of the property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are delighted that our unique property appealed to you so much, and that you loved your stay with us. We appreciate your detailed review, which will be useful for any potential guest who is considering staying with us. Thank you sincerely, and we hope to welcome you back when you are next in town! Best wishes, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

natural and comfort.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: value for money.
nice garden view, natural room facility, available parking as well that is much important for us, also breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy that our hotel met your needs so well, and that you enjoyed your stay so much. We hope to be your hotel of choice in this area for future visits! Best wishes, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Comfortable boutique hotel right in Berkeley

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Clean and comfortable right near the campus. This room with two twin beds and a queen was very spacious. Only drawback is parking if you return to the hotel later in the evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review and your perfect rating. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and we hope to welcome you back the next time you're in town! Best wishes, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Nice and beautiful place. Will definitely recommend to friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and your perfect rating. It sounds as if our hotel was a great match for your needs, and we are pleased that you were so happy with all aspects of your stay. Thank you for your recommendation, we can't wait to welcome you back! Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington

Bed bugs

Posted Aug 19, 2017
The hotel is completely infested with bed bugs. Most disgusting place I've ever stayed. The hotel staff knows and continues to rent out the infested rooms. Stay away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We take instances of bed bugs very seriously. Our property is cleaned thoroughly, but bedbugs can enter a room very easily on a guest's luggage. Our pest control partners have examined and treated all of our rooms, and we are confident that this issue is now resolved. Thank you for your feedback. We are confident that you will have a better stay should you visit us again. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sf Bay Area

Good location everything else was terrible

Posted Aug 3, 2017
When we got to our room we noticed that the pillow cases had drool stains and I immediately called the front desk to ask for them to be changed. I got back to the hotel at midnight and they weren't changed so we ended up using shirts to cover them. In front of our room was covered with cigarette ash and butts and the buildings are in dire need of renovation. In the morning I could hear every time someone turned on their water because the pipes in the wall were very loud and the building creaks. Everything posted said checkout was at 12pm; sign at the parking lot, on expedia's website, and the paper I signed during check-in. The guy at the front desk tried to give me a hard time when I checked out at noon and said that it was at 11. I told him what I signed said 12 and he pulled out the paper that now had 12 crossed out and written in 11! I couldn't believe the audacity. I'm not a tourist, you can't play me for extra money...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize for the poor experience that you seem to have had at our hotel, and for the lack of hospitality that you received at check out. We are discussing your review with our entire team to ensure that all aspects of our product and service are improved for future guests. Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate it. Best wishes, Hotel Management