Ratings based on 1,618 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Reasonable hotel in Berkeley

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The bathroom. Quiet. Off street parking.
Cons: The principal manager was a bit stern. He acted like you were putting him out if you asked him for anything. Not very welcoming.
A 4 night stay. An older hotel, but adequately updated, especially in the bathroom, which was modern and not cramped as in many older hotel remodels. The staff that checked us in and the cleaning person were all pleasant to deal with. The manager was not so friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Goog price & value for the Berkeley area.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
We had a very pleasant experience. The place is very comfortable & quiet. It is close to the University.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Staff refused to offer me an extra towel in a blunt cold and almost rude manner
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Customer service is a key focus of ours, so it's disappointing to hear that you did not receive our usual level of hospitality. We apologize for the fact that your request was not dealt with appropriately, and we would love another opportunity to give you a fantastic stay with us in the future. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK for a short stay

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Convenient, safe location and comfortable room. The staff is grumpy and does not seem to like his job. Breakfast is simple and just OK.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, and thank you for your review. It sounds as if our property was a great fit for your needs, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your comfortable room. We are less pleased that our staff did not provide their usual friendly, professional service, and we apologize sincerely for this. We would love you to receive our usual level of hospitality on a future occasion. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Matches its price.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
I arrived a little bit late, and front desk staff was unfriendly. A MOTEL is supposed to be able to accommodate guests latenight. Hotel and Room were both clean enough, but the pillows and blankets were humid, plus the pillows are too soft. It gave me and would give anyone a rough sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Your experience does not describe the type of hospitality that we want to provide for our guests at all. We apologize for any rudeness that was aimed towards you, and we are sorry that you did not have a wonderful impression of our service. We are pleased that you found your room to be clean, although it is a pity that our pillows were not to your liking. We appreciate your business and your feedback, and we would love to welcome you back for better service and a better rest in the future. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, Ca

good location for a reasonable price -

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: The upgrades to the bathroom were nicely done, it was clean and the bed and pillows are comfy.
Location: Cal State Berkeley is nearby and the Greek Theater is the best concert venue in the Bay Area. Good food abounds in the area as well.
We were here for a show at the Greek and it was great since we only paid $8 for an uber to the show and grabbed a ride back with Lyft for $14 as Uber was price gouging after the show. There is a Trader Joes about 2 blocks away and Nations Giant Burgers which is open late and has great breakfasts as well. Overall I would stay here again, not as a vacation, but for an overnighter in Berkeley it was a great find. The rooms are comfy, there is a fridge and microwave so you can bring your beers and snacks! There are no hotel amenites as far as pool or hot tub or views, so for a short stay it was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are pleased that our hotel suited your accommodation needs for your short stay in Berkeley, and that you consider our property to be a great find. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next staying in this area. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden jewel in dynamic area

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Lovely staff, exceptionally clean and cozy rooms. Only flaw was mad dumpidumping ammonia in the parking lot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by aman, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We are glad to see that you found our place to be perfect for your needs. Please do let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your stay even better. We sincerely hope to welcome you back again next time you visit the area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very very rude and unprofessional staff.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Front desk people are very very rude and aggressive... the worst experience in my life. Overall very bad place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Your experience does not describe the type of hospitality that we want to provide for our guests at all. We apologize for any rudeness that was aimed towards you, and we are sorry that you did not have a wonderful impression of our service. We appreciate your business and your feedback, and we would love to welcome you back for better service in the future. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, quiet, upgraded room.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
We enjoyed our stay, Trader Joes nearby and a few restaurants to choose from within walking distance. Breakfast lacked luster, not much to choose from, presentation poor. We ate a great breakfast at Nations down the street. Overall pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us, but we are sorry that you were disappointed by our breakfast offering. We appreciate your feedback and will take your comments into consideration when we next update our breakfast menu. We are delighted that everything else in and around the hotel met your expectations. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels