Ratings based on 308 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

One night stay

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff Parking
Cons: Everything
Location: Newbury is rubbish
The hotel seemed to have a heating issue as there was a humorously small electric radiator plugged in next to a huge fire place in the lobby. Also, at breakfast the next day the system was blowing chilly air over the handful of breakfast diners, so not very nice to sit there so rushed what was a pretty good breakfast. The room was basic (to be expected at the price) however the carpet was very worn out and looked sleazy. The mattresses on the twin beds were cheap and a bit too firm. Also the duvet was the thinnest I've ever seen, even compared to the one I use in summer at home. The room smelled a bit musty - not sure if that was the carpet or another building/maintenance issue? The tiny bathroom had a paper thin door, and the normal bad mastic lines, gaps etc that you find in small internal rooms without proper ventilation in this type of modern cheap hotel. Bath panel damaged also - so overall looked shabby. You wont get much sleep if you are a light sleeper as any opening or closing door in the halls will wake you up, to say nothing of people talking in the halls and the cleaners.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Basic hotel close to Newbury

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Its position close to Newbury and the breakfast was good.
Cons: This hotel needs a general make-over. It is tired and feels dated. Reception staff could benefit from a refresher course in customer relations.
Surprising to find there is no lift so we had to carry our cases up the stairs - this would not suit everyone. There was no suggestion that someone could help with the cases. The bathroom was average - not a very good shower and the loo seat was loose! The room was comfortable but only what you would expect from 3 star accommodation - not up to the standard of other Hilton hotels in our experience. Hence not very good value for money. At the end of the evening the door "key" wouldn't work and we had to take it back to reception for resetting, which was done but with no apology from the staff for the inconvenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from varese

Confortevole, personale super

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Perfetto pulitissimo, personale super, colazione galattica
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Hannah from Leicester

Noisy night

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
Room right next to stairs (no lift) but staff helped carry our bags up. We had a noisy night hearing people coming up and down the stairs and doors banging so slept terribly! Dinner service was slow (2.5hrs) for two courses - when mains arrived they weren't very hot and had to send them back. Breakfast was very good lots of choice on the buffet. Staff were all very friendly but overall we didn't have a great experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andreas from NRW

Ordentliches Continental Breakfast, sonst schwach

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Für ein UK Hotel war das Frühstück auch als Continental Breakfast völlig OK. Wenige Meter vom Hotel ist ein großer Shopping, wo man gut einkaufen kann und auch Fastfood findet. Die Sauberkeit war dem Preis entsprechend annehmbar. Die Zimmerausstattung war alt und hatte leider keinen Charme. Das TV Angebot war auch völlig mau. Die Zimmer wurden leider sehr schlecht / gar nicht (?) beheizt und ich habe gefroren. Der Service war morgens noch ziemlich verschlafen, da mußte man schon mal auf den ersten Kaffee beim Frühstück warten und nachfragen.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Caisey from New Zealand

Avoid.

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
Awful!. The whole place stank of urine \ damp. We asked to move rooms as ours smealt like a pub toilet. We were told we couldn't as the hotel was full (didn't seem like it to us). After some appalling attitude we were moved to another room than was slightly less stinking. The whole place is straight out of the 80s, the TV's barely work (the two we had anyway) and the staff just don't care. I gave up trying to get a drink at the bar (3 staff were busy having a yarn). It's not central - don't be fooled by description and there is a cost for WiFi. Only redeeming feature is large car park with llentynof spaces - even when it's full. Skip this place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by lisa from Nottingham

Beautiful entrance hall but...

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel looks gorgeous but room was small, not equipped with enough cups and glasses which we had to request twice. Breakfast was cold but a good selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by markm from Huddersfield

Nice hotel on a retail park

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
excellent hotel. located near retail shops. don't walk from the train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Paula

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels