Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Richard from Kettering

Better than expected but overhaul by dozer needed

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Having read reviews after booking, I was nervous of what to expect and a badly stained key fob where the paper had obviously got wet did nothing to allay them! The room was better than expected though but the sight of a large black bug sunning itself on the bed did nearly make me run! (size 9 boot sorted that). Unperturbed I looked on the up side and explored. The broken light switch to the bathroom is basic safety and then the rusting shower fitting - why? Why not just remove it? The heating in the room was adequate - just. The radiator was on but not man enough. The towel rail in the bathroom was cold though. Water stains to the bedside cabinet and TV wires hanging are further off-putting signs of neglect. Only 2 rooms were occupied on a Saturday night so the restaurant wasn't open, just as well I had plans to eat elsewhere. The reception area is nice, but generally the hotel needs an overhaul - by a bulldozer!
2 out of 5
by John from Liverpool

Give this one a miss unless you are desperate

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is so in need of renovation it is unreal. The carpets in the room are threadbare, the heating system barely works, the taps in the bathroom were hard to turn as they are worn and then you wait an age for hot water. No idea about other rooms but avoid room 28. I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy never mind my friends not impressed especially at nearly £100 per night.
3 out of 5
by Chantal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wolverhampton

overnight stay

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: access to motorways
Cons: room overlooked rubbish compound,some kind of screening would be better
Location: services,motorways and reading very close
hotel was quiet,it did exactly what i wanted,nice and quiet .the room was enough for what i needed,i slept ok and the room was warm enough.
5 out of 5
by Heather from Bromsgrove

Weekend break

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Staff very friendly comfortable room would definitely book a return visit.
5 out of 5
by Louisa from Blandford Forum

Good accommodation

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
This was just a 'one-night' stopover and was fine.
2 out of 5
by stephen

Swipe left!!

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
Poor! Avoid! No hot water in room so at 530am have to move rooms! New room other side of hotel and upstairs the shower in this room did work??? Why does half the hotel have hot and the other not! And was scolding hot one second freezing the next
2 out of 5
by kenneth from West Yorkshire

Low-budget, OK - but all a bit grimey

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Look - if you are happy with a low budget room then fair enough if everything feels a bit tired and cheap - BUT - a reasonable standard of cleanliness is not expecting too much. Bathroom, tables, door handles, coffee cups, brandy glass, carpet - ALL a bit grimey and needed some attention before use. Someone needs to get a grip of this - it has put me off making a return visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointing and overpriced

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed overnight with colleagues on a business trip and for the price I expected the hotel to be comparable or better than Premier or Travel Lodge/Inn. The hotel furnishings and décor were dark, dated and unwelcoming. The room was clean however it was cold and felt damp. The bathroom had dead flies in the light fittings and the shower was controlled by adjusting the bath taps. After 5 minutes of trying to adjust the water for a shower I decided it would be quicker to run a bath. Overall, the whole place needs a root and branch makeover. If this is an example of the Comfort Hotel Group I will certainly be avoiding them in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

People slamming doors and shouting until 2:00 am..

Posted Sep 28, 2015
... Bed had hairs in it .... felt like a hostel in eastern Europe ..... it's 10 years past the point of badly needing a refurb ....