Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so fine at Fines Bayliwick

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed here only becasue it was more convenient than other hotels in terms of my business and social engagement in the area....however in future I will inconvenience myself by staying elsewhere. Inititally offered room 1....a glorified 'cupboard' adjacent to reception with internal windows that had a view of other interior walls...so no daylight whatsoever...and freezing cold. Requested different room and given room 3 on first floor - a window with a view this time and some heating. Oddest collection of furniture that looked out of place away from a refuse tip. Relatively clean though and quit quiet. Breakfast was poor...coffee served cold, the bacon undercooked, and only one half of a tomato ( who puts half a tomato back in the fridge...?) No acknowledgment from receptionist as I exited past her..must have known I would never return so no point in being polite or professional. There are no redeeming features of this hotel...once a grand house no doubt looking at its scale and architecture. It could be again but only with major investment and new ownership.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Happy

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
A very small room with a disgusting view out of the window, No chair or a table to do any work on. I had to get the kettle changed as it was broken. I hope I don't have a stay like that again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manassas, VA

I wish I could write more about this place.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Location:
At first glance the hotel appeared to be a quaint little b&b. When my fiancé and I visited our room, however, we noticed straight away that there was no A/C. Bit of an annoyance as it was hot outside and we had just spent the whole day walking and sweating all over London. The window inside the room only opened up barely an inch to let air inside. This window also happened to look straight into the parking lot and gave whoever was out there a free glance inside our room (which happened frequently while we were either half asleep or barely clothed). At first we tried to suck it up and just enjoy the overall UK experience. We visited another town and stayed overnight there, and when we returned the following night we were given a different room, even though we were told we'd have the same one. This room was smaller, but at least the window opened up fully. After my fiancé took her shower, however, we heard a low rumbling sound. That was the sound of the shower's swan song. It stopped working. I called the front desk. No answer. Went to the front desk. No one was there. Apparently after 7pm, there is no more customer service. No one is there. When we finally got a hold of someone the following morning, their attitude made it seem like we had done something wrong, even though, by their own admission, they said there was problems with the pump in that room. After they observed that the shower did not work, they moved us to an even SMALLER room. No apologies. Never going back again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.

Good option just for one night

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The hotel is charming. And the bedrooms were comfortable. We spent two nights there. There is no staff overnight to check you in (if yiu arrive late) and our roms were not cleaned the next day one the weekend. One of the staff said they forgot, the other said they never clean on weekends, who knows.... We were not told that that was the case and our towels were not replaced. The breakfast offered at £10 each - continental - is poor in quality. We were told that eggs and bacon were prepared with it and it was not the case. The bathroom had a terrible smell of humidity. We were in room 4. The other rooom (3) was better. Overall, for one night or max two, it is a good cheaper option close to Legoland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Situated in quiet location near to town centre.

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: I did not see much of the hotel as, due to work commitments as, having booked in earlier, I was only in my room for 5 hours before leaving.
Cons: Front door handle needs some attention.
Location: N/A
Room compact but more than adequate. Shower cubicle excellent in terms of size and cleanliness. Iron and ironing board in closet space. Tea and coffee facilities in room. Bed comfortable.
2 out of 5
by Stephen from Stevenage

Disappointing

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Couldn't have window open due to people smoking outside window. Bathroom has mould in it. No employees on site when I got there and had to wait 40 minutes for phone call to tell me door code.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spain

Nice building with character but limited inside

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Location and architecture
Cons: Better maintenance required
Charming environment with tiny room and super-tiny shower. I am small and I doubt very much if a full-size person could fit in the shower. A cabinet door was hanging on one hinge instead of two. One armchair at the dinning table lacked one of the arms.