Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: It's close to everything I needed. A minute's walk from the buses all over Reading, 3 minutes from the train to London, around the corner from pubs.
Cons: The space is cramped and there is no place to sit. Other than the bed. Also, it's stuffy and the windows don't open.
It was great to roll out of bed, go down and have a full breakfast and be able to come back, get my bags and head off to work. The cafe folks who serve said breakfast are lovely. I was also thrilled with how close everything was--it's literally across the street from the public library/museum and around the corner from Forbury Park, location of the famed Reading Abbey (now only a few small ruins), the gardens where Jane Austen once cavorted and the Reading Gaol where Oscar Wilde was unjustly locked up. The historical area is gorgeous. Unfortunately, I had work to do and it was next to impossible to do it in the room, as there were no chairs, let alone a table. Everything is a bit on the chintzy/small side, with a wardrobe too short to accommodate even a regular sized button down, let alone slacks or skirts. And the walls are quite thin, the air too close. But I actually loved my stay regardless. The atmosphere, the breakfast, the proximity all made up for it. It was great to roll out of bed, go down and have a full breakfast and be able to come back, get my bags and head off to work. The cafe folks who serve said breakfast are lovely. I was also thrilled with how close everything was--it's literally across the street from the public library/museum and around the corner from Forbury Park, location of the famed Reading Abbey (now only a few small ruins), the gardens where Jane Austen once cavorted and the Reading Gaol where Oscar Wilde was unjustly locked up.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Overnight B&B Stay

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Close to town centre.
Cons: Staff were not unpleasant but they could perhaps be more pro-active in the conversation.
Location: Near to station, commerce, and town centre.
No-nonsense B&B very close to Reading station and commerce. Room was very snug, plus clean bathroom.
4 out of 5
by Yoichi

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
レディングの駅やハイストリートに近く、大変便利な場所にあるB&Bです。スタッフがとても親切に応対してくれたので気持ちよく滞在できました。
1 out of 5
by geeta from Manchester

Most awful experince

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
I went to attend a conference in London. It was al on line booking.The hotel owner stays far away leaving the key for entry to a neighbouring café. On entry the doorway was poorly lit .The way to the room was littered with dirt and heavily stained carpet. The timing of the light was such that the light turned off before I reached my room, leaving me out in the cold and dark. Over all the experience of staying in that hotel was very traumatic I will not recommend this place for any body.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto-Canada

Hotel fit for purpose

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: the bed
Cons: the internet. is no reliable, fail too much
Location: right location, close the reading stations and downtown
this is a bed and breakfast. No staff to receive guests, comfort beds, regular breakfast, bad internet, Risk is the electronic key doesn't work, no staff available to resolve.
1 out of 5
by Roy from Dalian, China

Nightmare

Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Hotels
Terrible, avoid at all costs. I didn't even get through the door. I called the mobile number and was instructed where to find the access card, it didn't work. The guy couldn't be bothered to come and open the door for me, he also informed me that he doesn't do refunds. I booked into another hotel instead. Give it a swerve!
5 out of 5
by TONY from meaux

Posted Nov 29, 2015 on Hotels
bon hotel,bien situé a coté de la gare,très bon acceuil
4 out of 5
by Mike from Wimborne

So convenient for train and town.

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
Slick correspondence, amazingly convenient and good value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and convenient

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: Location, price, staff
Cons: First impressions as you walk up the staircase not positive. Tea and milk provided by the kettle but, bizarrely, no coffee.
Location: Bang in the town centre, extremely convenient for the station.
Needed a place in Reading town centre, everywhere expensive, this place above a local caff fit the bill. Lovely Polish staff check you in as they make sandwiches for local workers, give you a key card, and you're left to your own devices. Staircase beside the caff quiet grotty but room fine for the price – kettle also provided. Breakfast pretty simple and taken downstairs in the caff. Staff really nice beforehand too, as I had to send them a text message for the room to be ready by 12.30pm, which it was, with pleasure. No more than 5min walk from/to the station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok for the price

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
it was ok for the price and location but other than that it was not fantastic.