Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

nice little hotel opposite windsor castle.

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: situation and cleanliness
Cons: check in staff could be a little bit more friendlier and helpful.
Location: lovely village of windsor nice shopping area too.
Stayed room only which was nice and cosy. Clean and tidy . Did not eat at hotel, but the bistro was packed when we tried to get a drink at the bar. overall a nice little hotel base
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire, England

Excellent location and pleasant staff

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Central location, pleasant and efficient staff and comfortable room.
Cons: Needs updating sensitively without losing ambience and "old-world"/ Victorian charm.
Location: Excellent location next to castle, shops, bus stops and central railway station. Parks and river (for river trips) within easy walking distance.
This was a long week-end away (3 nights) for two sisters as a birthday treat to break up the wet, miserable winter of 2015/16. As the "birthday girl" had never visited Windsor Castle before, we chose this location; the hotel was directly opposite the castle. The hotel has no car park but, on arrival, we were able to park outside to check-in and drop off our bags and the staff recommended the most economical place to park. We had booked a deal on-line which was room only. Breakfast was advertised at £14.99 online, which seemed rather expensive but, on arrival, we were charged only £10 pp per day so booked for each morning. The breakfast buffet was comprehensive but average. We had one dinner in the hotel which was pleasant. House wines were reasonable but others were pricey. The room was a spacious twin with a large shower room and always lots of hot water; it was clean and comfortable and the temperature easily adjusted. Lifts were installed but many bedrooms were accessed through long corridors with fire doors and occasional steps (4-6), some steep and narrow, which might be a problem for some guests. There was a spa, which we didn't use.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, but wifi didn't work in rooms

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Location, nice staff
Cons: Wifi, lobby, bathrooms
This hotel has a great location directly across from Windsor castle and next to nice shopping. Lots of restaurant/pub choices nearby. The lobby is practically non-existent. A very small counter at the back of the entry way. No bell hop, although a truly lovely gentleman that I assumed worked for the hotel, helped us with our bags when we realized that there were more stairs than we anticipated. We had two rooms, one was larger than the other. Both were clean, but the bathrooms need a little updating. The beds were comfortable. The wifi did not work in either of our rooms, even after reporting the problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Emma from calgary

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
We were booked into a really sad tiny room with no view. Luckily there was a lot of building work going on right outside the window and the staff were excellent and happily gave us a free upgrade to a beautiful suite overlooking the castle. It changed the stay entirely. We would have been disappointed with the original room assigned to us. But the upgrade entirely changed the stay and made it well worth it. Be sure to get a castle view room. The back rooms are awful for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James from Richmond

Comfortable but noisy

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
We were put in the townhouse about 100 yards down the road, just off Peascod St. The room itself was neat, tidy, and comfortable. However, because we were right on the high street there was a lot of noise from rowdy revellers later on in the evening. There also seems to be an issue with their plumbing in that there was a loud noise whenever the room above flushed its toilet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lynn from Toronto Ontario Canada

Windsor Castle Visitors

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
Very helpful staff; made us feel welcome. New part of hotel (a separate building) nicely appointed and large spacious rooms. Easy to get to Heathrow
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr zentral gelegenes Hotel in Windsor

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Die Lage
Die Lage des Hotels ist sensationell. Genau gegenüber des Windsor Castles, mitten in der Stadt, den Geschäften. Die Zimmer sind teilweise wohl eher klein. Wir hatten das Glück in dem Nebengebäude untergebracht zu sein und genossen ein sehr schön renoviertes Zimmer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Buen hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Me dieron un cuarto con una entrada separada del lobby un poco incomoda aunque el cuarto estaba muy agradable y de muy buen tamaño. Mucho ruido en las calles que se oía mucho en el cuarto a altas horas de la noche. Senpodría mejorar el servicio en recepción.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Colin from Brighton

A pleasant night's stay

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
My first visit to Windsor. I only stayed one night (a Saturday) and I was slightly worried when I read about noise problems some guests had experienced. I was on the third floor and had a good night's sleep. There wasn't much a view from my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shelley from Leeds

Perfect location

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for one night in the annexe to the hotel which is situated around the corner. Lovely room and the hotel is situated in a perfect location. Wonderful stay.