Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Stayed one night and no complaints; room clean and hotel location very central.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Awful rude service at breakfast. Poor quality food... Disgusting presentation. Hot, stuffy room. Rude staff upon checkout. Ruined our weekend away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mercure George Hotel, Reading

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Very central - right in the middle of the town centre and only a few minutes walk from the train station. Large bathroom. Modern and clean room.
Cons: Can't think of anything significant. Can be noisy with the windows open but it's very central so this is the compromise.
Location: The town centre is on your doorstep!
Great central option in Reading, very good if you don't want to have to travel far.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Well situated hotel.

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Bed (new firmer mattress needed). Noisy A/C units near bedroom windows
Location: In center of Reading. A lot of cafe's around.
The Hotel is well situated in the center of Reading. It's oldy-worldy. The room was not great - noisy (near an A/C unit) and the bed was not so comfortable (lumpy mattress). No parking available which was a bit of a bind - I parked on the street overnight but charges applied from 8 am and I couldn't pay for the early morning the night before, however I could call "park by phone" at 8 am.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: City centre location.
Cons: It's old, so there is always more that could be done to upgrade, but it's ok.
A typical example of a quaint olde English city centre hotel; creaky floorboards, narrow flights of stairs and leaning walls and all. Nothing bad, just nothing to get excited about either. Mercure do an okay job and it's well placed in the city centre.
4 out of 5
by Kevin from Manchester

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
Not happy with the price for a full English breakfast, so had it in town
3 out of 5
by Kat from Weston-Super-Mare

City Centre Noisy Hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
Situated in the middle of Reading city centre I did not expect a quiet night, but hoards of people outside plus later at 3am lorries, could be heard coming past whether windows open or closed. Owners had anticipated this by leaving ear plugs on bedside table. Room itself was lovely for the budget price, small but comfortable and didn't lack some nice touches like a wide selection of teas. I couldn't stay for breakfast but sounded like a reasonable price. I had to leave early but the desk was staffed 24/7 and I found all staff to be polite throughout. All in all nicer room and facilities than expected but prepare for a noisy night!
4 out of 5
by Anders from Søborg (Copenhagen)

Great hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
Been staying at the hotel many times/long term. Really great service level. Cozy hotel.
4 out of 5
by John from Milan

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Centre of town easy access to transport ie. trains to London. Close to river walks and visiting friends in Caversham
4 out of 5
by Helen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels