Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Very close to shops & amenities brilliant.

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: It was a very relaxed feeling to it did not explore all of it as a fleeting visit.
Cons: Ask the paying guest if the have preferences to the room allocation.
Location: It is very close to Reading Town Centre, the Madeski Stadium all your well known shops,also the little villages which was perfect for us.
The hotel does profoundly concentrate on the golfing aspect, the grounds were very well maintained and it made for a very good overall stay our eldest son is a very keen golfer so I believe we will be back with the family. The staff made you feel very welcome not being bias to who or what you were doing there, next time we will taste the food this was a passing visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for wedding

Posted May 14, 2017
Pleasant, accomendating and close to wedding venue !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Nice hotel but not what I was expecting

Posted May 4, 2017
Hotel met our needs but not the romantic get away it suggested. Much more a conference hotel. It was clean, comfortable and had lots of facilities in a good position. Breakfast was carnage though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
2 nights stay, wasn't told we were not in the main house. Breakfast was strange as made to sit on large conference table, possibly sharing with others. Food was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Midlands

What a shame

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Beautiful surroundings, VERY good reception staff and all the staff were very helpful.
Cons: Refirb, catering
Location: Lovely location - no idea what was nearby.. business tri
BMW Academy, De Vere - great brands offering high expectations indeed on the quality. Room clean but very tired - this place needs a refirb. Lunch bordered on mediocre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely location. Friendly staff. Poor recovery.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Amazing mansion in the grounds of popular golf club, ideal setting for the wedding celebration that was taking place. Crazy golf was a big attraction for the children, however this was need of maintenance. Also lift not working, and bathroom door rubbed on the door. Main challenge was the room suggested by Expedia for my son and I, (single room with the mention of pull out bed) was not possible, and so staff kindly upgraded me. The staff tried hard however communication was a problem, poor language/organisation skills led to 2 room changes, 3 unnecessary trips to reception and my son finally getting to sleep at 10pm, 1.5 hours late! They did send me up a plate of fruit salad as an apology. Hopefully this won't happen next time.!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for families

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Lots to do if you have children. Had to have my daughters mattress changed on her put you up bed as the springs were nearly coming through. Also had to wait an hour for the room to be ready even though we got there after the check in time
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good service speaks for itself

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
The reception staff were brilliant. I wanted an early check in and they changed the room without question to accomodate this. The pool was lovely. I would definitely stay again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely room with extremely poor customer service.

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
What could have been an extremely enjoyable stay was ruined by the fact that the power sockets within our room were not working. Although this was reported around 5:30pm on Saturday evening, there was still nothing done when we left on Sunday at 11am. Therefore we could not use the TV, Kettle, Iron, Hairdryer etc. some of which was very much an inconvenience as we were attending a function on the Saturday evening.