Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Needs a few tweaks

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Convenient
Hotel OK but room could be better. Why not put a proper hair dryer in instead of the old fashioned and totally ineffective automatic one in the bathroom. Room not big enough for the 2 single beds. A small double would have worked better. The position of them meant you could not see the TV from either. On the plus side, good internet which was free and nice biscuits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from n wales

nice hotel ideal for west reading

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Iove the Calcot Hotel, conveniently located our room was comfy and pleasant. Restaurant was nice and lots of character to the whole establishment.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reading over stay

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Room was ok when arrived but abit out dated and few cracks in bathroom . Livid that I left my expensive mirror by accident and rang up they said it wasn't there when I left it on the side so someone in the hotel clearly stole it such horrible people in this world it was expensive and a present from last Christmas as someone needed to steal it will NEVER go back it's put me off completely. !!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good breakfast

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel a bit dated but the breakfast was very good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Yuk

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Very run down grotty place, my room had a whacking great step on the other side of the door. There is a sign about the step but this tired traveller didn't notice it and fell headfirst into the room, spraining my ankle! Not the best start to the trip. The room was tiny and a weird shape which gave me a headache and I found a discarded pair of men's underpants by the bed! Classy.....oh and nine pounds for a greasy breakfast which was almost as rancid as the pants? Really??
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff, warm room.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Close to local shops and central Reading
I had room 3, a room with two single beds. Very clean and comfy. I prefer a room with a bath but find not many have them any more so the shower was fine. Road noise was faint - ok for everyone with a normal sleep pattern. The only slight critisism I would say is there is a step into the shower room which is a similar colour to the carpet. Directly opposite that step is a galss shelf abouve the sink which i just missed when I feel up the step. It might be a good idea for the hotel to highlight the step or put a notice up...other than that a very nice place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic room really too small

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Off busy road very difficult to turn into and get out off
Not good value for rates they charge perhaps if breakfast included would be better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable and ideally located.

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed in room 24 and it was really comfortable, clean and well presented. Staff were very helpful at check in, around the hotel and at the bar. I didn't eat in the restaurant and opted for the £8.95 in room continental option. Very carb heavy, but ok. On the whole a lovely hotel. I would stay again if visiting the same area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and cheerful.

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Hot and stuffy room with noisy plumbing but comfy and clean bed/bathroom. Other friends staying had mixed feedback so it's a bit of a lottery with rooms.