Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from The Wirral

Quiet hotel about 2 miles from Reading Station

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Quiet. Good breakfast. Reasonable price.
Cons: The rooms (not the bathroom which was good) need a spruce up, particularly the bed linen.
Location: The hotel is two miles walk from reading station. We got there late so not sure about local things to do.
We needed a place for one night near Reading Station. We picked The Beech because of the positive reviews. The hotel is quiet and the staff were friendly. The shower was great and the rooms were fine. If I was being picky the bed linen could do with an update. Perhaps duvets rather than blanket and sheets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for an overnight stay

Posted May 29, 2014
Pleasant greeting on arrival. No bar or restaurant. Room cold at night but comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breakfasts

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Very clean and lovely building and garden.
Cons: Needs to improve quality of breakfast food. Yuck to plastic sliced bread and poor quality sausages. Source food locally - more quality ingredients.
Ok but see comments regarding breakfasts. The room was clean and as described.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by edward from Essex

Nice Hotel

Posted May 5, 2014
Nice period features here, room 2 was small but functional, bed was too hard for our liking but doesn't take anything away from the experience. Breakfast was good and plenty to eat. Would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenny from murat

A very pleasant stay

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Apart from the superb staff I especially liked the named products available at Beech House. From the toiletries and items on the room hospitality tray
As a woman travelling alone the staff made my stay very comfortable, relaxing and safe. All the Staff were very attentive and helpful. My room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble :-)
Cons: All perfect. Could'nt ask for more!
Location: Great shopping.
Nice room. Excellent service, great location. Very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near City Centre

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Friendly, central, helpful staff, comfortable.
Cons: Without building new rooms to be honest theres not much that can be done, its fine as it is, I have stayed in much worse '4 star' hotels costing more.
Location: Not familiar with the area, a one off visit so far.
Reasonable price and comfortable room, better than basic, for a three star, a lot better than expected, and the service from all the staff was not just eager, but sincere, they are nice people, we don't get to Reading often but we hope this hotel and the owners do ok and are there for us next time we need to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Al

Great, clean, friendly hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2013
Pros: Quiet clean room
Cons: No porridge (or understanding what it was unfortunately)
Location: Nice location outside town centre
Lovely hotel, very friendly staff but (picky as it sounds) some porridge at breakfast would have been nice on the morning of the half marathon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from west sussex

Good for the price

Posted Nov 21, 2011
This hotel was very nice, it had everything you need. Bathroom had a slight damp smell, but being windowless i suppose that is to be expected. Staff were helpful and polite. Cooked breakfast is a little small if you have a healthy appetite. Overall we were satisfied
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

english atmosphere

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: gestione e atmosfera
Location: lievemente fuori dal centro, ma ben servito
piacevolissimi alloggi in tipica costruzione inglese. Atmospera famigliare ma estremamente professionale. Colazione imperiale