Ratings based on 575 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Clean, welcoming, great location for transport

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Checking in is not boring and the staff tried to maximise the value of my trip by making sure points were added. Very clean and great location.
Cons: Automatic check in so there is no need to go to reception in the morning. Just drop any bill for items paid with the room under the door overnight.
Location: There are so many shops, I book this hotel to spread browsing and buying over two days. New restaurants and cafes opening all the time.
Came to Reading on my own to take advantage of the sales, walk around the large pedestrian area and get some work done. The hotel is one 100 meters from the station, Reading-Heathrow buses and local bus drop offs. The Oracle is accessible by foot, as are many international food restaurants, something for everyone with or without kids. The hotel and room were exactly as you expect them to be, that is why I have travelled with this chain of hotels since I was a kid. By that I mean, very well organised space so I could work with the wifi, iron the clothes and relax in a high comfortable bed. Everything worked perfectly. The bath fills up fast, the shower is hot and room service was on time and delicious.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, reasonable price!

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Had a lovely stay, nice quite room, superior twin, included breakfast and use of the swimming pool, sauna and steam, which my friend and I made use of! Felt relaxed after our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Convenient, close
Easy check in/check out process, hotel staff very accommodating
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Convenient but lacking in amenities

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Bright and airy lobby. Convenient location.
Cons: The bedroom! Better pillows; electric outlets; guest instructions...
Location: Convenient for train travel. OK for late night eating - if you like McDonalds.
The hotel has a bright and welcoming lobby, together with a very pleasant bar and dining area behind it. Check-in staff were pleasant, efficient and helpful. Checking in left the impression that an enjoyable stay was likely. However, the room was extremely disappointing. I paid £164 for, I suppose, a basic room. It was smaller than a Premier Inn room; the bed was less comfortable (with rubbery, cheap pillows) and it was impossible at first to find an electric outlet - even though there was a desk area. Unforgivable in this day and age. Eventually I found one - just one - half way between the wall and ceiling - behind the tv, and nowhere convenient for the desk. A strange box was next to the tv with a USB charger but no other apparent use. There were no instructions in the room for anything. The sink in the bathroom was a weird design that may be ok to some people but not very welcoming to me. All in all, nowhere near value for money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent place to shop

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Location,lots of shops and thongs to do
Cons: Car park,need more staff,swimming pool area needs to be cleaned,breakfast
Location: The location was excellent and there were a lot of things to do shops nerdy and a big shopping centre
positives:The staff were very friendly and welcoming Negatives Extremely disappointed . The car park was a big issue as the hotel car park was full we had to park in another car park which was a very big inconvenience also the pool area was very dirty and unclean and so was the steam and sauna there was no life guard.As we stayed in the pool for the whole day not once did I see member of staff come and clean the pool. The breakfast was horrible and cold. There was not enough staff which meant had to wait a long time to be sat at a table. Not a lot of variety of foods and drinks to eat and everything was cold.Moreover they weren't stocked up well which meant we had to wait at least 20 Min or more just to get a drink.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel in town centre

Posted May 20, 2016
Really nice hotel with great facilities . During warm weather it can be difficult to keep cool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Timperley

Handy town centre location

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: Staff training on handling Expedia bookings
Location: shops and train station nearby
OK, had to use it for work commitment. Disappointed on arrival they tried to charge me a second time, having paid in full up front via Expedia.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bahrain

First and last time @ the Novotel Reading

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: I can only say the size of the room was a plus compared to others in the area.
Cons: Hotel staff need to improve , services , maintenance of the hotel .
Location: location is good since its near central reading markets and the mall , the disadvantage is no car will stop to you in front of the hotel
It has been a bad experience from the beginning , I tried to reserve via email , emails back and forth and then no response at all , once I called customer service who should help , they asked to fwd the email to them and never heard back from them either. Thankfully Expedia came to the rescue , after arriving to the hotel and asking for a crib in the room , that wasn't there , the room is designed weirdly where the toilet is separated from the sink , and the sink and the shower are together ( very weird if you ask me ) Asked for a taxi the first day , the lady at the front desk didn't even try to help and explained there is bad traffic . the Sink in the room was clogged badly had to call for maintenance . the room ac felt like it was a 100 degrees so we also had to ask for maintenance. on a 2 day trip I felt like I was taking care of their maintenance for this room. Called and asked room service for a small plate to feed my 8 month old his cereal in the morning , their answer was if we send it we will charge you 5 pounds or something or you can come and pick it up! oh did I mention I'm staying in an executive room? Service was horrible , horrible experience all together and never again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel im Zentrum

Posted May 7, 2016
War schon öfter dort. Komfort gleichbleibend. Nettes Personal Leicht erreichbar mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel

Posted May 2, 2016
Nice hotel near to restaurant , Food is ok , but Food arrangement not good toster in the middle which is crowded no space to get some of theFood.. You need a cereals dispenser unhygenic that spoon from cereals drop to the Food fruits not fresh. Pancake maker not working kids disappointed .Not time so noisy if You open the Windows room too hot carpet need updated ... Swimmingpool was good dressing area need updated dirty ..one lift only was functiioning. novotel heathrow was very good breakfast good ambiance beautiful