Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely old hotel in A1 location

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: The view
Cons: Bed size and shower
Location: Great location for historic Windsor. Castle opposite, central railway station 2 min walk.
Nice reception welcome and checkout experience. It's a very old historic building so it is what it is. A bit dated in places but okay. Room nice and spacious (booked superior room) with balcony overlooking the castle - super! A standard small 4' 6" double bed the only real let down, a 5' King is the minimum standard one would expect in a hotel these days. Nice modern bathroom although shower a bit dodgy, needed a new or descaled head, shame.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Fantastic location close to the castle and central

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Booked 2 single rooms expecting a small room with a single bed, but both rooms had a double bed with ample room.
Cons: Breakfast was fairly standard, would be nice to have more choice, particularly fried eggs, small issue!
Location: Catstl opposite, plenty of shops and restaurants, Thames river a small walk and Eton school a lovely sight.
One night stay visiting several attractions in the area. Lovely bedrooms really reasonable expected a small single room but surprised to find a double bed with loads of room. Walked around the shops, had a drink on the bar lovely atmosphere and had a meal at a nearby restaurant, walked around Eaton school and across the bridge over The Thames.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice enough for a night or two.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Literally 50 yards from Windsor castle. I just booked a single for one night so my room was at the back of the hotel and only adequate. I would imagine there are some lovely rooms with great views in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel across the street from Windsor Castle.

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: The polite, helpful staff as well as the car and driver who took me to the airport. I also love the food in the restaurant.
Cons: The mattress became almost unbearable. I had to sleep on the pillows.
Location: The hotel is across the street from Windsor Castle, plus there are many, many shops, pubs, and restaurants nearby as well as the Thame River.
The hotel is historic and has an interesting story. The staff was efficient and extremely helpful. I'm a senior citizen women traveling alone and had a single room. The room was very clean and my only concern was the bathtub which was difficult to enter and exit for a senior but otherwise fine. Loved the thick, white towels. The mattress had uncomfortable springs which bothered my back, but again I'm a senior citizen. The food in the restaurant was reasonably priced and absolutely fabulous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Reach out and touch Windsor castle.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Read all for best advice on this hotel, your be glad you did... Well is it worth the money maybe not, but the location exceptional. Used to eat here when lived in England when it was a steak house, hotel. Clarion has updated the down stairs area, pretty and classy. Rooms obviously not fresh and modern, but it's old and has that character feel. Staff top points. Only ate here one evening, not impressed, bring back the steak house vibe I would say. Area fantastic for restaurants, shops and train. Pretty parks a walk away to Thames. So yes I would pay again to stay here...but BEWARE please when they offer help with luggage to room say YES if not ASK Lift only takes you part of way, from there many up stairs, down stairs, tiny hallways....nightmare was only on 1st floor. No parking at hotel. Drop off can be difficult, but there is parking v.close.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Very close to the castle

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Excellent value for money. Well worth a visit.. Hotel staff friendly. Meals tasty. Rooms tidy Bed comfy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel opposite the castle

Posted Mar 2, 2017
A nice hotel in the middle of Windsor, The Hotel was nice enough and the staff were very polite and seemed happy to be there... The Breakfast was good and so was the evening meal.. The Bar area isn't very inviting for a nice drink it seems to be in the wrong place too me... But on the whole I had a nice trip there and I would certainly use the hotel if I ever stay in Windsor again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel opposite Windsor castle

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Great location for Windsor town centre and visiting castle. Room was large compared to other hotels, and clean. Buffet Breakfast was great, lots to chose from and very reasonable. Would definitely stay there again. I didn't use spa facilities so cannot comment on them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Excellent hotel opposite castle

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We had a fabulous stay in Windsor. 5 min walk from station, opposite castle and in the middle of shops and restaurants. Hotel was quiet, comfortable and classic.