Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent country hotel yet small room

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Lovely setting in the hills but the locals are a bit chavy, one young lady with a brown tooth kept shouting at the TV.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxford

Nice comfortable hotel with good food and ambience

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Unfortunately the shower malfunctioned and there was no hot water on both mornings of my stay.
2 out of 5
by Jan from Aberdare

Beware of additional charges.

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
I was booked into a very Small room, smallest i have ever been in. i assumed that breakfast was included but that was my mistake. the breakfast was reheated and hard. even though it was stated on the menu as 7.95 for this breakfast, when i came to pay it came to 10.05 i was told that since i had tea with my breakfast the charge went up. i have never known a place to not include a cup of tea in the cost of breakfast. i will never be staying here again.
4 out of 5
by ERIC from Derbyshire

Nice place to break a journey

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant halfway stop just off A34 so relatively quiet except around breakfast.Friendly welcome on arrival. All in all recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will stay again

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed one night room was clean nice venue great pub
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

happy in newbury

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: charciter
Cons: nothing
great place,would recommend to anyone.traditional pub in quiet village.definatly stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely local friendly hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Stayed here for one night what an amazing warm welcome from owner pub lovely food and amazing decor so presentable room ideal clean mod cons wireless shower staff would do anything for you.
4 out of 5
by Teagan from truro, cornwall

great gem worth a visit

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
great place fantastic food my only grumble is having to pay for breakfast and the poor selection of real ales!
4 out of 5
by Widad from Bloomfield Hills, MI

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
The room is clean, The bathroom was big and good, TV didn't work, The beds were narrow But overall 3 stars rating. The food was great and reasonable priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Nice hotel, but noisy room

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: Everything except the plumbing noises!
Cons: The plumbing
Nice hotel and quite good value for money. Staff very friendly and helpful. I would avoid room 3 'The Grand National' - actually a disabled room with huge shower room - but the plumbing was very noisy and kept me awake for much of the early hours! Otherwise a good place to stay!