Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting by the Thames

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Traditional with good food and friendly attentive service
Cons: Decor getting a bit tired in places but nothing broken. There were no glasses or tea & coffee making facilities in the room
Location: Right by the Thames between Reading and Maidenhead. Beautiful countryside with numerous attractions close by
A night away to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was a perfect choice. They upgraded us to a suite and both rooms overlooked the gardens and the river. The restaurant is silver service and we were greeted by Aylesbury Duck on a spit being roasted in front of a large open fire. Lovely dinner with fine wine and then time to relax in front of that fire with a night cap. Breakfast is served in your room and rounded off a delightful day
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Idyllic view, exceptionally polite & lovely staff

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The view is just amazing. The hotel is so full of character its all just picture perfect. The staff spoil you rotten & they are all happy and joyful.
Location: We walked along the river before dinner and spent the morning just staring at that view! Just perfect if you want a calm, beautiful place to stay.
The staff couldn't do enough for my partner and i last weekend during our stay for his 40th birthday. We can't wait to come back in the Autumn when the view will be even more spectacular. Next time we will make sure we book to have dinner in the restaurant too. The best hotel I have ever stayed in, in Enlgand.
5 out of 5
by Phil from Norwich

Wonderful visit

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
A wonderful stay at a beautiful, "old style" hotel.Charming building. Outstanding Service from the moment we arrived until we left. Superb restaurant. Wonderful room with brilliant views across the Thames.
5 out of 5
by SAMUEL from London

Couldn't be better.

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
The location is beautiful, the food is truly excellent and the staff go to every length to make you feel special and at ease.
5 out of 5
by Glen from MK

Worth a trip for superb food an lovely location

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel has character and is long established: some of this shows in the wear-and-tear on items like the soft furnishing. Despite this the rooms and public areas are comforable and welcoming, the downstairs bar with duck spit-roasting in front of an open fire was great (as long as you're not a vegetarian!). The staff in the restaurant and the food served were truly excellent, we had the best Chateaubriand ever, although sometimes you need to go hunting someone in the bar area to get a drink. Overall very good, will return
4 out of 5
by sonning born from cumbria

Convenient for Sonning visiting

Posted May 11, 2014
Good overall but most disappointing no tea/coffee making facilities or mini bar in room considering very expensive for single person in double room. Food excellent although noisy mini kitchens on first floor when preparing early breakfasts.
5 out of 5
by The Pirate from Chesham

Hotel to dream of, fantastic views over river

Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels
Extremely comfortable room, much better than we had anticipated, and breakfast served in the room, no extra charge. Ideal if visiting the Mill at Sonning Theatre, which is only 5 minutes away, when I mentioned The Mill, I was offered a discount
5 out of 5
by William C. from Colorado, USA

Wind in the Willows perfection

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels
This is our second stay at the French Horn, in one of the most attractive settings imaginable. On the banks of the bucolic, willow-lined Thames River, this 19th Century coach house is an ivy-covered inn surrounded by lush lawns and gardens, with cozy accomodations in the property's former stables, converted into attractive private rooms. While the setting calls to mind the classic English "Wind in the Willows" or Tolkein's Hobbiton, the real gem is the French Horn's first class restaurant, featuring superlative food and wine served by an excellent, knowledgable staff. With easy access to Heathrow, it is a perfect way to wrap up a trip to the UK by treating ourselves to a wonderful dinner and a delightful night's stay in a fairy tale setting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Beware of the steak

Posted Oct 6, 2010
The French Horn has a very pretty setting on a picturesque curve of the river Thames, with well kept gardens running down to the river bank. Arriving on a wet Autumn lunchtime, the sight of a blazing log fire with ducks roasting on a spit in the panelled lounge/bar was a welcome sight. Service by very efficient staff in the bar and restaurant was very good. Assorted canapes served with our drinks were very welcome. However - - - We chose this hotel as we were told it had an acclaimed restaurant and had been highly praised by Michael Winner. Three of our party chose Entrecote Grille with Bernaise sauce as a main course. The portion of steak was very small, which was not the main problem. I can honestly say that this was the toughest piece of steak I have ever had in my life, and I noticed our friends were struggling to cut theirs too. Our friends were treating us to lunch for a special occasion so I did not want to embarrass them, otherwise I would have sent my steak back to the kitchen. The bread rolls were tough too and my starter of Raviolle de Crevette although beautifully flavoured, was served barely warm. Although I have stated that I would recommend this hotel to others, I have done so mainly because of its lovely setting, pretty dining room overlooking the river, welcoming lounge bar, and extremely good service. I would definitely say though "Don`t have the steak" and if anything else about your meal is not up to standard I`m sure the chef would wish to know.