Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing Backdrop to my Birthday Celebrations

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Where do I start? The size of the bedroom, comfort of the mattress, eye for detail with the decor, view of the gardens from the outside terrace etc
Cons: For the spa/swimming pool to be available.
Location: Henley, Marlow and Windsor and all their wonderful shops, bars and cafes, parks and river views/trips. Bolters Lock also worth a visit.
I am pretty good with words, but for once I simply cannot find the words that can possibly explain what a delightful overnight stay my family and I had at Cliveden. You truly have to experience it for yourself to understand what I mean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from nottinghamshire

Less of a hotel more of a fine country house

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: log fire in the lounge
Location: sorry but why would you want to go anywhere else.
Clivedon offers the best of both worlds, home comforts with hotel service. It is the kind of hotel where you dream of being snowed in. The staff are wonderful and their knowledge of the building is such an added bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Orbitz
This is a magnificent property with exceptionally warm, professional staff. The house is beautifully maintained and of great historic interest. Our suite had a dramatic view of the entrance drive. We spent only 1 night there in transit but plan to return for a longer holiday in the future. Quite an experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Ultimate luxury

Posted Oct 14, 2016
We will definitely come back here one day. It was such a treat! I felt like I was staying at the royal palace. The best part? The best shower ever!! Most amazing water pressure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Room, staff. And food.....anything else?
Location: Building and national trust grounds are spectacular.
Wonderful refurbished Classic room, beautifully furnished in keeping with the magnificent building, amazingly large bathroom. Breakfast was lovely, wonderfully views over the Terrace and Thames beyond.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach, California

Get out of the City - but access it

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Pros: Sumptuous and service of staff wonderful
Cons: Lobby was a bit dark, and busy with high tea on the Sunday I was there. It lost a bit of that ' private feel' when all of the Sunday folks arrive.
Location: You're 15 minutes from London and also everything is near in the countryside -it's the best of all worlds
With a 15 minute train ride you can be in the heart of the city - but stay in pure luxury. Stay in the Lady Astor Suite for your own private parterre with views in all directions - including the river, the gardens, and all comings and goings. It's high enough to be away from everything, but also the ability to be as if you own the world. Lots of room and luxury in the suite too, and since you tell everyone for dinner and breakfast your room by name, they'll know you're at the height of your game. I didn't see the other rooms, but other guests said they are all luxurious too. The Grounds are immense with a maze, boats to be had on the river (with guides - April - Oct) and one of the best meals I've had in years. Treat yourself by staying outside of London next time and train in (or take the Rolls in from the hotel)
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Beautiful setting, not for families or long stays

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Gardens are beautiful, even with the construction, but I would recommend a day visit only. Property is unlit at night, and the fountain is turned off.
Cons: The hotel should rethink its service strategy and communication with guests (e.g., construction, amenities, restricted areas, events, dining options).
Location: Cliveden is located in a rural setting within a short hike to the Thames. Still unsure what there is to do nearby, aside from the lovely boat cruise.
Cliveden is a National Trust property being meticulously (and loudly) rehabbed by volunteers and National Trust staff. The property is beautiful and clearly worth preserving, but the hotel seems to be struggling to find its place within the effort. From major plumbing issues to hard hat worthy construction to a general lack of communication regarding available hotel services (e.g., pool and spa is for "members" versus "guests" during certain hours), it is far from 5-Star. (Exception: John.) We booked six nights for some peace and quiet during my husband's race week, but instead, endured leaks, jack hammers, two room changes following initial check in, each time, packing up and checking out without a guaranteed check in until the usual 3pm (spent the better part of two days on room changes.) Mid-week was my husband's birthday, which we spent in the hotel's formal restaurant. It went completely ignored by staff (note: didn't expect much, but a true 5-star would do something - an acknowledgement, candle, just something). Finally, our last day, we were moved to a room located next to the kitchen usually not let to paying guests. That evening, my 12 year old daughter and I decided to go back to the hotel to pack for our flight the next day. Let's just say, already tired and disappointed by the stay, I thought I would burst into tears when we were turned away from the informal restaurant due to yet another closed event. (Note: No other PM dining options within walking distance.)