Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from thatcham uk

night stay

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: free wifi and free tea and coffie bar
Cons: more food on the menu
Location: not a lot as it was out in the sticks but a lovley walks and a swimming pool
had been there before for a wedding liked the stay so went back it was nice to get away and the beds where big and commfy the only thing was the tolet in the room took a long time to refeel and we only had one coffie in room whice was sorted over all a very nice stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the room was very spacious and the beds were comfy

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: the size of the room
Cons: cleanliness
Location: it was a pit stop whilst travelling
I was disappointed in the shower, lack of cleaning, I observed a bulky brown hair wedged in the grid, I have blonde hair and my two children do too, my husband is bald, I work for the NHS and I always recommend hotels I stay in but this I would highlight.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Appears like an old mental institution.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Upon arrival, the service was good. We were able to check in earlier than expected which was great as we were attending the Reading Festival. After given simple instructions to get to our room, me and my friend spent 15 minutes trying to find it. We were placed at the very end of the mansion house. We had to walk through approximately 10 doors to get it. I can understand that they may have thought - two young adults, probably very noisy - we will place them at the very end. Surely it would have perhaps been more logical to place us nearer to reception - this way; no walking past 100 different rooms...? Unless this wasn't the case and they just happened to select this room for us, then that's fair enough. Unfortunately I felt that our room was very creepy, it could have been slightly cleaner with more lighting. I felt scared to go to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely rooms, lovely grounds, nice pool, :-D

Posted Aug 16, 2016
All round lovely experience, can't fault the facilities nor the staff. Big thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel near a wedding

Posted Aug 7, 2016
We were upgraded to the mansion so we don't know what standard rooms are like but our experience was most unexpected. The room was really excellent and the mansion decor was done with great flair. We were not expecting this quality for the low price we paid. The staff were also v professional and friendly even though they were processing a large number of guests. Excellent all round.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from belgium

a place of relax and piece

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: safe piecefull and quite
Cons: only thing missing was mini bar
the suites were spacious and superb the hotels reception staff were outstanding efficient and helpfull
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Lovely situation in the country and very tranquil

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Situation in the country and room size. Comfortable and quiet even though there was a wedding there on the night we stayed
Location: In the country with an 18 hole golf course.
Wonderful setting in a big park with own golf course. Large clean room (deluxe double) and very pleasant and helpful staff. Very quiet and relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Review

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: The stature of the place. Size of the room allocated
Cons: The leisure facilities should include a spa Waiting staff should be more attentiveness from and hotel should use better quality of food to serve
Nice pleasant stay with a great lot of greenery around. Efficient check in process
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Ipswich

Very corporate, but perfect for business travel

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was the highlight, as it was much better than expected.
Cons: The hotel is undergoing some renovation and as such, the directions to the rooms/lifts/stairs was rather confusing.
Location: It occupies its own grounds with a golf course and various activities - but if you want to go out to a local pub or something then you'd need to drive
This is a very large hotel complex, which shares the grounds with a BMW training centre. Consequently, it's very corporate - but for business travel that can be a good thing - as the room was comfortable, a good temperature, clean and tidy, and everything worked. The free WiFi was a good speed too. Breakfast was really good, with a chef hovering over the buffet selection to keep everything fresh and 'just so'.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Cons: More helpful staff
Reception Staff not helpful. Rooms not very clean. Stayed July 10th - 12th, 2015. Not recommended for couples. Could hear other couples in next room.