Ratings based on 573 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Nice hotel, convenient location

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Convenient location, nice rooms and bar.
Cons: If a triple is booked it would be nice if it was ready. Better communication in the event of a fire alarm so guests no what is going on.
Location: Walking distance from reading station (15 a 20 min walk). Plenty of places to eat nearby. About 1 hour on the train to Twickenham.
Nice hotel, about a 15 minute walk from the station. Rooms a nice size, small but perfectly functional bathroom with lovely array of shampoo, shower gel etc. We booked a triple room, but only given a double, extra single not put in the room originally when we asked and when we got back (quite late) and it still wasn't there I was told there was a £25 fee. Not being prepared to pay (I had booked and paid for a triple) or argue we made do. We didn't eat at the hotel but we did use the bar which had a large seating area and were really friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

Nice hotel close to shopping area

Posted May 15, 2017
Good breakfast, nice size of room, clean and comfort bed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northwest

Ticks the boxes

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Lovely breakfast with great choice of food.
Cons: Bed comfort.
Location: Conveniently sited for many things.
First stay at a Pentahotel and overall it offered very good value. Would definitely stay again. If there had to be any downsides, they would be that the bed was not too comfortable and the walk from the car park back to the hotel, as I arrived late at night and felt wary on the dim lit path carrying a suitcase and laptop with me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reading

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Me and my wife stayed at this hotel for the 1st time and couldn't belive how nice it was for the money. It's by far the nicest we have stayed in and we stay in a lot. Lovely friendly staff massive 7ft wide bed and 12 o'clock check so you get a nice lie in. Only down side is the price of the meals. They're very pricey. But there are enough local resaurants close by if you want somewhere cheaper. Overall 4 stars very nice hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

Great facilities good location

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: The staff and stayed of the hotel
Cons: To check the water and maybe get double glazing
Location: It is right in the city centre and also very close to multi story car park
I had a good time at this hotel, staff where fantastic and the room was clean and nice goodies the only issue is that I was facing the main road it was hard to sleep and the show was really cold but other than that it was a pleasing stay and reasonable priced. Doesn't have its own car park but it is 2 min for q park the multi story and that was perfectly fine with me I would definitely stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean modern hotel and great value.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
The hotel was very clean, nicely decorated with modern decor. Good location too and great value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding hotel! A must in Reading!

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Staff were absolutely amazing, room was spacious and the spa bath was wonderful. Highly recommend and will definitely be back again in the future.
Cons: No, nothing - it went beyond my expectations
Location: I was working so not too sure, however; I believe it is close to everything you need as very central.
What can I say, this hotel was exceptional! I was greeted on arrival by Neil on night-shift. Neil went above and beyond to make my stay absolutely incredible. The outstanding service was enough to make me want to come back and the hotel itself is fantastic! I had the most deluxe room which had a pinball machine, incredibly comfortable bed, huge spa bath and was extremely spacious. With an extremely important meeting on the next day - you couldn't have asked for better service or a better room. The following day I was up early and went for a run in the gym. The lovely ladies at reception (Patricia and Adriana) were a delight, and even made sure I was able to have my breakfast in my room so I could continue working. On top of that, they printed out all documents required for the meeting and truly went above and beyond. All around, it was exceptional service, wonderful room and just a really nice hotel in a great location. Thanks again Neil, Patricia and Adriana for a wonderful stay - I cannot speak highly enough of the level of service you all provided - you are a wonderful contribution to the team and made this stay absolutely incredible - thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

ok

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Excellent breakfast
Cons: Staff need to improve on the English speaking
Location: Very much in town centre and therefore closer to the shopping centre
we went as two adults and a child and there was an extra £25 charge for having a child in the room Initially we were given a room with two single beds. Seriously?
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Amber, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I'm glad to see you've enjoyed our tasty and plentiful breakfast. I apologise you had an issue with your room allocation but I hope the team were able to rectify this for you in a timely manner. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
by Martin

Highly recommended

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Glad we chose this place! Comfortable, clean, relaxing, everything we were looking for in our night away. Friendly, helpful staff, rooms are immaculate and the bed is huge and very comfortable. Have decided we'll be back in June for the Mrs' birthday
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hip Hotel Stay

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Stayed a the Pentahotel the weekend of the 17th to 19th Feb with my partner and we loved it. Everything went smoothly. Got in contact with the property prior to arrival as I had a few requests and the lovely Operational Manager Steve took care of everything. I personally found this property refreshening. Being I have been working in the hospitality/travel industry for well over 19 years, I'm very used to all sorts of hotels. I found this property had personality, the reception/bar area was really spacious, lots of seating areas with a moody laid back, lounging feel. We stayed in the Penta Plus room which was very spacious and quiet. I loved that is had splashes of colour rather than the bland boring beige and creams. The location was prefect, restaurants and shops on the doorstep. The only thing which would have made it better was if it had it's own free car park but yet saying that there is Q parking a few mins away which the property has an agreement with so we got a great discounted price of £10 per 24 hours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Amber Dixon, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We hope to see you back again soon! Kind regards