Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Quirky

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Centrally located hotel with plenty of character.
Cons: Breakfast .... considerable room for improvement (coffee was great though!)
Location: n/a
Overall no major issues - but if you want a full night's sleep, best to request a room not facing the main street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxfordshire

Excellent staff

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: The staff were all pleasant
Cons: The bins somewhere else
Location: In the middle of town which is where I wanted to be
I have problems climbing stairs, I requested a room on a lower floor and that is exactly what I got. The room was comfortable, the only problem was there were bins outside my window. Breakfast had excellent choices. I would recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
by kevin

excellent hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
got to hotel went to reception checked in within minuets the two girls on reception were fantastic great knowledge of the area, lots of shops and public houses , rooms good and very clean great hotel well worth a visit would highly recommend . thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Henley

Nice central location.

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Price & location!
Location: Right next to the Oracle and lots of Reading shops as well as plenty of nightlife (such as it is in Reading!)
I was looking for a cheap and cheerful central location for a room to stay after a night out in Reading and this ticked all the boxes: reasonably priced, en suite, clean & comfortable single bed. Perfect for what I wanted.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired and worn out bed :-(

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Awful - worst night sleep in a long time. Mattress was collapsed and worn out, and bed was on a sloping floor - no attempt had been made to level it out! It's an old building with sloping floors - I get that, but at least level the beds up!! Staff didn't even ask at checkout if everything was ok or not - just here's the bill!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lethbridge Canada

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Reading is a short trip from Heathrow with convenient bus service every 30 minutes. Hotel is easily walkable from bus/train station. Long pedestrian mall with many shops, restaurants, bars. Easily reachable for a day or two stopover passing through Heathrow.
Cons: Hotel is an old property and thus many short flights of stairs, corners and fire doors. If luggage is heavy or bulky, it can be difficult reaching rooms as there is no elevator.
Location: Immediately outside the hotel door is a very long pedestrian mall with lots of stores for shopping and many restaurant choices.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, clean and friendly hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
The room was a good size and whilst above a busy pub the room was quiet. Lovely stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for this price.

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was good , located in very old building where route to room is quite tricky ( especially on third floor) . Good relation price to standard so I cannot complain . Bed was good , Wifi was slow ( speed test 0,5mbps) but it works and was included in room price . Service on reception was great even when I've checked out very early morning . I will definitely stay in this hotel again. Good relation between price to value .