Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Daniel from San Marcos

Newbury Nice

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
A nice relaxing trip into the country
3 out of 5
by Tracy from Bolton

Glad it was only one night

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
Arrived fairly late, the room very sparsely decorated and stone cold. Reception bar closed up shortly after arrival, all lights turned off. Reception and dining area very cold had portable heaters scattered around. Tables unclean, lots of dust,
4 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great value for money breakfast.
1 out of 5
by Derek

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Does not deserve the hilton name

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Booked a suit only to be told they had given it to someone else and then given a standard double that looked like something out of the 90's, the window would not shut properly so had road noise all night. If i knew how terible the evening meal and breakfast was going to be I would have gone to McDonald's and had much better food at a cheaper price. I will never say in a hilton again.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth K.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

One night stay

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff Parking
Cons: Everything
Location: Newbury is rubbish
The hotel seemed to have a heating issue as there was a humorously small electric radiator plugged in next to a huge fire place in the lobby. Also, at breakfast the next day the system was blowing chilly air over the handful of breakfast diners, so not very nice to sit there so rushed what was a pretty good breakfast. The room was basic (to be expected at the price) however the carpet was very worn out and looked sleazy. The mattresses on the twin beds were cheap and a bit too firm. Also the duvet was the thinnest I've ever seen, even compared to the one I use in summer at home. The room smelled a bit musty - not sure if that was the carpet or another building/maintenance issue? The tiny bathroom had a paper thin door, and the normal bad mastic lines, gaps etc that you find in small internal rooms without proper ventilation in this type of modern cheap hotel. Bath panel damaged also - so overall looked shabby. You wont get much sleep if you are a light sleeper as any opening or closing door in the halls will wake you up, to say nothing of people talking in the halls and the cleaners.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Basic hotel close to Newbury

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Its position close to Newbury and the breakfast was good.
Cons: This hotel needs a general make-over. It is tired and feels dated. Reception staff could benefit from a refresher course in customer relations.
Surprising to find there is no lift so we had to carry our cases up the stairs - this would not suit everyone. There was no suggestion that someone could help with the cases. The bathroom was average - not a very good shower and the loo seat was loose! The room was comfortable but only what you would expect from 3 star accommodation - not up to the standard of other Hilton hotels in our experience. Hence not very good value for money. At the end of the evening the door "key" wouldn't work and we had to take it back to reception for resetting, which was done but with no apology from the staff for the inconvenience.
4 out of 5
by Frank from Lymington

Theatre Break.

Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable, staff helpful and friendly, breakfast and dinner good, free daily newspapers, a definite step-Up from Premier and similar, trees and various bushes create illusion of a countryside setting. Would definitely stay again if visiting Newbury.
4 out of 5
by Susana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2016 on Hotels