Ratings based on 425 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia.

Well located.

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: The location & price.
Cons: Check in took a while because the staff were unable to locate my booking.
Location: Located on the high street near all transport. Easy walking distance to the Oracle shopping centre.
This hotel is located within easy walking distance of Reading Station & the Heathrow bus terminal. Value for money with a good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

This was the second stay in the week, Excellent

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location. It was near everything, I'm talking blocks. Great sightseeing opportunities within walking distance.
Cons: American-style drip coffee maker. Face cloths in the bath area (we call them "wash rags" in the States)
Location: Shopping, restaurants, train station everything was convenient. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay.
We came to the UK for my youngest daughters wedding. Coordinating travel, lodging, food, luggage etc. was a nightmare. arriving at the Novotel was like a breath of fresh air. The suite we were first assigned to was on the 10th floor, and was very comfortable, after three very intense sightseeing days, (mini bus tour into London by the grooms father in the pouring rain, train ride to Windsor Castle, with the wedding party and my future son-in-law) Amenities at the hotel were very relaxing the pool and exercise area were very relaxing, nearness to various shopping venues, train station,(2 blocks) ideal. My wife and I even got to experience the National Health Service first hand and they didn't even require payment. Our trip to England and particularly the stay at the Reading Centre Novotel was a very intense time event overload but relaxing all the same. We extend our thanks for the very professional staff and restaurant facility there at the Novotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TW

Lovely hotel. Restaurants and shopping stores near

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Loved the hotel. Clean swimming pool though we didn't get a chance to use it. Breakfast was very good. Lovely staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Good and The Bad

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: The hotel was modern and clean. The staff were professional from the front desk to the restaurant, to the maintenance people. Very good!
Cons: We went down for dinner, the waitress didn't understand our NY accent and delivered the wrong items. We were hungry; ate it anyway. A bit disappointed
Location: Near the trains and shops, good places to eat and nearby pubs
Here is my first tip! when booking a room always book under business not pleasure. This ensures that you will get a nice quiet room. I booked pleasure and was given a room in the front of the hotel. Big mistake. This hotel is surrounded by pubs and the noise is astounding! The night I arrived I was exhausted so I slept through all the revelry however the next night I had very little sleep as it sounded like the party was in the room with me. So ask for a room in the back of the hotel and check that business box when booking. The third night I could not take the noise any longer and requested that my room be moved. The staff were courteous and kind, accommodating my request, no problem. Secondly, my room had a broken handle in the shower, the hot water was stuck on full force and could not be adjusted. I nearly scalded myself . Upon reporting it, maintenance came and fixed it straight away. I checked out of the hotel after three nights but returned three days later for a good nights sleep before heading back to the US. The room was in the back of the hotel as per my request but the shower drain was a bit clogged and I ended up standing in a pool as I showered. I had planned on reporting it when I checked out but I forgot. Sorry to the person who got the room after me. Hopefully they reported it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario, canada

Convenient

Posted Aug 3, 2015
5 min from the train station and close to all the shopping and restaurants. Breakfast was good. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Assen

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Gelegenheid om te zwemmen/sporten. Mooie kamer en gezellige drukte vanuit het centrum.
Cons: Parkeergelegenheid.
Fijn hotel met net wat meer luxe voor een redelijke prijs. In het centrum van Reading. 14 pond voor dagje parkeren vond ik wel enorm duur. Dat kwam ter plekke nog bij de prijs op.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hamburg

Schönes Hotel in Top citylage

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Urlaubsreise. Sehr angenehmer Aufenthalt. Immer wieder gern!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Beautiful room, very small car park.

Posted Jul 12, 2015
My room was spacious and comfortable, with lovely modern bathroom, and tea/coffee making facilities. The receptionist was really helpful and friendly. The only downside to staying here is the car park, which is very small, although there is an NCP car park opposite. I am giving 4 stars for the overall experience as I had two unwanted wake-up calls at 5.30 and 5.45! These scuppered any chance of more sleep. I was given a complementary breakfast as compensation, and told there was a fault in the system they were trying to fix.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warrington

Central Hotel Very Close to the Railway Station

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Went to visit my Daughter at her New Uni and the Novotel was well priced and well situated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: The hotel is centrally located to good pubs and good restaurants. The hotel is close to the train station. There is free wifi and access to a computer
Location: The hotel is close to the train station. The hotel is close to the Oracle which is a very new shopping centre. The hotel is close to good eateries.
The hotel is close to many amenities within walking distances.