Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Reach out and touch Windsor castle.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Read all for best advice on this hotel, your be glad you did... Well is it worth the money maybe not, but the location exceptional. Used to eat here when lived in England when it was a steak house, hotel. Clarion has updated the down stairs area, pretty and classy. Rooms obviously not fresh and modern, but it's old and has that character feel. Staff top points. Only ate here one evening, not impressed, bring back the steak house vibe I would say. Area fantastic for restaurants, shops and train. Pretty parks a walk away to Thames. So yes I would pay again to stay here...but BEWARE please when they offer help with luggage to room say YES if not ASK Lift only takes you part of way, from there many up stairs, down stairs, tiny hallways....nightmare was only on 1st floor. No parking at hotel. Drop off can be difficult, but there is parking v.close.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Very close to the castle

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Excellent value for money. Well worth a visit.. Hotel staff friendly. Meals tasty. Rooms tidy Bed comfy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel opposite the castle

Posted Mar 2, 2017
A nice hotel in the middle of Windsor, The Hotel was nice enough and the staff were very polite and seemed happy to be there... The Breakfast was good and so was the evening meal.. The Bar area isn't very inviting for a nice drink it seems to be in the wrong place too me... But on the whole I had a nice trip there and I would certainly use the hotel if I ever stay in Windsor again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel opposite Windsor castle

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Great location for Windsor town centre and visiting castle. Room was large compared to other hotels, and clean. Buffet Breakfast was great, lots to chose from and very reasonable. Would definitely stay there again. I didn't use spa facilities so cannot comment on them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Excellent hotel opposite castle

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We had a fabulous stay in Windsor. 5 min walk from station, opposite castle and in the middle of shops and restaurants. Hotel was quiet, comfortable and classic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very central and ideal for my work commitments

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Central to where I was working
Cons: Décor could be updated.
Location: Very near Windsor attractions and across the road from Windsor Castle.
This is an older hotel situated centrally to Windsor, very near both BR Stations. Staff were helpful and cleanliness was good. A single room is a little cramped but adequate. Room décor is dated and needs attention. Overall a pleasant stay and would recommend for business people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Windsor Royal Shopping Adjacent

Posted Dec 31, 2016
We stayed for one night after Christmas. Afternoon tea was amazing! Hotel staff were very courteous and helpful with baggage. Room was spacious and clean. Nice heated towel rack in bathroom. Very comfy bed with warm bedding. Able to crack windows open for air. Only negative: didn't realize we would be put in the building behind the spa. Two flights of stairs, no lift. Many positives including location across from Windsor castle and next to high end shopping with many cafés.
5 out of 5
by Leanne

Easy to stay here again and again

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from berkshire

Good location

Posted Dec 11, 2016
I stayed at the Harte and Garter for one evening following a party in Windsor. I stayed in a single room which was very compact but clean and comfortable. had a good deal on the room rate £69.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Overall the room size and comfort was good. The towel rack in the bathroom was broken which I wonder was on purpose so guests could not dry their hand washing.A friend stayed ashere well and their towel rack was also broken! On our departure early Wednesday 30th November 2016 the staff member was unable to give us an invoice for our 4 night stay as well as 2 rooms I booked for family for 1 night stays.He took my email address but as yet no invoice. There is no direct email details on their website which is inconvenient.