Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good base for touring the area.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
This is a good base for touring the area. Highclere Castle is a minutes drive away, but closed in winter. You can walk a public footpath in the grounds to Kingsclere. The food is excellent and good value, served by helpful friendly staff. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Nice introduction to England

Posted Sep 29, 2016
My mother and I stayed here our first night in England, due to it's proximity to Highclere Castle. We had a very pleasant stay, the hotel is very cozy and comfortable. We enjoyed a drink on the patio and a delicious dinner in the restaurant. The hotel is literally 5 minutes from the front door of Highclere Castle, so if you're going there, this is a great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springboro, OH

Excellent location if visiting Downton Abbey

Posted Jul 18, 2016
More than a B&B - also a built in pub and excellent restaurant!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melb. Aust .

Cute hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: New , abletogetevening meal .
Cons: Light breakfast in morning in Tariff would be good
Location: Nothing nearby
Easy to find on our way from Highclere Castle , short trip to Newbury . Very new clean comfortable room , very good evening meal at Hotel . Enjoyed our stay .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highclere Castle was a plus, but not the only plus

Posted May 24, 2016
This was a memorable stay, and we travel often. Dan and the staff made us feel comfortable and welcome. Joking and asking us how our days went. We enjoyed the dinners, and there was a nice selection of beer and wines at the bar. Highclere Castle entrance was one minute away (it rained, so we took our car). Easy access to A34 and beyond, so our day trips started quickly. There was some road noise, but not too disturbing in the courtyard. I found sitting on the chairs and watching the cars go by relaxing. We would definitely recommend The Carnarvon Arms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport, South Wales

Very welcoming and friendly place to stay.

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, lovely atmosphere, clean and great food.
Cons: Larger bedroom.
Location: Central location for Newbury, Winchester, Andover and Basingstoke areas, but in a rural location.
It was an excellent place to stay from our point of view. The only down side was the room was just too small. It would have been perfect with extra room to move about round the bed. Although there was no wardrobe hanging and shelf space was available, but you ended up walking into the hanging clothes to get around the bed or to get into the bathroom. I did notice other rooms had better space, so I suggest you ask for a large room if staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant location if visiting Highclere Castle

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Location: Highclere Castle is very close. Winchester was a beautiful city to visit.
Great room. Comfortable bed. Delicious food. Only downside is the noisy road, but it wasn't a massive issue.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

OK for a quick stop. Poor bathroom, but beer great

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Nice decor, good beer. Good price.
Cons: damp in the bathroom
Location: next to the main road (A34), out of town
Stopped for a quick overnight bunk. Dinner OK, the Adnams superb. Though the local lads in the bar should have been asked to tone their language down a bit. Room and the whole place decorated very nicely. The problem was in the bathroom - the way they are constructed (at least in my room) means no direct outside ventilation. After shutting the door all night when I opened it in the morning the smell of the damp was pretty bad - and my girlfriend will tell you I have no sense of smell. I complained to the staff on the way out and was told "Really? No-one has ever said anything". Not sure why no-one from staff wouldn't have noticed the smell and the damp on the bottom of the wall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Beautiful rooms and fantastic pub!

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: The staff, décor, location and the food in the pub are all fantastic.
Cons: The walls are a little thin.
This is the second time that we have stayed at the Carnarvon Arms and it will definitely not be the last. We drove from Edinburgh the first time and between the icy roads, road works and a few accidents, the drive took us far longer than expected and as a result we arrived very late. I called ahead to make sure that we could get supper when we arrived despite the late hour, and the charming manager arranged that the kitchen stay open late just for us - and the food was superb! The second time we stayed here, we had few documents that we needed scanned and so on and instead of pointing us in the direction of the nearest internet cafe, the staff agreed to help us with everything we needed and did not charge us a thing! The whole place is beautifully decorated, the beds are comfy and it is always clean. It feels like a real treat whenever we stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet well appointed inn

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: Berkshire countryside. Good links to M4. Close to Newbury Race course
Recently refurbished, clean quiet and very friendly. Excellent food.