Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Quirky

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Centrally located hotel with plenty of character.
Cons: Breakfast .... considerable room for improvement (coffee was great though!)
Location: n/a
Overall no major issues - but if you want a full night's sleep, best to request a room not facing the main street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxfordshire

Excellent staff

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: The staff were all pleasant
Cons: The bins somewhere else
Location: In the middle of town which is where I wanted to be
I have problems climbing stairs, I requested a room on a lower floor and that is exactly what I got. The room was comfortable, the only problem was there were bins outside my window. Breakfast had excellent choices. I would recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired and worn out bed :-(

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Awful - worst night sleep in a long time. Mattress was collapsed and worn out, and bed was on a sloping floor - no attempt had been made to level it out! It's an old building with sloping floors - I get that, but at least level the beds up!! Staff didn't even ask at checkout if everything was ok or not - just here's the bill!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lethbridge Canada

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Reading is a short trip from Heathrow with convenient bus service every 30 minutes. Hotel is easily walkable from bus/train station. Long pedestrian mall with many shops, restaurants, bars. Easily reachable for a day or two stopover passing through Heathrow.
Cons: Hotel is an old property and thus many short flights of stairs, corners and fire doors. If luggage is heavy or bulky, it can be difficult reaching rooms as there is no elevator.
Location: Immediately outside the hotel door is a very long pedestrian mall with lots of stores for shopping and many restaurant choices.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, clean and friendly hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
The room was a good size and whilst above a busy pub the room was quiet. Lovely stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for this price.

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was good , located in very old building where route to room is quite tricky ( especially on third floor) . Good relation price to standard so I cannot complain . Bed was good , Wifi was slow ( speed test 0,5mbps) but it works and was included in room price . Service on reception was great even when I've checked out very early morning . I will definitely stay in this hotel again. Good relation between price to value .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Stayed one night and no complaints; room clean and hotel location very central.
3 out of 5
by Paul from Headcorn

Lovely hotel for a reasonable price but too hot

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
This was an annual trip to Reading for attending a nearby music festival in Henley. This was the first time we had stayed at this hotel. It is very quaint with lots of uneven floors, small staircases and quirky nooks and crannies. Unfortunately the rooms to the top of the hotel are incredibly warm (even when it was relatively cool outside) which made the bedrooms stiflingly hot and sleep very difficult. I would imagine that when it's above 25C those rooms would be unbearable. Installing air con in rooms that are affected is a real requirement. If you can get a room that isn't affected in this way then this is a lovely hotel, well situated with a lovely courtyard for relaxing over drinks or lunch and competitively priced