Ratings based on 429 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Lovely little hotel although the main areas of the hotel are quite dated. However, my room looked like it had been recently renovated to a very high standard. For the price I paid I was very impressed. The only downside was that when I got there to check in there was a queue and no one was at reception, we had to wait 10 minutes before someone appeared. But I would definitely stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Katy, Hotel Management
THANK YOU for your positive feedback I will certainly pass this onto the team. We are currently updating the reception and hallways so this should look better on your next stay. Thank you again. Katy Beeson - GM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maidenhead

Usually a good stay but not the best room

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Having booked The Hillingdon Prince before and enjoyed the stay we were a little disappointed with the room. It was very hot and took some time with the windows open and fan on for it to cool down. There were also no bed side lamps or alternate lighting to the main light which was far to bright, we ended up removing two light bulbs. The bathroom floor was unfinished. But the room was well equipt with fridge, hob microwave and sink. The bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful on arrival.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Katy, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. Please note; we have three different grades of room and many people do not realise which they are booking, we offer these to suit all budgets; Budget Room, Standard Room and Club Room. The difference in price is small so upgrading is well worth doing. Hope this information helps.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Room was a reasonable size with fridge, microwave and tv. Bathroom very dated and dirty. A lot of noise from other rooms. Threadbare carpets on the stairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Katy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We do listen to our guests feedback and are currently decorating the hallways and after this the carpets will be replaced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff, shame about the hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: The staff. Friendly, polite and very helpful
I booked for three nights. The room I was shown was very claustrophobia and none too clean. The reception staff did their very best and showed me another room with a higher ceiling, but the bathroom was disgraceful. The bed in the first room had stained sheets and in the second room everything was so old and tired it would be impossible to make it look clean and tidy. Th mattress appeared to be 20+ years old, as it was lumpy, the springs (if there ever were any) were long gone and the duvet cover was torn and so thin I slept in my dressing gown. Needless to say I checked out at 7am the next day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Not a bad location for a low price.

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Room wasn't ready until after checkin time and then they didn't clean it for 3 days. They frequently forgot things when they did remember to make up the room, like bath mats, milk, etc and the heater didn't work which wasn't great in December. However, if you don't mind a bit of a walk it's not too far from Reading Town Centre and there are bus stops after a short walk in both directions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally located and ideal for UoR Campus

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Ideally situated for the University of Reading London Road campus which is where the university's graduation ceremonies are held.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff and close to uni

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed at the Hillingdon several times whilst our son studied at reading uni so it seemed perfect for us when we came for graduation ceremony
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Work.

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
As always my stay at this establishment is always brilliant. I have no complaints about the place. Any issues are immediately resolved including upgrade or moving to another available room. Also as I'ved use this place on numerous occasions I get a later checkout time. I use this hotel everytime I stay Reading as it is conveniently near transport to and from the MADEJSKI STADIUM.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
One night - had to stay somewhere. This seemed the best value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels