Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west yorkshire

reading visit

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: close to shops and eating places what more can i say?
Cons: the stairs from our room to outside were very dangerous because of a faulty sensor which failed to switch on the light leaving it too dark to see the stairs,staff informed but no action taken .booked b&b wed to fri breakfast ok sat not until 9-30 and no breakfast served at all on sunday
Location: museum across the road in the town hall ,cinema close by.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

OK for overnight but only if a low price is offer

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
Booked a single and got a double so that was a nice surprise. Walls are paper thin so bring earplugs. TV didn't work. Room is a bit depressing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for the night

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Finding the bnb was very easy being on the Main Street from the train station. Arriving late, the instructions for picking up my key card was very clear and all went smoothly. The room was small but cosy, comfortable, clean and had everything I needed- including a fan (which was needed due to it being one of the hottest days of the year). The shower was powerful and clean. Despite being on a Main Street I also believe the windows were very effective at keeping out any noise. Very easy to get breakfast in the morning and check out. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by James

Noisy and unpleasant

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
On arrival at the hotel there were no staff and no intercom, push button that dials a number, no phone just a A4 piece of paper with telephone numbers. Lucky my phone was charged otherwise I wouldn't have been able to get in without a lot of hassle. Rang the 1st number it rang out, 2nd number somebody answered and gave me a code to get my card from a box on the wall. How hard would it be to install a £130 ring video doorbell or some kind of dialler intercom? Room looked like it was very dated, very pink, carpet, curtains, bed, lamp, pink everything and all had a look like it hasn't been updated for a very long time. As it was so hot in the room I opened the window (big mistake) as at midnight, 1AM and then even past 1AM the pub courtyard directly below emptied crate after crate of bottles in to 9 massive square bins, the noise was crazy. On top of the noise from the big 9 (I counted them) air conditioning units all humming away cutting in and out through the night on the walls outside the window - yet my room didn't have any aircon, it if did maybe I could close the window and get a decent night's sleep. The ONLY good part was the breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: It's close to everything I needed. A minute's walk from the buses all over Reading, 3 minutes from the train to London, around the corner from pubs.
Cons: The space is cramped and there is no place to sit. Other than the bed. Also, it's stuffy and the windows don't open.
It was great to roll out of bed, go down and have a full breakfast and be able to come back, get my bags and head off to work. The cafe folks who serve said breakfast are lovely. I was also thrilled with how close everything was--it's literally across the street from the public library/museum and around the corner from Forbury Park, location of the famed Reading Abbey (now only a few small ruins), the gardens where Jane Austen once cavorted and the Reading Gaol where Oscar Wilde was unjustly locked up. The historical area is gorgeous. Unfortunately, I had work to do and it was next to impossible to do it in the room, as there were no chairs, let alone a table. Everything is a bit on the chintzy/small side, with a wardrobe too short to accommodate even a regular sized button down, let alone slacks or skirts. And the walls are quite thin, the air too close. But I actually loved my stay regardless. The atmosphere, the breakfast, the proximity all made up for it. It was great to roll out of bed, go down and have a full breakfast and be able to come back, get my bags and head off to work. The cafe folks who serve said breakfast are lovely. I was also thrilled with how close everything was--it's literally across the street from the public library/museum and around the corner from Forbury Park, location of the famed Reading Abbey (now only a few small ruins), the gardens where Jane Austen once cavorted and the Reading Gaol where Oscar Wilde was unjustly locked up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Overnight B&B Stay

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Close to town centre.
Cons: Staff were not unpleasant but they could perhaps be more pro-active in the conversation.
Location: Near to station, commerce, and town centre.
No-nonsense B&B very close to Reading station and commerce. Room was very snug, plus clean bathroom.
1 out of 5
by geeta from Manchester

Most awful experince

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
I went to attend a conference in London. It was al on line booking.The hotel owner stays far away leaving the key for entry to a neighbouring café. On entry the doorway was poorly lit .The way to the room was littered with dirt and heavily stained carpet. The timing of the light was such that the light turned off before I reached my room, leaving me out in the cold and dark. Over all the experience of staying in that hotel was very traumatic I will not recommend this place for any body.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Toronto-Canada

Hotel fit for purpose

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: the bed
Cons: the internet. is no reliable, fail too much
Location: right location, close the reading stations and downtown
this is a bed and breakfast. No staff to receive guests, comfort beds, regular breakfast, bad internet, Risk is the electronic key doesn't work, no staff available to resolve.